Make your own Stepdown regulator - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Nitro Helicopters


600 Class Nitro Helicopters 600 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2007, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,031
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgium
Default Make your own Stepdown regulator

Last week I was looking for a stepdown regulator. I've got the 2 in 1 from Align, great thing by the way. But nowhere a stepdown to be found.

the 2 in 1 provides 5.8V which is a little bit to high for most rudder servos. Need to knock off 0.7V.
You can do this by taking a short servo extension wire.
Cut the red wire.
Solder a Diode 1N4001 in between the 2 ends (kathode to the servo side)
and your done.... Use this between your gyro and rudder servo.

Cheap solution. This will cost your around 1.5 dollars.... and works fine.

Ron
__________________
Goblin 630, Vibe 50, trex 500, 450, mcpx v2 and mcpx bl. All fbl of course...:-)
kraaijer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2007, 08:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashburn, VA
Default

What kind of load can you run under that diode? Have you done any tests?
electricdurango is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2007, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,031
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgium
Default

The 1N4001 is rated for 1A, enough for 1 servo.

Don't use this for more then that.
__________________
Goblin 630, Vibe 50, trex 500, 450, mcpx v2 and mcpx bl. All fbl of course...:-)
kraaijer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2007, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Default

For the less knowledgable
The white ring around the diode needs to point towards the servo.
__________________
Alfred
Radios: JR DSX9, Mikado VControl
Helies: 2xTRex450, TT30, TT50SE, RJX50, X-Cell60, Fury Expert, Stratus, Kasama ECO (under construction), Goblin 770
Alfred is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2007, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,031
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgium
Default

Thanks for clarifying that Alfred, forget to mention that.... :-)
__________________
Goblin 630, Vibe 50, trex 500, 450, mcpx v2 and mcpx bl. All fbl of course...:-)
kraaijer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2007, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,493
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Thats whats in the Align step down anyway

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2007, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,031
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgium
Default

That's what I figured... makes it even better, cause it's easy to get, easy to make and cheap.
__________________
Goblin 630, Vibe 50, trex 500, 450, mcpx v2 and mcpx bl. All fbl of course...:-)
kraaijer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2007, 01:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 14,088
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Qld, AUSTRALIA
Default

So can you wire 2-3 diodes in parallel to increase current capacity without changing the .7V dropdown ?
__________________
John
Mercuriell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2007, 01:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,396
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bay Area, California, U.S.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercuriell View Post
So can you wire 2-3 diodes in parallel to increase current capacity without changing the .7V dropdown ?
Not usually a good idea since diodes often don't share current well due to very small variations in forward voltage drop. This can be overcome with snubber resistors but just makes things more complicated. Do a search on www.digikey.com for a big selection of diodes of whatever current rating needed (I used 3A).
__________________
Have laser, will travel.
cbdane is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2007, 02:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,031
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgium
Default

If you want a higher Current rating use a diode from the 1n5xxx series.

You could put 3 1N4001 in parallel, but you would have to find "matching" diodes, and as suggested here above doing this is taking a risk.

If you need anything bigger I suggest you simply use a BEC of 6A at 4.8V and you're done. However, a lot of servos actually work great with 6V so why take that away :-)
__________________
Goblin 630, Vibe 50, trex 500, 450, mcpx v2 and mcpx bl. All fbl of course...:-)
kraaijer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2007, 03:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: BogotŠ - Colombia
Default

Hi,

Here I coud not find the 1N4001 but the 1N4004, can I use this last one ?

Boris.
BorisGarcia is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2007, 04:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,031
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgium
Default

Yes you can, is even "saver" because of the higher Voltage rating.

Good luck.
__________________
Goblin 630, Vibe 50, trex 500, 450, mcpx v2 and mcpx bl. All fbl of course...:-)
kraaijer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2007, 07:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nowhere
Talking Open season

It is open season on radio shack diodes. Any of the rectifier diodes would work fine for this step down. If you want a higher current rating check the specs. A voltage rating over 10 volts and a current rating large enough to suite your wishes and go for it.

For Example:

3-Amp Diode
Model: 1N5402 | Catalog #: 276-1143
Decisive 200A surge. Type 1N5402. Peak Inverse Voltage (PIV) is 200.

or

PTC205 Silicon Diodes (3-Pack)
Model: PTC205 | Catalog #: 276-1114
Contains 2.5A, 1000-PIV silicon diodes
RTDillon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2007, 08:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,396
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bay Area, California, U.S.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTDillon View Post
It is open season on radio shack diodes. Any of the rectifier diodes would work fine for this step down. If you want a higher current rating check the specs. A voltage rating over 10 volts and a current rating large enough to suite your wishes and go for it.

For Example:

3-Amp Diode
Model: 1N5402 | Catalog #: 276-1143
Decisive 200A surge. Type 1N5402. Peak Inverse Voltage (PIV) is 200.

or

PTC205 Silicon Diodes (3-Pack)
Model: PTC205 | Catalog #: 276-1114
Contains 2.5A, 1000-PIV silicon diodes
Exactly. But you still probably want to check the forward voltage drop also. Some of the high power rectifiers have smaller drops meaning they may not get your voltage down to 5V.
__________________
Have laser, will travel.
cbdane is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2007, 02:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,031
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgium
Default

Is this the time where I should start buying stock in Radioshack?

I don't recommend to use this to step down before the receiver though. I you have a need for that you're better off using a BEC.
I posted this because the Align stepdown's are sometimes hard to get by and ar nothing else but a 1N4001, so why not make it ourselves.
__________________
Goblin 630, Vibe 50, trex 500, 450, mcpx v2 and mcpx bl. All fbl of course...:-)
kraaijer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2007, 02:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,610
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dorset, England
Default

Thanks for this, it works a treat with a IN4004.

Nobody had the Align stepdowns so I would have been well stuck without this. We could churn out loads of these and supply them to the stores, I bought 10 of these for £1 (about $2) !!!!!
__________________
Outrage G5 Skookum Flybarless
T-Rex 500esp V-Bar flybarless
Outrage 550 - T-Rex 600 Nitro Pro
DMHC

frogbmth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2007, 07:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Default

Hello there,

Had the same problem myself (no step-down available and a beautiful sunny saturday coming). Did my own circuit with a 3A diode and it works perfectly (I get 5.1V for the rudder servo)

Sam.
sambogosse is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2007, 03:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denmark
Default

Hi.

I'm using a 1N4007 (the only one my local electronics-shop had in stock), but when I meassure the voltage, it only drops from 5.75 to 5.35 (0.4 volt).

Is this becausse my messurement is made without any load ?
dkpodder is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2007, 08:28 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 382
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Okla
Default

Yes, foward current is necessary to see a voltage drop..
__________________
TDRx2
Mikado 600SE
Sandy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2007, 11:26 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 238
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: France and Brazil
Smile 1n4007

I have found this thread when looking for a solution for my S9257 with the GY401 and the Align controller for the T-REX 450 SE V2.

I had a hard time to find a step-down and was not willing to be running my brand new servo on 6 volts.

The suggestion given in this thread was just perfect for me, though I could only find the 1N4007 available but it works the same for this step-down.

Anyway, thank you guys for all the comments. You have saved my weekend !

Eduardo
Eduardo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1