Will there be S-Bus - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Airtronics Radios


Airtronics Radios Airtronics Radios Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2012, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 264
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cloverdale, IN
Default Will there be S-Bus

Will Airtronics be making an S-Bus compatable reciever?
Getting ready to go flybarless and want to use CGY 750 and would rather not have to use the s-bus adapter..
rcgeek is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-30-2012, 06:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 264
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cloverdale, IN
Default

Gues not....
rcgeek is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2012, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

You will never see 1 manufacture making their Tx compatible with other company rx.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2012, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 264
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cloverdale, IN
Default

One can hope.....Maybe a FBL unit.....Wishfull thinking......
rcgeek is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2012, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,911
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincinnati,Ohio, USA
Default

Terry Moore had mention on an episode of RC Today Show that there will be an S-bus like connection and Spek like sats at some point. The whole episode is a good listen but he mentions this around 44:30.
RC Today Show 002: Terry Moore from Team Airtronics
dankcincy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2012, 11:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dankcincy View Post
Terry Moore had mention on an episode of RC Today Show that there will be an S-bus like connection and Spek like sats at some point. The whole episode is a good listen but he mentions this around 44:30.
RC Today Show 002: Terry Moore from Team Airtronics
Doesn't mean it will be compatible with Futaba.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
You will never see 1 manufacture making their Tx compatible with other company rx.
The TX has nothing to do with serial communications to servos.
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 04:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Doesn't mean it will be compatible with Futaba.
It doesn't have to be compatible, it just has to be able to be configurable.

TM
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 04:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

The OP asked if they will make an SBUS compatible rx so unless Airtronic plans to redo their PHY this isn't going to happen. Airtronics is more likely to come out with their OWN serial protocol not just use Futaba's.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
The OP asked if they will make an SBUS compatible rx so unless Airtronic plans to redo their PHY this isn't going to happen. Airtronics is more likely to come out with their OWN serial protocol not just use Futaba's.
I wouldn't make too many assumptions on what will or won't come out or what it will be compatible with. I know what the development timeline is and I also know what is being developed. The release dates for new production products is not set yet.

If S-Bus were unique to Futaba, oither manufacturers peripherals wouldn't be able to work with it.

TM
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 05:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Other units decode the serial signal, there is a difference.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 05:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 264
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cloverdale, IN
Default

Thanks Terry....
rcgeek is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 05:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Other units decode the serial signal, there is a difference.
Serial communications is serial communications and that's all I'm going to say. There are no secrets.

TM
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 07:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Plug a SATA device into a PCIe device and tell me how long it takes to get them to talk.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 09:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Plug a SATA device into a PCIe device and tell me how long it takes to get them to talk.
It's not EVEN in the same vicinity.
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 09:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

My point was that just because two devices are serial communication devices doesn't make them compatible. There are many FBL units out there that can decode the serial signal from other manufactures I have yet to see a rx that will encode a serial protocol from another manufacture. The OP's best option is to get a PWM to SBUS encoder.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 09:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
My point was that just because two devices are serial communication devices doesn't make them compatible. There are many FBL units out there that can decode the serial signal from other manufactures I have yet to see a rx that will encode a serial protocol from another manufacture. The OP's best option is to get a PWM to SBUS encoder.
Wait a little while and you might just see it.

TM
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 09:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Cool, but I'll be as surprised to see it as actually seeing someone use an airtronics
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2012, 12:11 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Cool, but I'll be as surprised to see it as actually seeing someone use an airtronics
Actually some of our most loyal and fanatical followers are in Canada.

TM
TMoore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2012, 11:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,911
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincinnati,Ohio, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMoore View Post
Wait a little while and you might just see it.

TM
Things are just getting started huh Terry.
dankcincy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1