Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > MSH Brain FBL Unit


MSH Brain FBL Unit MSH Brain Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default AutoStab Problems

In the GOV & STAB section of advanced setup the 'Aileron Angle For Hover' slider doesnt seem to move the ailerons very much, if not atall. (this is when Autostab box is ticked).

And yet 'Elevator Angle For Hover' works perfectly and adjusts the elevator as expected.

This has been the only problem I've had with The Brain. I did a test flight today and everything seems great-APART from this AutoStab feature. The aileron always wants to tilt Left when switched in and doesn't seem to work correctly in flight-( impossible to hold a hover)

I really need some feedback on this as it is half the reason for buying this particular FBL unit.

The setup software is v1.0.002

Has anyone else had the same problem?

Feedback from MSH wecomed!!

Last edited by Jamesb463; 08-13-2012 at 02:33 AM..
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2012, 06:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,624
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Default

might want to post on the forum that deals with MSH.
__________________

Empire Hobby/ Team Gaui USA -- Rcbearings.com
-- Cyclone Blades -- Team KDE -- A-Main Hobbies -- OMG servos
dodgeboy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 01:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Has anyone else had problems with AutoStab?

Especially the 'Aileron Angle For Hover' slider in the advanced GOV & STAB section.


Please respond!
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 01:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,194
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

How far off is your bank when in autostab? Mine worked fine, drift a little bit but I can still control the heli.
__________________
Mini Protos BeastX
Trex 450 Pro BeastX
Protos 500... needs a Brain
n00b3D
vicrc is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 02:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Please check that both Aileron & Elevator Hover Adjust sliders work.

My Elevator adjust gives good pos & Neg Elevator movement, but not the Ailron slider-It hardly moves the Aileron.


I think there's a problem with the software relating to the Aileron Slider.
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 03:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2004
Default

Just retested on 5 different units, they all work fine on both ail and elev slider.

What are the numbers at wich the set level positions the sliders in the advanced?


Corrado
__________________
www.msheli.com
HighFreq is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 03:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Heli is on Level surface.

After using SetLevel the Aileron slider is at -20 and the Elevator slider is at Zero

The swash is tilted hard left.

Orientation is Left Side, Sat plugs Up,wires Back
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 03:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2004
Default

Could you please post a pic of how the unit sits on the heli?, it sounds like it is not parallel to the main shaft aileron wise.



Corrado
__________________
www.msheli.com
HighFreq is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 03:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

pics as requested.

swash tilted left and slider wont adjust it.

elevator slider is ok.

orientation seems ok

I even tilted the heli to 45 deg and setlevel. slider went to -13 but slider still doesnt adjust aileron.

Its the aileron slider-the unit doesnt accept commands like the elevator slider.

When I SetLevel the aileron slider is at -20, Elevator slider is at zero.

(swash levels if I untick Autostab)

Could it be the unit- as you can see its not tilted 20degs on the fuselage!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0083.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	339535   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0088.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	339536  

Last edited by Jamesb463; 08-11-2012 at 06:18 AM..
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 04:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

The problem here is that the software or unit thinks its at -20 when in fact its level.

The second problem is that the slider wont adjust the aileron anyway.

The unit doesnt accept commands.

Tx aileron works fine and as I have posted before I flew it yesterday and was excellent without Autostab so it cant be my setup.
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 04:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2004
Default

Can you please try reselecting the orientation?

Corrado
__________________
www.msheli.com
HighFreq is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 04:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Done that!

ITS THE SLIDER not being able to move the Aileron as the Elevator slider does.

Everything is perpendicular so wheres it getting -20?

It always goes to -20 when I setlevel.
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 05:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

If I lay the heli on its left side and setlevel the slider shows +20 but moving the slider still has no effect on the aileron.

Could it be a faulty accelerometer in the unit. Maybe that is the cause?

It flies great without Autostab.
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 05:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2004
Default

Yes a faulty accelerometer could be the reason, please contact your dealer and ask for a substitution.


Corrado
__________________
www.msheli.com
HighFreq is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 06:11 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Have contacted dealer and am returning this brain for another one.

I never thought I'd need a brain transplant but there we go.

Life is full of surprises!

I hope it arrives quicky and that it is OK.

Many thanks for your help over this.
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2012, 01:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Just seen Thalios has had a problem similar to mine with AutoStab. Lets hope its easily rectified.

Last edited by Jamesb463; 08-13-2012 at 02:33 PM..
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2012, 01:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Seems like my EXACT problem, except mine was on the elevator.

Flies great though.

Problem is, it costed me a full rekit..
Thalios is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2012, 02:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 19,207
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NorCal
Default

Good info. We really need a "live view" showing gyro and accel outputs so we can check each axis.
__________________
Xpert
OnTheSnap is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2012, 02:18 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Yes indeed!. I was hesitant to go on about this Autostab thing but I am convinced theres a prob. at first i was doubting myself but flights are great without Autostab so its got to be something with the unit. I'm fully aware its new and we're the 'Test Pilots' but I'd rather start a thread over this and it be me at fault rather than see Helis dropping out of the sky!

I don't mind being in at the start but its too expensive to be a crash test dummy!

Hope a solution is found soon.
Jamesb463 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2012, 07:56 AM   #20 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

I noticed you closed your other thread. Did you find a solution??
Thalios is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1