DMSS Adapter Cable... Can't Find it - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Skookum Robotics


Skookum Robotics Skookum Robotics SK-360 SK-540 & SK-720 Digital Flybar


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2012, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Default DMSS Adapter Cable... Can't Find it

Hi,

I have serched the wiki at Skookum but I can't find anything about the adapter cable...

Can anyone help?

Thanks

Steve

Below from Skookum software update...
(requires simple adapter cable, see wiki)
steven0db is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2012, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Default

Can anyone help?? I searched the manual, wiki and Skookum site and can't find any JR DMSS adapter cable diagrams..

If someone could post a copy here that would be great...

Thanks

Steve
steven0db is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2012, 04:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Default Cable

Hi im looking for it also,your's,Marty.
__________________
Atom500,Align510m cyclic,JR 8900 tail,SkooKum 540,HW 80 Platinum,Galaxy&Optipower Batts,shelf queen.
Gaui X3,MKS servo's,Hobbywing 50 amp V3 esc,Vortex VX1e fbl,genace and turnigy batts,Jr 8XG radio and PL6 charger
NEAGRON is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 03:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
Posts: 11,311
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom star
Default

=] SK will supply this at some point, in the meantime the wiki will show how to do a simple home brew version.....
__________________

georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 03:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Default

Hi Georgi,where can I finf the instructions to do this,many thank's,Marty.
__________________
Atom500,Align510m cyclic,JR 8900 tail,SkooKum 540,HW 80 Platinum,Galaxy&Optipower Batts,shelf queen.
Gaui X3,MKS servo's,Hobbywing 50 amp V3 esc,Vortex VX1e fbl,genace and turnigy batts,Jr 8XG radio and PL6 charger
NEAGRON is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 04:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
Posts: 11,311
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom star
Default

=] Marty hi, you will need to keep checking the wiki for this addition! if I spot it first I will post it up here!
__________________

georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 04:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Default

Why does all the Skookum documentation say it's on their wiki when there is clearly nothing there??? Or is this going down the same track as the GPS unit... I originally purchased the SK720 for that piece of kit and keep hearing it's comming... The end of the world will get here sooner.."....
steven0db is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 06:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 278
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gold Coast QLD Australia
Default

its not on wiki yet
https://www.helifreak.com/showpost.p...90&postcount=5
__________________
JR 11XG DMSS the only way to go , xcell 60 xcell 60 SE
jet ranger xcell 60 mechanics now electric
T rex 700e, beastx V1, Trex 700 F3c V2,
Trex 500 stock ,trex 500 fbl (beastx ) , 500 scale ,Trex 550e, MFA 500,.Micromold Lark
sircol is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 06:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sircol View Post

My point exactly...................
steven0db is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 03:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
Posts: 11,311
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom star
Default

=] http://www.skookumrobotics.com/wiki/...40_Connections



shows 540 but I will need to confirm its the same for the 720......
__________________

georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 04:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Default Thank You

Georgi,many thanks,so does that mean we use the normal receiver but dont have to use connecting wires,hope that makes sence,yours,Marty.
__________________
Atom500,Align510m cyclic,JR 8900 tail,SkooKum 540,HW 80 Platinum,Galaxy&Optipower Batts,shelf queen.
Gaui X3,MKS servo's,Hobbywing 50 amp V3 esc,Vortex VX1e fbl,genace and turnigy batts,Jr 8XG radio and PL6 charger
NEAGRON is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 04:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
Posts: 11,311
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom star
Default

=] morning up there! this is for DMSS satellite receivers fitted directly to the SK, the full size receiver will still need all of the usual cables fitted, if that's what we are talking about??!
__________________

georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 08:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 112
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Far
Default

Done. But then, what? How to make the xg8 and the sk720 work together?
The ESC just keep beeping and no servo movement, etc. Art said that there is no binding. In fact the binding option is greyed out. Not sure what to do next...
Laowai is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 09:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
Posts: 11,311
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom star
Default

=] ok so have you got DMSS selected in the software?,have the sats been bound to a full size receiver?

__________________

georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 10:03 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 112
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Far
Default

Yes and yes.
But still no signs of life...
Laowai is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 10:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
 
Posts: 11,311
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom star
Default

=] ok, there are 3 clear instructions on the link I posted, if you are following the diagram only you may have missed something?

  1. Replace the orange wire with the grey wire
  2. Replace the black wire with the orange wire
  3. Replace the grey wire with the black wire
__________________

georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 11:32 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 112
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Far
Default

Georgi:
The instructions on the wiring are pristine clear.
The issue comes when you plug it and and turn on the power. How is it supposed to work?
Because nothing happens either on the TX or on the SK720. No servo movement, no light on the satellite antenna (RA-01T), nothing...
Is there something missing that I should do? Are only some models of the antennas supported?
Laowai is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 12:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
Posts: 11,311
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom star
Default

=] can we first establish the SK is wired correctly and getting power?
__________________

georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 03:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 112
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Far
Default

Wiring match perfectly your instructions and the picture in the wiki.
The wire works with a Spektrum sat (reversing the wires, of course).
The power part is tricky because unless is linked with a TX the turquoise light is off, but if I keep it plugged for a while it gets slightly warm, so I guess is getting power.
Also, if I plug the sat when the sk720 is on, the sk light goes red for a couple seconds, blinks green and then solid green. But nothing ever happens.
On the other hand, I am not sure (I've never tried) how to control an unbinded receiver with the xg8. Usually, my TX thoroughly ignores any receiver that hasn't been binded or that has no bind plug in... You must use the plug then go to the menu, select binding. The turquoise light in the sat comes alive blinking. The TX shows "Success!". The light goes steady.
With no bind, I wonder how will it work? I turn on the transmitter, then the sk720 and that is it? Hmmm... Kind of scary because at the field a lot of people has XG transmitters and, if someone is fooling around my 700e could start and cut my arm right off.
Laowai is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 03:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
Posts: 11,311
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom star
Default

=] its out of the scope in here, please contact SK tech support for further assistance...
__________________

georgi UK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1