Protos Newb here, Need some help with HS - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos


MSH Protos MSH Protos Helicopter Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2012, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jerzey!!!
Default Protos Newb here, Need some help with HS

Bought my first Protos 500 used in here but in great condition. Put a BeastX on it as the original owner kept his V-bar. Almost done with the setup but I don't know if my headspeed is completely off or is this normal for my setup. My setup consist of the following:
  • HK 880kv motor
  • 15T Pinion
  • CC Ice Lite 75
  • BeastX with AR7000 and sat
  • Voltz 6s 2650mah 35c packs.

My max obtainable HS at 100% is 1700rpm. I swapped the speed control for an Align 70a and got the same results. Tried other Lipo packs but no difference. Seems to be a bit low from what I been reading in here. Sounds good and hovers great but I want to make sure as I'm a complete Protos Newb. BTW, It was love at first site,
BlazinBones is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2012, 07:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,373
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: FL
Default

Check your throttle endpoints and curve first since you seem to have the same issue with the Align ESC. Also what are you using to measure your head speed?
__________________
MSH Protos * 2, SAB 630, Logo 550SX
alexf1852 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jerzey!!!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexf1852 View Post
Check your throttle endpoints and curve first since you seem to have the same issue with the Align ESC. Also what are you using to measure your head speed?
Endpoints are 100% U&D, I started with a new model so I never even got to touch them. Same with throttle curves, only altered my Normal Curve to obtain 100% without liftoff. I'm using a Hobbico Digital Tach which is on point with all my other heli's. I gather something is wrong by your reply?

This is what the previous owner said to me prior to sale;

"The Castle is already set up for the Protos. I believe the head speeds are 1550 1600 and 1700. Motor and ESC run very cool and the spool up is very soft."

So now I'm
BlazinBones is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,373
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: FL
Default

What's your normal curve at?

At 100% throttle, with 6S, 15T pinion and 880Kv motor, you should be seeing somewhere around 3K rpm.

Use this head speed calc to see what you should be getting:
http://www.readyheli.com/headspeed-calculator.html
__________________
MSH Protos * 2, SAB 630, Logo 550SX
alexf1852 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jerzey!!!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexf1852 View Post
What's your normal curve at?

At 100% throttle, with 6S, 15T pinion and 880Kv motor, you should be seeing somewhere around 3K rpm.

Use this head speed calc to see what you should be getting:
http://www.readyheli.com/headspeed-calculator.html
I did you the that HS calculator, thats exactly why I thought something just aint right after seeing the calculated results. At first, I thought it may have something to do with the ESC but then it yielded the same results with a second esc.

No matter what I do to my normal curve, it maxes out at 1700 non-governed.
BlazinBones is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 07:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,731
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarajevo (USA)
Default

I wonder, is there a governor in the beastX or ESC?
tworst is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 07:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jerzey!!!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tworst View Post
I wonder, is there a governor in the beastX or ESC?
I just tripled checked the esc to make sure the Gov is disabled and it is. The ESC sends the throttle signals directly to the receiver so that leaves BeastX out of the equation.
BlazinBones is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Default

Mmm, Can you check a few things?

Make sure you have over 22.2V? (maybe you have a dead cell?)

Make sure your pinion is really a 15t?

Make sure your motor is really a 880kv?

Can you try with a different motor? Seems like your weak link..
Thalios is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 08:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jerzey!!!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalios View Post
Mmm, Can you check a few things?

Make sure you have over 22.2V? (maybe you have a dead cell?)

Make sure your pinion is really a 15t?

Make sure your motor is really a 880kv?

Can you try with a different motor? Seems like your weak link..
  • Battery starting voltage was 24.94V and after testing is down to 22.50V
  • Counted the pinion 4 times and they all added to 15
  • The motor is a Scorpion 3026-880kv or at least thats what it says on the can
  • I have no other motor

I'll give it another go tomorrow with a fresh battery and a 3rd ESC and report. Thanks
BlazinBones is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 09:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Default

Seems like your throttle end points in the ESC might be messed up (Assuming the Align has the same features as the YGE.. Which I don't know about).

Sorry about the motor, it is not the weak link, I thought you had a cheap Hobbyking motor when I read HK 880Kv.. My bad. That motor is AWESOME.

Unsure what it is, but you should get around 2800RPM easily with that setup (That's what I have)
Thalios is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 09:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jerzey!!!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalios View Post
Seems like your throttle end points in the ESC might be messed up (Assuming the Align has the same features as the YGE.. Which I don't know about).

Sorry about the motor, it is not the weak link, I thought you had a cheap Hobbyking motor when I read HK 880Kv.. My bad. That motor is AWESOME.

Unsure what it is, but you should get around 2800RPM easily with that setup (That's what I have)
Thanks for all your suggestions. I appreciate you trying. The Align esc is straight forward with minimal programmable features and endpoints is not one of them. Furthermore, the Align ESC came of my "Go To" 550e which I fly almost daily and flew yesterday with it as well. I'm going to try tomorrow again and put fresh batteries on my Tach as I want to make sure is not my Tach since it's had those batt's for a while.

The Protos sounds healthy and hovers great with what appears to be good head speed (judging visually) and response.
BlazinBones is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 09:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Default

Maybe your timing is not set properly?

Or maybe your ESC is not set for 6S?

Check my video, does the heli sound like this: (at 1:40)

Thalios is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 10:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,844
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Revelstoke BC Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalios View Post
Maybe your timing is not set properly?

Or maybe your ESC is not set for 6S?

Check my video, does the heli sound like this: (at 1:40)

You running a CC ESC? What is your Spoolup setting and Gain and HS set at?
__________________
Dan Pesonen
FBL, Don't think about it, DO IT.
mCX2, nCPX, mCP X, Blade 400, MSH PRTOS, T-700N
"Tri-Flow"
I put that S*** on everything!"
banditpowdercoat is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 10:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Default

Me, i'm with a MSH YGE 60A.
Thalios is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 10:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,844
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Revelstoke BC Canada
Default

Crap LOL
__________________
Dan Pesonen
FBL, Don't think about it, DO IT.
mCX2, nCPX, mCP X, Blade 400, MSH PRTOS, T-700N
"Tri-Flow"
I put that S*** on everything!"
banditpowdercoat is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2012, 09:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jerzey!!!
Default

Ok guys, for some reason (unknown of course) I manged to get some good headspeed now, . This is what I did, factory reset the ICE 75, went over the entire setup process again and started with a freshly charged battery. She has more than enough headspeed now.

Last edited by BlazinBones; 02-25-2012 at 05:15 PM..
BlazinBones is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1