Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Robird G31


Robird G31 RobirdUSA Factory Support Forum


Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2012, 08:17 PM   #81 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,940
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Hi

I need help with mine, I posted below the sticky.
__________________
Rapid Helis Australia
Lighty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2012, 08:17 PM   #82 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,932
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Default

My two G31`s arrived yesterday from Tarot-RC and my KST servos from Aloft Hobbies. Now I have some winter projects.

For those who have never wired a RPM sensor....Here`s a PDF for the RPM sensor from Hobby wing
Attached Files
File Type: pdf HW-SM824DUL-RPM_Sensor-20120606.pdf (64.4 KB, 283 views)
__________________
''it's easier to fix a broken back than a broken spirit ''
ifheli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2012, 11:56 PM   #83 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifheli View Post
My two G31`s arrived yesterday from Tarot-RC and my KST servos from Aloft Hobbies. Now I have some winter projects.

For those who have never wired a RPM sensor....Here`s a PDF for the RPM sensor from Hobby wing
You'll like the KST servos. I have the 115MGs as well as the 215MGs on a couple of 450s. They work well with the G31. I also bought mine from Aloft Hobbies. I called him in the morning to place my order and shortly after lunch I received an email confirmation that he'd shipped them.

I put a series of 4 videos on my website that show how to program your governor on the G31. Here's the address: www.RobirdUSA.com. Click on "Videos" and you'll see them. Excuse the mess as the website is still under construction.
SDedic214 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 11:15 AM   #84 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,447
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Default

cancel
__________________
Atom500(FBL)., Gaui x4II (FBL) ;Trex450 sport (FBL). All with Ikon fbl gyro. AMA#1019423.

Tony .
tony521 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 11:17 AM   #85 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,447
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lighty View Post
Hi

I need help with mine, I posted below the sticky.
Keith, what exactly do you need help with?
__________________
Atom500(FBL)., Gaui x4II (FBL) ;Trex450 sport (FBL). All with Ikon fbl gyro. AMA#1019423.

Tony .
tony521 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 03:07 PM   #86 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

I am starting to get excited. Tracking shows mine has made it through customs so should be here early next week.

Since winter is here in full force now, outdoor flying is limited. I may opt to try this out in my 250 or 300X to play with it at the gym.
gothicbunny is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 04:14 PM   #87 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,195
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default G31 in 300x

So I installed a G31 in my son's 300x. Fits like a glove. Thought I'd share here.

Running a 10amp ccBec split, one plugged into SRX cable and spectrum sat, plugged into SRX port 2 to power DS425M tail servo. The other plug from ccBec is plugged into SRX port 1 to power DS415M cyclic servos.

Currently I have the gain for my tail set to 65 on the TX. Cyclics and tail set to 250htz. Ok to go 333htz but thought I'd play it safe for now.

Only test hovered for 3 min so far and all seems well. Will fine tune this weekend. Pretty excited! Can't wait to dial her in so we can really open it up and see what this $90 FBL controller can do.



__________________
X5-12s/Yep120/KDE600-530/FullSizeVbar/belt/550mm
180cfx-ServoSaverMod/TorqueTubeClutch/CarbonBlades, DX7se
My son Enzo - X5, 180cfx, DX7se
ccnada is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 05:21 PM   #88 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

Glad to hear it fits well. More room between the frames than with the BX?
gothicbunny is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 06:37 PM   #89 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,195
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gothicbunny View Post
Glad to hear it fits well. More room between the frames than with the BX?
Little bit more room, but I did nor haxe the 7200bx in there for very long. I do like the programing on the computer more than the bx. Similar to vbar setup which is what I'm used to.
__________________
X5-12s/Yep120/KDE600-530/FullSizeVbar/belt/550mm
180cfx-ServoSaverMod/TorqueTubeClutch/CarbonBlades, DX7se
My son Enzo - X5, 180cfx, DX7se
ccnada is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 07:27 PM   #90 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccnada View Post
So I installed a G31 in my son's 300x. Fits like a glove. Thought I'd share here.

Running a 10amp ccBec split, one plugged into SRX cable and spectrum sat, plugged into SRX port 2 to power DS425M tail servo. The other plug from ccBec is plugged into SRX port 1 to power DS415M cyclic servos.

Currently I have the gain for my tail set to 65 on the TX. Cyclics and tail set to 250htz. Ok to go 333htz but thought I'd play it safe for now.

Only test hovered for 3 min so far and all seems well. Will fine tune this weekend. Pretty excited! Can't wait to dial her in so we can really open it up and see what this $90 FBL controller can do.




CC:

If you get down to Fallbrook on a Saturday morning sometime come see me at the Palomar RC Flyers field and we can talk more about the Robird G31.

Scott
SDedic214 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 07:53 PM   #91 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,195
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDedic214 View Post
CC:

If you get down to Fallbrook on a Saturday morning sometime come see me at the Palomar RC Flyers field and we can talk more about the Robird G31.

Scott
Sounds great! I do plan on going to Date St tomorrow morning to fine tune this thing. Its 20min north of Palomar. If I do come across a snag I'll pm you. Thx
__________________
X5-12s/Yep120/KDE600-530/FullSizeVbar/belt/550mm
180cfx-ServoSaverMod/TorqueTubeClutch/CarbonBlades, DX7se
My son Enzo - X5, 180cfx, DX7se
ccnada is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 11:55 PM   #92 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,589
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

Got mine all set up. Only issues I had were the aileron and elevator inputs from the rx reversed ( I even labeled them :rolleyes: ) and I had a cyclic that was over shooting center..turns out It had a broken potentiometer ring. Fixed that and it was smooth sailing.

The cyclic is super fast around center. Is it an issue to use expo in the Tx, or should I use the software only?

Still have to program my esc and do some cleanup, but should be able to maiden Sunday.

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
Compass 7HV Gaui X5 Formula HD Cell 500
LawnDartHeli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 03:20 AM   #93 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

You can still use Tx expo with FBL controllers. Center is still center. It is when you use trim and subtrim they don't like it because you are then sending an input signal off of center.
gothicbunny is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 04:57 PM   #94 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Default setup

when coming to cyclic pitch geometry it says 8 degrees.my swash left servo tilts down instead of my elevetor servo in the front all else seems to work ok as far as direction and movement? in robirds video on u tube part 14 in the setup the pitch gauge says 0.8 degrees less then(1 degree ) so i'm a little confussed on why it's tilting left.any one else run onto this?
hiboom is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 05:32 PM   #95 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,932
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Default

in this step you need the blades over canopy / boom ( in line w/ boom ). the swash tilts and you check w/ pitch gauge for the 8 degrees setting on the ailerons. you increase or decrease % in software till you have 8 degrees on pitch gauge. it is best to stay between 80-100% in software.
__________________
''it's easier to fix a broken back than a broken spirit ''
ifheli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 06:03 PM   #96 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Default swash

well that would make since why aileron servo is tilting to the left
hiboom is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 06:03 PM   #97 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,932
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Default G31, KST Servos, & Sat. RX`s

I`m not sure if others are having an issue when using G31, KST servo, Sat. RX(spektrum), & CC ESC`s internal BEC. In this combination the Sat. RX will brown( I guess this is what to call it) out on the bench when moving the collective fast with a lost of control for a split second. The LED on sat. rx will start blinking.

I`m not sure how many amps four KST 215 servos draw but it seems to never happen w/ normal RX. It looks like I will be buying some BEC`s and normal Rx`s soon.
__________________
''it's easier to fix a broken back than a broken spirit ''
ifheli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 06:15 PM   #98 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifheli View Post
I`m not sure if others are having an issue when using G31, KST servo, Sat. RX(spektrum), & CC ESC`s internal BEC. In this combination the Sat. RX will brown( I guess this is what to call it) out on the bench when moving the collective fast with a lost of control for a split second. The LED on sat. rx will start blinking.

I`m not sure how many amps four KST 215 servos draw but it seems to never happen w/ normal RX. It looks like I will be buying some BEC`s and normal Rx`s soon.
Putting a capacitor inline with your internal BEC output might help in this case, try it out as this is a much cheaper option. Something similar like this:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=16223
PhantomGT is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 06:38 PM   #99 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,932
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Default

How would I connect it between the esc and the G31 since I`m using a SAT. RX. That capacitor is to plug into a spare port on RX. Would I use a "Y" wire between G31 & esc?.

I don`t have this issue with a normal rx just when using the SRX adaptor w/ sat. rx.
__________________
''it's easier to fix a broken back than a broken spirit ''
ifheli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 06:41 PM   #100 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,447
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifheli View Post
I`m not sure if others are having an issue when using G31, KST servo, Sat. RX(spektrum), & CC ESC`s internal BEC. In this combination the Sat. RX will brown( I guess this is what to call it) out on the bench when moving the collective fast with a lost of control for a split second. The LED on sat. rx will start blinking.

I`m not sure how many amps four KST 215 servos draw but it seems to never happen w/ normal RX. It looks like I will be buying some BEC`s and normal Rx`s soon.
I'm using that combo, except for the kst servos, i'm using the hs5065 with no brown outs.
__________________
Atom500(FBL)., Gaui x4II (FBL) ;Trex450 sport (FBL). All with Ikon fbl gyro. AMA#1019423.

Tony .
tony521 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1