Ice 2 HV issues - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2012, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default Ice 2 HV issues

Trying to get my Whiplash up in the air but having some issues with the Ice2 160 HV,

To start with it won't link up with the castle link, the link works with other units. Was able to get a buddies link to work after repeated tries.

When I connect the battery it counts out the 12 cells but then won't fully initialize unless I take it out of TH, give it full throttle and then go to min throttle.

And the final issue was the forced auto-rotation this afternoon, when I went to pick up the heli ( which I landed successfully by the way) the ESC was beeping 5 times. The ESC lost contact with the receiver, but how can I diagnose the problem without the link?
__________________
Align 550 Beast X
Miniature Aircraft Whiplash- Beast X
artski is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2012, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,490
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Default

I had a problem with my link on a new ICE2 80HV. The servo plug was tighter, I just had to force the link plug on more and the link fired right up.

AS for the arming issue, did you set the throttle travel limits? I have that problem until I crank up the throttle travel slowly until it arms in throttle hold.
__________________
Synergy Factory Specialist / Rail Blades / Team Scorpion
Chris Sexton is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 11:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Set the travel limits a hundred times,
__________________
Align 550 Beast X
Miniature Aircraft Whiplash- Beast X
artski is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 11:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Got the feeling something isn't set up right but without the link working I can't even check.
__________________
Align 550 Beast X
Miniature Aircraft Whiplash- Beast X
artski is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2012, 04:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Default

You are aware that the battery should be connected last? EG First connect the castle link THEN the battery.
This is true on The HV-types of Ice controllers.
pxpep is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2012, 08:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Yes, fully aware, link first, batteries second.

Going to drop by the Hobby shop today to see if their link works with it.
__________________
Align 550 Beast X
Miniature Aircraft Whiplash- Beast X
artski is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2012, 08:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default

Futaba radio? Throttle channel MUST be reversed.
__________________
Team Futaba, Team Synergy/Rail Blades, Team Scorpion, Team Castle Creations, VelTye, YS Engines
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2012, 06:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Spektrum DX8

Sure wish Castle would reply to my email........
__________________
Align 550 Beast X
Miniature Aircraft Whiplash- Beast X
artski is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2012, 09:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Went to the hobby shop today and the guys tried hooking it up to their Castle Link only to find it still didn't work. Took it apart to check connections and found every thing good so we changed the logic board. Now everything is working great. Links up fine. Going to hook it up and see how it initializes.
__________________
Align 550 Beast X
Miniature Aircraft Whiplash- Beast X
artski is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2012, 11:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,523
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

Changed the logic board? Are you saying the little USB adapter board or a board inside the ESC?

Scott
__________________
Team Compass USA--Team Pilot
Spartan Vortex Inside,Team Scorpion
KBDD Team Pilot ):>
http://www.experiencerc.com : Making Helicopters Great Again!

dunkonu23 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2012, 06:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

There is a small board inside the ESC that is connected to the servo cable.
__________________
Align 550 Beast X
Miniature Aircraft Whiplash- Beast X
artski is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2012, 06:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,523
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

Interesting. I didn't know that. Thanks. Guess it goes in as a DOA failure.

Scott
__________________
Team Compass USA--Team Pilot
Spartan Vortex Inside,Team Scorpion
KBDD Team Pilot ):>
http://www.experiencerc.com : Making Helicopters Great Again!

dunkonu23 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2012, 11:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 602
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

Be careful with that logic/fet driver board, remember it was this board they changed when converting all the ESC's to ICE2.
In other words, hope its an ICE2 board they put back in its place.
__________________
T-REX 450P DFC 6S, SK-720BE/GPS, EDGE 50, TM1000, KDE 450XF 1450, MKS DS95x3, Futaba BLS-257, DX8
T-REX 700E DFC, SK-720BE/GPS, EDGE 160HV, TM1000, KDE 700XF 495, Outrage BL9180x3/BL9188, DX8

spikestabber is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2012, 02:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 931
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artski View Post
Spektrum DX8

Sure wish Castle would reply to my email........
Calling is the best way to reach them.
gww528 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2012, 08:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,619
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montgomery County, Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artski View Post
When I connect the battery it counts out the 12 cells but then won't fully initialize unless I take it out of TH, give it full throttle and then go to min throttle.
If you have the Autorotation bailout option checked, TH will not be 0% Throttle. The ESC must see 0% or less throttle to initialize. Since TH has higher hierarchy than FM, the ESC cannot initialize if TH is activated/engaged, since the TH throttle is higher than 0%.

I initialize the ESC by using Throttle Cut which I assigned to the Trainer switch and is set to 0% throttle. Throttle Cut has a higher hierarchy than FM and TH, so regardless of FM and TH switch positions, pressing the Trainer switch (Throttle Cut) will activate the ESC.

My DX8 Settings:
Normal FM: 30% flat
FM-1: 70% flat
FM-2: 100% flat
TH: 17% flat
Throttle Cut: 0%
__________________
Protos 770 Evoluzione Leggero, Synergy E5, Logo 700/550SX V2, SAB Comet/700 KSE/380 KSE/miniComet; Spirit Pro/Brain2 BT;Jeti DS-16c/DX8 Gen 2
Mac sims: neXt, Heli-X, AccuRC, RF8, Phoenix, RC7 Ultimate
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2012, 01:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnahamelv View Post
If you have the Autorotation bailout option checked, TH will not be 0% Throttle. The ESC must see 0% or less throttle to initialize.
With the DX8 can you not just set the first part of the curve to 0 and the rest to 30 %. That way it will see 0 when the throttle is all the way down. When trying autos you will not have the throttle all the way into neg so the bailout function should still work. Am I right or just barking up the wrong tree again.
__________________
Goblin 700, Gaui X7, 600EFL, DX8
Sharpedge is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2012, 01:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 396
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Default

I have found that the Castle Link software doesn't work on Windows 7 64-bit. The software installs, the driver installs, and the first time you connect the Castle Link, the USB device is recognized, but it will never link with the ESC.

It does work on Windows 7 32-bit, which is what I'm using now.
timay is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2012, 01:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 931
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timay View Post
I have found that the Castle Link software doesn't work on Windows 7 64-bit. The software installs, the driver installs, and the first time you connect the Castle Link, the USB device is recognized, but it will never link with the ESC.

It does work on Windows 7 32-bit, which is what I'm using now.
FYI, it does work on Window 7 64-bit.
gww528 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2012, 01:45 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 931
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpedge View Post
With the DX8 can you not just set the first part of the curve to 0 and the rest to 30 %. That way it will see 0 when the throttle is all the way down. When trying autos you will not have the throttle all the way into neg so the bailout function should still work. Am I right or just barking up the wrong tree again.
You are correct. That is the way I have it set up, although I fly in Idle Up & not Normal. After you land and throttle hold is on.

Go to Normal
Throttle to 0
TH = off
TH = on
disconnect batteries.
gww528 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2012, 02:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timay View Post
I have found that the Castle Link software doesn't work on Windows 7 64-bit. The software installs, the driver installs, and the first time you connect the Castle Link, the USB device is recognized, but it will never link with the ESC.

It does work on Windows 7 32-bit, which is what I'm using now.
Works perfectly on Win 7 64b...

Sent from my mobile device, please excuse any typo's
__________________
Goblin 700 Competition || Gaui X7 || Logo 600 || Logo 480XX || Gaui X3 Gold || Align 450L Dominator || 130X || mCPx BL || nCPX
fr0stbyt3 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1