Multi axis CNC - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > CAD/CAM


CAD/CAM R/C Helicopter CAD/CAM


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Midwest
Default Multi axis CNC

I was wondering how you would build a multiple axis CNC machine. By multiple axis I mean 4 or more, 3 is simple.
Just Another Flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-10-2012, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Westminster, California
Default

Not the usual project because the software to do anything will be at least $20,000.
The WoodCrafter is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 11:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 391
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reno, NV
Default

Look over at the CNCZone.com site, there are many people who have built 4 and 5 axis machines. The mechanical part is by far the easiest the software is cost prohibitive....at least for me.
DeadTom is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2012, 08:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Midwest
Default

I read somewhere about a free software for that. You could probably google 5 axis CNC plans and find it. I don't know about the quality though.
Just Another Flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2012, 10:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 391
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reno, NV
Default

It is more than likely a free trial of their software.
DeadTom is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2012, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Default

I think this what you may be looking for, search SMC1500 Free CNC software.
H.T
Heli-Tweak is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2012, 03:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Default

Get MACH3 its less than a couple hundred bucks usa dolla and it can run 6 axis cnc..
http://www.machsupport.com/

ive built 5 3 axis cnc routers and retrofitted 4 pillar mill drills to 4 axis for really cheap..
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dayton-Grain...item3a75d2160a

the driver cards and stepper motors and power suppplys you will also find on ebay at about another 500 bucks all inclusive...
__________________
MiniVolt 500,Volt 600/700/800/1000
WereWolf 800
www.fullpitch.co.uk
VOLT is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2012, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Westminster, California
Default

So Mach3 will tool path for a 5 axis machine for a few hundred?

Mach3 is a machine controler not tool pathing software.

From what I have seen and heard that is where to big money expense is.
The WoodCrafter is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2012, 04:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Default 6 axis

Quote:
Originally Posted by The WoodCrafter View Post
So Mach3 will tool path for a 5 axis machine for a few hundred?

Mach3 is a machine controler not tool pathing software.

From what I have seen and heard that is where to big money expense is.
mach 3 does 6 axis
and there are very good lower than 20k options for sure...
__________________
MiniVolt 500,Volt 600/700/800/1000
WereWolf 800
www.fullpitch.co.uk
VOLT is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2012, 09:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Westminster, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VOLT View Post
mach 3 does 6 axis
and there are very good lower than 20k options for sure...

Do you happen to have a link to affordable 5 axis tool pathing software?
Because I have been looking for about 5 years and my machine manufacturer has been looking for years.
ShopBot has made a 5 axis demo machine but hasn't sold any because no one in the machine price bracket ($15K - $30K) can afford 5 axis software.
The WoodCrafter is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2012, 08:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Midwest
Default

Well with out the electronics how much would the frame cost?
Just Another Flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2012, 10:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Franksville, WI
Default

Mach3 is a psuedo machine controller. It uses windows and a parallel port to communicate to your machine.

There are some very basic macro programs that run within Mach3 to create simple tool paths, but nothing really for complex 4 or 5 axis work. It will create paths for bolt hole patterns, pockets, steps, script...mostly 2D+ work. X-Y and some depth...

I believe there is one macro that will aid in machining gear teeth, so you would have rotation - I think that's the "A-axis" going from memory.

You will still need to find CAM software to tackle the complex tool path G-code.

-Mike
__________________
Team QuickUK Pilot
Team Heliproz
MikeSherman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2012, 03:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego
Default

Yeah, definitely check out CNCzone, like DeadTom suggested. From the information on there, I built a cheap machine from a Harbor Freight mini mill, ball screw upgrade, and CNC Fusion Kit for under 1200. I only got as far as 3 axis though. If you're familiar with linux, you should check out linuxcnc or emc2.
JayPro is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2012, 03:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Default shopbot

and the shopbot 5axis cant cut ali or hard wood so why even bother with it....its way over priced for what it is ...so the standard shop bot is 3 axis router with a 4 th rotary added if need be so why the need for 5 axis..

get solidworks and the cam plug in
__________________
MiniVolt 500,Volt 600/700/800/1000
WereWolf 800
www.fullpitch.co.uk
VOLT is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2012, 03:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Franksville, WI
Default

I bought a Grizzly G0704 to convert to CNC. I've got all the electronics completed, my mechanical drawings done, ball screws and nuts purchased and raw material in hand.....just gotta make the parts to finish up the job.

Having too much fun flying now....too many hobbies.

-Mike
__________________
Team QuickUK Pilot
Team Heliproz
MikeSherman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 09:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 619
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ky
Default

I remember seeing a DIY 6 axis gantry and the tool path software was 'free' but was a 3DS Max plug-in. It looked like the whole project was a good way to subtract $10,000-$15,000 dollars (and whatever your time is worth) away from getting a real machine.
Havoc is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 09:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Midwest
Default

I like the idea but I will not use it enough for it to be worth it. I could just outsource it.


120 SR, DX6i, 20 in Nimbus II unicycle
Just Another Flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 10:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

Y'all are wasting your time on a 5 axis machine without decent CAM software. I write 5 axis stuff all the time and the stuff that I use will set you back at least 20K to start.

TM
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 10:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Westminster, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMoore View Post
I write 5 axis stuff all the time and the stuff that I use will set you back at least 20K to start.

TM

Pretty much what I was saying but VOLT seems to think he knows where to get 5 Axis CAM software cheap.
The WoodCrafter is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2012, 02:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

If it's going to be used in a 3+2 or 4+1 config, that's OK. Any software just about will handle that with some manual editing and fixture offsets.
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1