Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mCP X Brushless Mods


mCP X Brushless Mods Blade Micro CPx Brushless Mods and Conversions


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2012, 04:23 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

I change my esc to the walkera 10a pull from a 4#3b bl main. It does not need a converter!

I like it better than xp7a + aeo converter. The old setup throttle max out at 80%. With walkera ESC, I have throttle response up to 100%. I also feel that I got more head speed and power from walkera esc. Which is surprising, given m5 should draw about 3A average.
(3 minutes fly time, I charge back 150 mah, so 150mAh x (60 min/3min) = 3000 mAh).

My guess is that the FET in walkera is better. It is cleaner too. I think that is the better price performance ratio. You save on the converter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1330121311.840717.jpg
Views:	1168
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	292957  
__________________
MCPX HP05s/HP03T Xtreme Frame (Beater)
MCPX HP06v2/HP03T MH X Frame (Precious)
MCPX HP08/HP03T MH X Frame (Grounded)
MCPX stock DIY firmware (Experimental)
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2012, 04:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chantilly va
Thumbs up

Where can you get that Walkera 10amp? Is there a specific part number? That looks way easier to wire up anything else out there for sure. Good stuff.
mike4406 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 05:21 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

It is the stock ESC from my 2 years old walkera 4#3b brushless.

Pay attention to what Dylan said about the different version of the
walkera ESC.

https://www.helifreak.com/showpost.p...4&postcount=29

I have the main ESC and it works for V2.
I know for sure that ESC does not work for V1 board.
It might need the negative PWM version, the tail ESC as Dylan
put it.

There is an ebay link in the walkera esc thread, steal it here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/250398833286...84.m1423.l2649
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 05:35 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

maybe it has something to do with the rev of the V1 board because i know for sure it works with my V1 board and can prove it quite easily hmmm.

edit:

maybe not that easily because the video camera on my phone can't focus on the writing on the board anyways its a V3.9 and the ESC is a L version, the very same version that i used on my V2.
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 05:55 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

I try this setup on V1 3.9 and it does not work for me. My ESC is the main brushless
ESC. It is also possible your wakera ESC version is newer than mine. My walkera
ESC is 2 years old. Your walkera ESC will most likely have newer firmware.

Edit:

your are using the tail ESC on V1. That is the known working setup.
My ESC is for main motor, so it doesn't work on V1, it works on V2 though.
Check out Dylan's post in the previous link. It all match what he said pretty
well so far.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 06:22 PM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

i don't get it unless mine has newer firmware then?

it was bought only a month or so ago, it is a L version and worked on my V1 and V2 3in1's, wierd lol
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 06:30 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

You are lucky then. I wish mine works on the V1 too so I don't have to get another one.

Positive or negative PWM, it is all software any way. I am not surprise the new
firmware can detect and auto fit.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 06:56 PM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

its about the only luck i've had since getting the damn thing ach a bit suckie it hasn't worked for u though.
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 08:07 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Not work for my V1. But I can always use it for the V2 as main ESC.
That ESC is collecting dust any way, it is like the sudden new found extra
boast for the M5. I upgrade to the double brushless on walkera and
never use the stock ESC again.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2012, 10:23 AM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 306
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Thank you very much for the great photos! I'm doing this on a v1 board. I have the AEO converter, an HP05 motor, and the ESC I'm not too sure about? I got it used and it's supposed to be a 10 amp. Are there a lot of different 10 amp ESCs? Wonder which one it is? I'm guessing the wiring will be the same right?
__________________
Just remember that everything will be OK in the end. And if it's not OK, then it's not the end.
Mcpx Heli-max Upgrades Dx6i
T-Rex 450 sport BeastX FBL Dx6i
Supaplums is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2012, 12:00 PM   #31 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Now I have v1 board as spare. I
attach picture for wiring the v1 board.
The rest of the upgrade is very similar.

Do you have picture of your esc?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1330278963.972795.jpg
Views:	1101
Size:	77.2 KB
ID:	293442  
__________________
MCPX HP05s/HP03T Xtreme Frame (Beater)
MCPX HP06v2/HP03T MH X Frame (Precious)
MCPX HP08/HP03T MH X Frame (Grounded)
MCPX stock DIY firmware (Experimental)
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2012, 01:17 PM   #32 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Default

Thanks for the write up. I had picked up a v2 board before then changed my mind after reading all the mess some were having. Since i have sold both of my c05's and i have this new info. I picked up another v2 board so i can give this another shot. It should be hear later this week.
new bee is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2012, 06:48 PM   #33 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Glad that it helps. Let us know how is your walkera ESC works for you.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 04:54 AM   #34 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by craig303uk View Post
i don't get it unless mine has newer firmware then?

it was bought only a month or so ago, it is a L version and worked on my V1 and V2 3in1's, wierd lol
It would be interesting to know which MCU there is on the Walkera ESC you are using. See this post regarding the Atmega chip.

https://www.helifreak.com/showpost.p...7&postcount=28
IanWhitehead65 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 06:18 AM   #35 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

they are both Atmega8's

16Au - 0830G

16Au - 0852G
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 10:36 AM   #36 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Mine is ATmega8 as well.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 11:04 AM   #37 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

can u make out the number below? it would be interesting to know.

thx
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 12:59 PM   #38 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

err, I try to look up the number. But the ESC is solder and I make the
wire as short as possible, so it is very solid on the main board.
The problem is, I need to unsolder to see it. This is my worker
horse heli now, a little bit reluctant to mess with it. Maybe I will do it
when I finish converting my V1 into brushless.
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 03:24 PM   #39 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

its okies would need the number off the chip there are a few of them from the looks of it, i was just thinking yours might have started with an 06.

i have another 3 non working L's 1 of them starts with an 06 and the other 2 08, shame i can't test the older 08's because they have a higher number than one of the one's i recently purchased

0620G, 0832G, 0843G.

wonder if this would be related to the firmware or whatever and why the ESC's worked out for me.

sorry just blabbing now
craig303uk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 04:01 PM   #40 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,153
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Ok I do it for you. I unmount the motor . It is 16au 0843G.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1330379981.410992.jpg
Views:	410
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	293942  
__________________
MCPX HP05s/HP03T Xtreme Frame (Beater)
MCPX HP06v2/HP03T MH X Frame (Precious)
MCPX HP08/HP03T MH X Frame (Grounded)
MCPX stock DIY firmware (Experimental)
coredump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1