New Futaba 14SG-Telemetry! - Page 3 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics


Futaba Radios and Electronics Futaba Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 05:03 PM   #41 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,804
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Default

ModelGuard incorrect model choice protection for Futaba (8 min 41 sec)


If you really need it
__________________
-TT E700 V2-vbar-mks950-980-Kosmik 160HV-Pyro 700 rewound by PD / Voodoo 600 -PD-MX700-470kv--BLS255hv-VBAR 5.3+- Gaui X3+Spirit Pro
velocity90 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2012, 05:12 PM   #42 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,318
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fresno California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wbplomp View Post
This is intereseting as well. Thanks. I don't really mind if they call it something else. As long as a receiver with telemetry does not arm when you are using the wrong model. It is for your own safety as well. As far as I know from a friend of mine who has a 18MZ says the binding with telemetry receiver is different and it probably will not arm. But we have not tested it yet. Hopefully that does the trick.

The 14SG will probably have ball brearings as well. But the specifications on the Futaba website do not show it.
IC well for the price of the 14sg it should have ballbearings. It isn't a low cost Futaba radio.
__________________
Hi my name is Jim and I am a Heliholic. Darn Heli-Crack Addiction!! lol
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE!
rcjames is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2012, 05:45 PM   #43 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 11,383
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjoer View Post
Thanks but that defies the use of Condition Warning :S. Again a workaround for a simple feature request.
I turn off all my warnings, I can handle making sure I'm in throttle hold and idle up

Honestly if we are ever given the option, I will still use a TH-based timer.
ChrisH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2012, 09:48 AM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 131
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Champaign, IL
Default

The gimbals are the same as the 8FG, dual bearings (one per axle).

Steve

Quote:
Originally Posted by geekindenial View Post
Hi Steve,

Just one more question about bearings on gimbals: with this new txt, similar to 8fg, it is dual bearing, does it mean 2 per gimbal (i.e. 1 per axel) or 2 per axel (4 per gimbal)?

Thanks a lot for your responses. I did try to some research but could not find any clear info anywhere.
skaluf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2012, 09:50 AM   #45 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 131
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Champaign, IL
Default

The port on the back is used to program S.Bus servos.

Great to hear how much everyone is liking this system. It's even better when you get to see/feel it in person.

Steve

Quote:
Originally Posted by WBFAir View Post
Hello Steve,

Don't know if this can be answered now and perhaps this is going way out on a idea, but I see the plug/port that is called the "Programming port & earphone jack"

Was just wondering if this is some kind of computer interface where we can use a PC to setup everything in the radio?

Or is this something to do with the feature called: Internal programmer for S.Bus servos


Btw just wanted to add my ++1 on the price for this baby.

Major features and all for that price....very very good.
skaluf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2012, 03:52 PM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mooresville, NC
Default I will keep my Spektrum DX8 with Model Matching!

Sorry Futaba but after 30+ years I like my new Spektrum DX8 w/ telemetry, DSMx, and Model Match!!!

Also just upgraded an ALign 450 Pro with a Spektrum AR7200BX FBL controller/ DSMx receiver (getting rid of a few GY520's and a R6008 FASST receiver) and love it!

Still undecided what I will do with my left over models with the $$$14mz which doesn't have telemetry, uses too much power to run, and has a hard to see display in daylight

Michael
hpilotrc is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2012, 04:17 PM   #47 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,731
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarajevo (USA)
Default

I have a question about the built in 3-axis gyro support. I assume this will be able to control the gains/settings on all 3 axis of a futaba gyro. But, can you assign the radio determined gains to RX output channels to use any FBL you want (assuming they ever come out with 3 seperate inputs, 1 dedicated to each axis gain.) Now, for instance, I am using a walkera TX/RX. The RX will have an output that goes to the gyro gain input on a 3GX FBL unit. But thats only for the tail gain. I think at some point, FBL units might have 3 inputs, 1 for each axis gain. If radio's can provide 3 independent channels for each axis gain, then you could mix and match radios and FBL units and have complete TX control of all 3 axis gains. That would be nice. If the Futaba 14SG can do this, I will have an order in as soon as I can find a place to do so. Then of course, I will have to hope that FBL's come out with the 3 inputs. But even if this never happens, I still have a decent radio at a decent price and can always go with the Futaba FBL if desired.
__________________
IS FURY AND FIRE A RED LINE
tworst is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2012, 06:01 PM   #48 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,318
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fresno California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpilotrc View Post
Sorry Futaba but after 30+ years I like my new Spektrum DX8 w/ telemetry, DSMx, and Model Match!!!

Also just upgraded an ALign 450 Pro with a Spektrum AR7200BX FBL controller/ DSMx receiver (getting rid of a few GY520's and a R6008 FASST receiver) and love it!

Still undecided what I will do with my left over models with the $$$14mz which doesn't have telemetry, uses too much power to run, and has a hard to see display in daylight

Michael
You must be blind when it comes with Spektrum. But hey give me you're 14mz.
__________________
Hi my name is Jim and I am a Heliholic. Darn Heli-Crack Addiction!! lol
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE!
rcjames is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2012, 06:01 PM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,318
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fresno California
Default

Anywhere accepting pre order?
__________________
Hi my name is Jim and I am a Heliholic. Darn Heli-Crack Addiction!! lol
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE!
rcjames is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2012, 09:21 PM   #50 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 264
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Miramar, Florida
Default

I ordered mine on Monday from Tower: http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXCVRA&P=0

Mid December....

Doug.
dvelez3 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2012, 05:49 PM   #51 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 833
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Default

Steve, will the models I have programmed in my 8FG be transferrable to the 14SG?
__________________
SAB Goblin 500
SAB Goblin 700
Jeti DS-16
bobloblaw is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 09:20 AM   #52 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 131
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Champaign, IL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobloblaw View Post
Steve, will the models I have programmed in my 8FG be transferrable to the 14SG?
Yes.
skaluf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 09:46 AM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 495
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Coast, UK
Default

Steve

On Futaba's page there's an 14SGA and 14SGH. Are we back to having a choice between fixed wing or rotary wing? I fly helis and gliders...

Thanks
wocka_wocka is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 10:11 AM   #54 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,089
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

The software is always the same, just the switch locations change.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 01:20 PM   #55 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 131
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Champaign, IL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
The software is always the same, just the switch locations change.
Correct!
skaluf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 02:09 PM   #56 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Malta
Default

Will the SGH version have also the ratchet on the throttle/collective stick removed from the factory?
jonathancassar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 03:33 PM   #57 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 131
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Champaign, IL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathancassar View Post
Will the SGH version have also the ratchet on the throttle/collective stick removed from the factory?
Yes, of course.

Steve
skaluf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2012, 09:41 AM   #58 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 131
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Champaign, IL
Default 14SG Pre-orders

Guys, at the risk of acting like a spammer...

If you are going to order a 14SG and want to have a chance of it arriving with the first shipment into the US (this is for those of you living in North America only); you will want to place your order prior to tomorrow.

A word to the wise...I just don't want a bunch of disappointed kids during the holiday season.

Steve
skaluf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 02:54 PM   #59 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Default

So with the release of another Telemetry equipped radio will we see additional telemetry capable receivers? I personally don't need anything but a 6303SB type receiver with addition of telemetry. No need for anything other than SBus.

Cheers
Alan


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Helilids RC Hobbies
flyalan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 06:20 PM   #60 (permalink)
Formerly BarnStormer
 
Posts: 2,648
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mequon, WI
Default

The only things that kept me from getting an 8fg were the switch spacing and timer volume. To add in telemetry and vibration is just a bonus for me lol.

Pre-ordered. . .
__________________
Team Compass USA
Scorpion Power Systems
Jason O'Connell is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1