Why is HC3SX setup easier on DX8 than DX6i? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand


bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand Factory Sponsored Bavarian DEMON and HeliCommand Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2012, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 458
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: La Honda, CA
Default Why is HC3SX setup easier on DX8 than DX6i?

What features on the DX8 make setup easier? I'm reading abou the DX8, but don't know what features to key on. (I have DX6i now.)

Why does teh HC3SX need two satellite receivers instead of a receiver and a satellite?
seldredg is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-06-2012, 11:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 74
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France - Tours
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seldredg View Post
What features on the DX8 make setup easier? I'm reading abou the DX8, but don't know what features to key on. (I have DX6i now.)

Why does teh HC3SX need two satellite receivers instead of a receiver and a satellite?

Hi,

HC3X doesn't need two satellite receivers instead of a receiver and a satellite but can use 2 satellite receivers instead of the receiver + satellite.

Regards,
Lionel
lionel70 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 01:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 458
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: La Honda, CA
Default

Merci. Would there be a reason to use a receiver + satellite instead of two satellites?
seldredg is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 74
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France - Tours
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seldredg View Post
Merci.
You are welcome !

Quote:
Originally Posted by seldredg View Post
Would there be a reason to use a receiver + satellite instead of two satellites?
I think the more interesting in using 2 satellites is that you have less wires and connections. And, by experience , wires and connections are always potential problemsssss, especially on a helicopter.
lionel70 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 323
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Default

I agree - I say less is better = less things going wrong! lol
__________________
Compassmodel / Savox / BavarianDemon / Fusuno / Rotor-tech / Revolectrix / Mks-servo / www.hobbyhangar.co.nz
Raynman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 09:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 458
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: La Honda, CA
Default

Thanks again. 2 satellites it is. I'll read up on them.
seldredg is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 06:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 432
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France - Alpes-Maritimes
Default

Can you use the Spektrum telemetry unit with 2 satellites? Seems not.
salience is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 05:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Default

Dx8 let's you tune tail gyro on aux2 and head gyro on aux3 when first maidening the Heli.

You can set these one at a time with dx6i but it may take more time to find the gains you like. Shouldn't be too hard head gyro around 60-70 somewhere usually works well for me.

Also when you find the tail head gyro gains you like you write them to the hc3sx then set your aux2 I guess on the dx6i to bailout. Then you can only then tweak your gyro gain up and down with the laptop. With dx8 you can have bailout setup and still change gyro gain in the transmitter.

Last edited by Sambuka; 07-08-2012 at 09:18 PM..
Sambuka is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 08:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 458
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: La Honda, CA
Default

Thanks. Looks like a DX8 is a worthwhile investment to go with the rest.

Someone right above thinks yo can't use telemtry with two satellites. Do you know if this is true?
seldredg is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 09:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Default

Dx8 is not necessary but I found walking back and forth to the laptop over and over to fine tune the Heli a pain in the butt. Dx8 allows you to do the head gyro on the top knob while you fly. Not going to save you a load of time but I still tweak my tail gyro gain on tail up and down a bit trying to make the tail on on tail slides hold, I'm glad I don't have to take out the laptop each time I want to adjust it. Don't know a lot about telemetry never used it but pretty sure you have to use a real receiver with it not just the 2 satalites. Could be wrong.
Sambuka is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2012, 06:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 432
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France - Alpes-Maritimes
Default HC + Spektrum telemetry unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by seldredg View Post
...Someone right above thinks yo can't use telemtry with two satellites. Do you know if this is true?
I will find out eventually, just ordered my HC and intend to use it with 2 Spektrum satellites on a 600Trex. Normally, you bind the telemetry unit WITH the receiver having the unit plugged in to the bind/data port. So perhaps if you plug the telemetry unit into ... ? ... one of the HC ports, and bind the lot from the HC software, the telemetry unit may function, at least for RPM, temperature, main pack voltage, which are detected via sensors independent of the Rx or, in this case, the satellites. It might not detect Rx voltage or signal losses, data that normally comes from the Rx.
salience is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2012, 06:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,063
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Default

I am using telemetry and a receiver with a satellite because of that. I do not see how to use telemetry otherwise with this unit. If you use full receiver then tail gyro on channel 5 and head gyro on aux 2. You can always use Shoegoo or something on connections.

On the iPad again,
__________________
AMA 954079. KG5BBF
JCLs is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2012, 07:02 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

I use the TM1000 telemetry unit with the HC3-SX and 2 satellite RX's on my Compass Atom

This link will explain how

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=390563

Phil
__________________
Compass Atom 500/550 - HC3-SX
Spektrum DX18
Blade mCP X
highsidenz is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2012, 11:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 458
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: La Honda, CA
Default

Thanks, Phil. Learning RC helis is definitely a going back to school event.
seldredg is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1