6100 failed after 2 minutes?? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G JR Radios


2.4G JR Radios JR 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2007, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: seattle
Default 6100 failed after 2 minutes??

During setup (OK it was a plane..) of my 6100 RX using a ThunderBird 18 plugged into the throttle channel the RX died. Now plugging in the BEC/ESC to the BAT port on the RX is the only way it will power up, any other port the RX will just blink once and then no light. At least I wasn't flying...
Anyone else have this problem??
__________________
I never realized that everyday it was windy -- until I got into rc flight...
mrchris42 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2007, 03:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: seattle
Default

Took it back to the hobby shop and we messed with it for a while. Plugging in a RX pack to the various ports and having the light blink once then go out on all but the BAT port. Then all of a sudden the only port that worked was the Elevator port. Then all of a sudden all ports will power the RX once again, and everything is now working again
This sucker is getting a LONG bench test before flying. Now I'm wondering if it was the ESC causing the problems??
__________________
I never realized that everyday it was windy -- until I got into rc flight...
mrchris42 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2007, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Default

If you suspect the ESC and your powering the electronics with a BEC circuit. I would suggest powering the RX and servos with a separate battery to eliminate the BEC causing any problems.

David
DavidH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2007, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: seattle
Default

OK maybe this is all operator error/misunderstanding... I figured out that the RX will not connect to the TX while the TX is in setup mode. I think that I power cycled the RX while I was messing with the mixing menu and then the RX would not come back up online. And I now realize that the RX only blinks (rapidly) when power is plugged into the (Battery pack or BEC/ESC) BAT port OR when power is plugged in anywhere else and the binding plug is in the BAT port. It will not blink during normal power up with the BEC plugged into the throttle channel, but will be dark, then solid on once it's connected to the TX. Some instructions included for the 6100 RX in the Spektrum TX/RX/Servo package might be nice!!! 4 flights in and no problems ---OF course this icon may illustrate exactly why my mind doesn't work so well anymore ---
__________________
I never realized that everyday it was windy -- until I got into rc flight...
mrchris42 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2007, 12:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,858
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Frisco, TX
Default

Hmmm....

Blinking indicates it's trying to bind. If it does this with your ESC plugged in the BATT port, this might indicate your ESC connector is "acting like" a bind plug. Could explain a lot...

Perhaps avoid the BATT port entirely (except when intentionally binding)?
__________________
Trex 700E - SuziHans,V-Bar,JR8717/BLS251,X-Era 4030/3Y-460,12S Rhino 4900; SH frames are ~1 Lb lighter than Align 700E kit
Trex 700N - 7100R/JR8717@8V/GY611
About a dozen more, including 2xTrex 500 - 1 V-Stabi/6S, 1 Flybar/5S,GY770/DS3400G
Danal Estes is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1