Who Likes Using Expo? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mCP X


mCP X Blade Micro CPx Helicopters Information and Help


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lemoore, California
Default Who Likes Using Expo?

I've been practicing nose in hovering and noticed yesterday that expo was causing me to jab the rudder stick. I decided to turn off all expo in normal and stunt mode to experiment and found that for me a touchy heli is better. People seem to put a lot of emphasis on expo, so now I am curious. The thing is everytime I realize something like this, I end up stepping back in my progress to get used to the change. I know it's part of the learning process.

Who likes using expo and how does it benefit you?
alex7703 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2012, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 93
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norway
Default

With FBL helis you don't use expo at all as the FBL unit does the expoing for you.

On a fb heli it is common to use some expo on cyclic. When it comes to rudder I think it is more common to set the expo to zero. This is however not a rule, it is a question about what you are comfortable with.

Play around and experience for your self how your heli responds to different setups. Only then you can figure out what is best for you
kristianwest is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 11:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lemoore, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kristianwest View Post
With FBL helis you don't use expo at all as the FBL unit does the expoing for you.

On a fb heli it is common to use some expo on cyclic. When it comes to rudder I think it is more common to set the expo to zero. This is however not a rule, it is a question about what you are comfortable with.

Play around and experience for your self how your heli responds to different setups. Only then you can figure out what is best for you
Yeah, I'm really getting that point. I've been flying the manual set up for my DX8. I just took expo off everything and was loving the response yesterday. Just sucked because I had my whole practice plan plan laid out for yesterday and had to step back to get used to the change. I understand the need for it in the beginning, but right now I'm wishing that I hadn't been using it.
alex7703 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 11:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 93
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norway
Default

You learn by everything It is not waist of time getting the feel of how different setups and configs influence your heli and flying style. Just don't get too hung up in your practice plan
kristianwest is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Huntsville,AL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex7703 View Post
Who likes using expo and how does it benefit you?
When I got my mcpx it had been about 3 years since I had flown a heli. I used 40% expo on the Aile and Elev to start out to tame down the heli. I haven't touched the Rud expo. When I got used to the heli roughly a week of hovering and FF I started reducing the amount of expo. Now I'm flying with 10% expo.

I'm sure everyone is different in the way they approach setup, but this is what worked for me.
bmitchell138 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 01:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lemoore, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmitchell138 View Post
When I got my mcpx it had been about 3 years since I had flown a heli. I used 40% expo on the Aile and Elev to start out to tame down the heli. I haven't touched the Rud expo. When I got used to the heli roughly a week of hovering and FF I started reducing the amount of expo. Now I'm flying with 10% expo.

I'm sure everyone is different in the way they approach setup, but this is what worked for me.
After yesterday I just don't see a point in using expo unless you are trying to fly in a small indoor area. I can see how it is a preference thing. Just wondering what those that use it get out of it. What does it help them accomplish? To me the heli feels more alive without it.
alex7703 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 01:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,689
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vancouver Canada
Default

I love every last bit of response from user control whether it be steering response and throttle response on my race cars or cyclic response on my helis, but I like expo on my brushless birds. They dart away so fast I like to fly them with a little expo.
DoubleCH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 02:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,345
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CT
Default

Zero expo here too. At first when I got the MCPX I was using about 35% expo indoors and like 15% out. Then I tried it with 0 expo and never looked back.
CousinLarry is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 02:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lemoore, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleCH View Post
I love every last bit of response from user control whether it be steering response and throttle response on my race cars or cyclic response on my helis, but I like expo on my brushless birds. They dart away so fast I like to fly them with a little expo.
Thanks for the heads up. I have all the parts for a BL setup. I'm just trying to decide my battery setup before I actually do the mod. Going HPO5S for my first one. Definately keeping that aspect in mind. Makes sense.
alex7703 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 02:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lemoore, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CousinLarry View Post
Zero expo here too. At first when I got the MCPX I was using about 35% expo indoors and like 15% out. Then I tried it with 0 expo and never looked back.
I won't be looking back either. Way more fun I think.
alex7703 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 02:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,050
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: AR
Default

On my brushed and lower power BL motors I did not like expo at all. On my current 915 I feel like 10% on Ail and Ele make it more controllable with over 7000 Rpm.

To me it's more for precision landing and tight quarters flying. Any sort of 3D and larger space flying I feel Expo hinders performance and actually makes it tougher to fly as you need more stick movement.
__________________
MSH PRTOS
Rave Ballistic 635
Spunjah413 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 02:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,935
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: La
Default hey

For me as I've increased dual rates I also increased EXPO . Find what you like and dont worry about what everyone else is doing.
__________________
Team Scorpion Team Boca Bearing Team Revolectrix
Check out my Heli Pilot Shirts https://teespring.com/stores/rc-heli-pilot-shirtsMy Youtube channel
http://www.youtube.com/user/JJInvert...n?feature=mhee
d12bn is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 03:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,689
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vancouver Canada
Default

High dual rate for tic-toc (attempt anyway) and some expo for precise landing in one flight same setting.

DoubleCH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 03:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,480
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ontario Canada
Default My 2 cents

I prefer a heli that responds crisply and don't like much expo at all.
If anything on my MCPX I like my rudder -5 or -10 otherwise the tail is not quick enough.
Imzzaudae is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 03:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

I use as less expo as possible too. Between 0 and 15 max. On the mcpx i have 0 on cyclic and even -30 on rudder. I don't like a soft response, less expo makes for a more precise hover aswell.
As far as not using expo on fbl heli's, it's more convenient if you disable all expo on the fbl unit so you can adjust expo on the fly in your tx
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 04:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 268
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Default

I always flew my Blade 400 with 0-5% expo, but I started using more since getting back into flying with the mcpx and my foamies. Maybe just because I'm still spooked by flying indoors...we'll see what happens once the weather breaks.
__________________
Blade 400 || mCPx || Trex 500 ESP 3GX
learned basics in winter '09, started again in winter '11 after year or so hiatus
currently working on: piro flips and inverted circuits
deca is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 04:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: washington state
Default

I use rudder -30% aileron and elevator -10%.

Makes it much more sensitive. I feel more connected to it without any lag.

Bill
poulsbobill is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 06:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: California
Default FBL Has Built in Expo - Not

Quote:
Originally Posted by kristianwest View Post
With FBL helis you don't use expo at all as the FBL unit does the expoing for you.

On a fb heli it is common to use some expo on cyclic. When it comes to rudder I think it is more common to set the expo to zero. This is however not a rule, it is a question about what you are comfortable with.

Play around and experience for your self how your heli responds to different setups. Only then you can figure out what is best for you

Maybe yo were trying to make another point (trim?), but FBL does not have built in expo. FBL stablilizes the heli, expo adjusts how sensitive your sticks are around mid-point.
CalRotor is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2012, 05:04 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lemoore, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d12bn View Post
For me as I've increased dual rates I also increased EXPO . Find what you like and dont worry about what everyone else is doing.
Not worried about what everyone else is doing. I'm starting conversation and getting input.
alex7703 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2012, 06:28 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 400
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Jersey Shore
Default

Just keep in mind for all you folks with Spektrum or JR Tx, to add expo to a control, you must enter a positive number, not a negative number, to properly feel the effects of expo with your cyclic or rudder...Futaba Tx use a negative number, if I am correct...
__________________
The Helifreak formerly known as Charliedontsurf
Goblin 500Mini Vbar DX8 TRex500 Ikon DX8 Warp360 Ikon/Brain DX8
Blade m350QX DX8 Blade mCPX BL DX8
Assistant to the assistant manure spreader at Middle Creek Stables, LLC
VonRecktofen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1