Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Electric Motors, Gearing, Speed Controls, Gyros, Receivers, and Other Electronics Discussion


Electric Motors, Gearing, Speed Controls, Gyros, Receivers, and Other Electronics Discussion Electric Motors, Gearing, Speed Controls, Gyros, Receivers and Other Electronics Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2007, 05:33 AM   #1
brovic777
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default Logictech LTG-2100T Gyro Video Setup!!!

After finally learning how to setup properly the Logictech LTG-2100T gyro with the Futaba s9257 Digital Servo, I started a video series on the whole setup process.
[IMG]http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o91/******777/Pics2/LogictechKing2.jpg[/IMG]
Right Click to download videos:

Transmitter Setup Video Part 1:
Transmitter Setup for Gyro Video 58mb's

Gyro Programing Video Part 2:
Gyro Programing Video 67mb's

Rate Mode Setup Video Part 3:
Rate Mode Setup Video 62mb's

************************************************** ********

.................................................. .................You Tube Video's for quick view:

.................................................. ...................Transmitter Setup Video Part 1:



.................................................. ...................Gyro Programing Video Part 2:


.................................................. ...................Rate Mode Setup Video Part 3:


************************************************** ************************************

Common Mistakes:


* Trying to setup Logictech gyro as if it were a Fubata 401 = BAD
(The Logictech gyro is way more advanced than the 401 and needs to be setup as in the video's mechanically in rate mode.)

* I can only run the Logictech gyro at 4volts = BAD
(The 2007 updated manual states that the gyro can run at 4.5-6volts.
http://www.logictech.co.kr/upload/bb...T(English).pdf)


* Using subtrim to adjust rudder = BAD
(Do not have any value in the rudder sub trim setting on your transmitter. This will mess up your gyro bad. Mechanically adjust the servo horn at 90 degree's as close as you can get.)

* Moving the heli after you plug in the battery while switch is in TL Mode = BAD
(This is very bad. After you plug in your battery, you must not touch or move the heli for at least 5 second so the gyro can initialize the TL heading. This is true for the Futaba GY401 gyro also.)

* Trying a cheap digital tail servo = BAD
(The Logictech gyro uses a high rate signal in digital mode and needs a high quality fast rate servo to perform at highest level.)

* Running the Futaba s9257 at 6volts= GOOD OR BAD
(The Futaba s9257 is rated to run at 4.8v at .08sec)(I'm testing at 6volts to see if it will burn out)

* Trying to fly in very hot weather excess of 115 Degree's = BAD
(There is one reported case of the tail twitching when flying in excessivly hot weather. If you experience a twitch in your tail, that is a sign to crack open a nice cold beer and relax for the rest of the day) )

Last edited by brovic777; 10-07-2007 at 07:09 AM..
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 01:48 AM   #2
Zoobie
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Africa
Default

Hi Brovik.

Nice vids. Just one thing. when you set up servo limits, what do you recommend - go all the way to the ends or in a little? It is really fast if you go all the way, like I do and then bring in my radio endpoints?

Thanks.
Zoobie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 02:12 AM   #3
brovic777
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoobie View Post
Hi Brovik.

Nice vids. Just one thing. when you set up servo limits, what do you recommend - go all the way to the ends or in a little? It is really fast if you go all the way, like I do and then bring in my radio endpoints?
Thanks.
Its probably better to go all the way to the ends, then turn your radio rudder end-points to around 120 and then adjust your piro's faster or slower depending on your taste.
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 05:44 AM   #4
brovic777
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default

My s9257 wasn't holding firm in hard test flying this past weekend. I was running it at 6volts. I just found out that it suppose to run at 4.8volts. My bad...

Thank God if have a SportBEC that has a switch to lower the volts to 5v.

Specs:
SPECS: Length: 1.40" (35.5mm)
Width: 0.59" (15mm)
Height: 1.13" (28.6mm)
Weight: 0.9oz (26g)
Torque: 27.76 oz-in (2.0 kg-cm) at 4.8V
Operating Speed: 0.08sec/60 at 4.8V
Cord Length: 7.9" (200mm)
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 04:38 AM   #5
Zoobie
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Africa
Default

Surely it will hold better at 6v, would the servo not be faster?
Zoobie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 05:52 AM   #6
DebianDog
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,982
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Powhatan, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoobie View Post
Surely it will hold better at 6v, would the servo not be faster?
Gyro/Servo combos are not designed for over 4.8 volts.
__________________
Dan Da Dawg - JR X9303
Hexa F550 on 3S + 6S TREX 500 + 6S TREX 600 + Blade mSR + Blade mCPx2 Brushless + 12S Rave FBL ENV
DebianDog is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 01:41 PM   #7
brovic777
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoobie View Post
Surely it will hold better at 6v, would the servo not be faster?
Not the s9257. It runs at .08 speed at 4.8volts!!!!!
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 03:29 AM   #8
lotus7
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,314
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cape Town , South Africa
Default

Help ! is the setup video website down as I cannot download ? Desperate to get the videos as I just bought a T2100 ( could watch them on Youtube though but would like to save them
lotus7 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:17 PM   #9
brovic777
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default

Video download links are now working.

Thanks
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 09:38 AM   #10
lotus7
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,314
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cape Town , South Africa
Default

Thanks ******
Can get them down, now-
lotus7 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 10:51 AM   #11
lotus7
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,314
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cape Town , South Africa
Default

******, I have set up my t2100 after I downloaded your videos , which was so descriptive and helpfull - Thanks for sharing . Two questions though.
1 In HH my gain is currently set at the 3rd red light, when I switch to rate, the gain light jumps all the way to the last red. Is this correct?
2 I use the elev d/r switch to switch between HH and rate on my JR X6102 . However , i can not get the gear % indication on the TX to match that as per the scales given bu Logictech for the red indicator lights on the t2100 - Is there a way of getting the TX to match my setting on the t2100?
lotus7 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 03:32 PM   #12
brovic777
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotus7 View Post
******, I have set up my t2100 after I downloaded your videos , which was so descriptive and helpfull - Thanks for sharing . Two questions though.
1 In HH my gain is currently set at the 3rd red light, when I switch to rate, the gain light jumps all the way to the last red. Is this correct?
2 I use the elev d/r switch to switch between HH and rate on my JR X6102 . However , i can not get the gear % indication on the TX to match that as per the scales given bu Logictech for the red indicator lights on the t2100 - Is there a way of getting the TX to match my setting on the t2100?
Not sure. I'm not too familiar with the Jr rx.
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 10:03 PM   #13
lotus7
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,314
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cape Town , South Africa
Default

Very similar to the DX7 in your videos, even the programming buttons look and work the same!
lotus7 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 10:07 PM   #14
brovic777
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotus7 View Post
Very similar to the DX7 in your videos, even the programming buttons look and work the same!
It it works the same then just play with your settings to get them to match.
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 12:37 AM   #15
miguelcpp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 127
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Default

wow man thank you so much, i just bought a trex 450 v2 with the ligitech gyro and dx7 transmitter, thank you so much!!!
miguelcpp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 12:45 AM   #16
miguelcpp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 127
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Default

BTW what heli is that on the video, and what receiver are you using with your dx7 for this heli, i got AR7000 with mine is it good for a 450 heli or need a lighter one?
miguelcpp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 01:23 AM   #17
brovic777
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcpp View Post
BTW what heli is that on the video, and what receiver are you using with your dx7 for this heli, i got AR7000 with mine is it good for a 450 heli or need a lighter one?
Thanks Miguel. That heli you saw is a hybrid of the RC-Tek Diablo and Skyshark 450. For me, its the best looking 450 out in the market. Finless did a review of it here:

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=41512

As for the reciever, the AR7000 is a little big for the 450. I used it originally, but then got an AR6100 as its smaller, and lighter.
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 05:31 PM   #18
PTFlyer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,603
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: State of Confusion
Default

after setting it up in TL mode...do you really have to set up rate mode ?

Does the 2100T require you to set up in rate mode, as you explain in the video,for tail lock to work correctly even if you don't plan on ever flying in rate mode?
PTFlyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 05:39 PM   #19
brovic777
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pasadena, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PTFlyer View Post
after setting it up in TL mode...do you really have to set up rate mode ?

Does the 2100T require you to set up in rate mode, as you explain in the video,for tail lock to work correctly even if you don't plan on ever flying in rate mode?
Yes, if you don't set it up in rate mode, your gyro will work messed up. You must set it up in rate mode for your tail lock to work properly. You can try it without doing like this and you'll most likely have a very bad bounce or delay when using the gyro that might even cause you to crash.
brovic777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 10:58 PM   #20
PTFlyer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,603
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: State of Confusion
Default

Ok...cool.......I'll finish by doing the rate mode setup then.....

Thanks for doing the step by step video, It was a big help.......made it easy (so far)

After I finish the set up and give it a test I'll post how I made out..(hopefully I'll get some time tomorrow to do it)
PTFlyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.