Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > Flight Controllers (NAZA, Wookong, A2, etc...) > DJI Multirotor Forum(A2/WKM)


DJI Multirotor Forum(A2/WKM) DJI Multirotor Forum(A2/WKM)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default DJI Naza-M and Futaba R617FS Setup Failsafe on Signal Loss + Complete instructions

I wrote this guide to help others in the same situation as me. I hope it will help others.

The Futaba R617FS receiver only support failsafe on channel 3, if you followed the Naza manual, you won’t be able to setup the failsafe for signal loss.

My setup being a Futaba T7C Tx with a Futaba R617FS Rx, I was struggling to setup the failsafe to work on signal loss, and searching around the internet, I saw a lot of peoples asking how to set it up, and no answers, often the replies were as simple as “that can’t be done with this Rx”.

I finally found the solution and will try to explain it here for everyone else.

Facts:
  • a) The R617FS receiver only supports failsafe on channel 3 (throttle)
  • b) The Naza-M gyro only supports getting a failsafe signal from channel U
  • c) If you follow the Naza-M manual, you have connect your rx channel 3 (throttle) to your naza channel T (throttle) and rx channel 5 (3 way switch) to your naza channel U (“GPS/Manual/Failsafe” command switch channel)
  • d) Combining point a, b and c, you’ll never be able to get the fail safe working when losing radio signal

Solution:
To sum it up, you need to have your rx channel 3 (which support the failsafe) to your naza channel U, your rx channel 6 (pitch) to your naza channel T, you set up your TX for Heli mode, Swash type H-1, and use the pitch curve to control your throttle and the throttle curve to control the flight mode (using a flat line in each switch position to toggle to GPS/Attitude/Manual mode).

This manual will guide you to the complete setup of your Futaba T7C / R617FS / Naza-M to take the full advantage of every option the Naza-M + GPS give you, setup the fail-safe on signal loss, setup the switches to toggle between each flight mode, each IOC mode and a manual fail-safe switch.

Step By Step Instructions:
(I use the Futaba T7C HELI-Mode2 Tx, instructions may differ a bit with other radios)

1- Connect your receiver to your Naza-M as follow:
R617FS ---> NAZA-M
Channel 1 ---> A (same as manual)
Channel 2 ---> E (same as manual)
Channel 3 ---> U (different from manual)
Channel 4 ---> R (same as manual)
Channel 5 ---> X1 (different from manual)
Channel 6 ---> T (different from manual)
Channel 7 ---> X2 (same as manual)

2- Go in your Tx, make a new model or use the one you already have

3- The Tx Basic menu PARAMETER:
  • a- In your Tx, go to menu “PARAMETER”, go on RESET>EXEC and hold the dial button until it reset (you want to reset to make sure no other settings will interfere with the setup)
  • b- Scroll down to TYPE and select H-1
  • c- Scroll down to CH5-SW> and chose -
  • d- Scroll down to CH7-SW> and chose B (I use switch B to toggle the IOC)

4- The Tx Basic menu “REVERSE” Menu:
  • a- Here’s how I have mine setup, I suggest you follow the same pattern so it’s easier to follow the guide, Reverse CH1, CH4 and CH7, keep all others in NOR

5- The Tx Basic menu “TIMER”, Set TIMER to ON or OFF, assign Switch D(Down), set timer to your flight time, and mode UP or DOWN according to your preference (I use UP mode)


6- The Tx Basic Menu “TH-CUT”, Set TH-CUT> to INH

7- The Tx Advanced Menu “HOV-THR”, Set HOV-THR to INH

8- The Tx Advanced Menu “HOV-PIT”, Set HOV-THR to INH

9- The Tx Advanced Menu “GYRO”, Set GYRO to INH (more on this later)

Now the pre-setup of the Tx is Ready, now we need to run the Naza application and connect the USB to the Naza to complete the setup

10- In Naza application, Tx Cali Page, Make sure all 4 channel are set to REV (if you follow the same channel reversing as me in the Tx of course), verify all channel are moving in appropriate direction, also you’ll want to calibrate here

11- Programming the 3 way switch for GPS/Attitude/Manual mode
  • a- Go in Tx Advanced Menu “THR-CRV”
  • b- Place your 3-way switch to normal and set the normal throttle curve 8% on all points, in the application you should now have the GPS mode turn Blue, if not, change the value till GPS turn Blue, make sure you use the same value on all point (flat line)
  • c- Place your switch to Idle1 and set the Idle1 throttle curve to 50% on all points, in application, you should now have the attitude mode Blue
  • d- Place your switch to Idle2 and set the Idle2 throttle curve to 90% on all points, in application, you should now see that manual is turn Blue (again, this value may be different for you, if manual don’t turn Blue, adjust the value as needed)
  • e- Your 3-way switch is now set

12- Programming a manual Fail-Safe switch using the TH-Hold Switch
  • a- Flip the TH-Hold switch in TH-Hold position (toward you)
  • b- Go in Tx advanced menu “TH-HOLD” and set POS to +40%
  • c- In application, you should now see that Fail-Safe is turn Blue, if not, adjust the value of POS till you have Fail-Safe turn Blue
  • d- Now, you can use the TH-Hold as a Return to Home (RTH) switch (for RTH, make sure that in application autopilot page, that you have check Go-Home and Landing, otherwise your Fail-Safe will only land)

13- Setting the Fail-Safe on loss of signal
  • a- Have your TH-Hold switch ON and make sure in the application that Fail-Safe is Blue
  • b- Go in Tx Basic Menu “FAIL SAFE”
  • c- Make sure that CH: 3 is set to F/S, you should have the number 3 flashing on the Tx screen, press and hold the Tx dial button until you hear 2 fast beep, when you hear the beeps, this mean that fail safe position is saved in Rx
  • d- Now we need to test the fail safe and make sure it works, place the TH-Hold switch to OFF, now in application you should have either GPS/A/M in Blue, Power OFF the Tx, now Fail Safe should turn blue and you have your fail safe set for loss of signal/Tx, power back on the Tx and the Naza should go back to whatever mode you have your 3-way switch at

14- Setting the Intelligent Orientation Control (IOC)
  • a- Go in application Autopilot Page
  • b- Make sure to check “3. Intelligent Orientation Control”
  • c- On Tx, Place switch A and B to UP position
  • d- Go in Tx advanced menu “P-MIX1”
  • e- Set MAS to OFS
  • f- Set SLV to CH7
  • g- Set SW to A-UP
  • h- Set RT to -100%
  • i- How it work: Switch A will control what IOC mode you want (UP for Course Lock and DOWN for Home Lock) and switch B will control if IOC is OFF or ON (UP is IOC OFF, DOWN is IOC ON)
  • j- Test your IOC Switches, when B is UP IOC is always OFF, you can move switch A UP or DOWN and this won’t change anything, but when you switch B to DOWN, IOC will switch to whatever mode you set A switch to

15- Only thing left is the Gimbal X1 Channel, I don’t use this feature so I haven’t played with it, but the X1 channel is linked to your GYRO channel, if you use this feature, you can use the Tx GYRO menu to control the X1 channel or you can set a switch for it from the PARAMETER menu


This is it, if you followed this guide to the letter, you’ll be able to switch to all flight mode, have a switch for Return to Home, have a functional Fail-Safe in case of loss of signal/Tx, and have the ability to use any IOC mode the Naza-M have


Here is a summary of all the switches and their functions:
  • Switch E (3-way switch): Normal position = GPS Mode, Idle1 = Attitude Mode, Idle2 = Normal Mode
  • Switch A: UP = IOC Mode Course Lock, DOWN = IOC Mode Home Lock
  • Switch B: UP = IOC Mode is OFF, DOWN = IOC Mode is ON (to whatever switch A is at)
  • Switch D: UP = Timer OFF, DOWN = Timer ON
  • Switch G (TH-HOLD): UP (away from you) = Fail-Safe OFF, DOWN (toward you) = Fail-Safe ON (RTH)

Last edited by locks; 11-08-2012 at 12:09 PM..
locks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2012, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Awesome post

Thanks for sharing
w12martin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2012, 12:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Thanks, if it can help even only one person, then it's worth it, and this can also be use to give guidelines to other with different radio / receiver that have the same problem with a failsafe only available to one channel, or how to setup their switch and mixing to get all the features availables
locks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2012, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 4,802
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default

Locks...
AWESOME WRITE UP!!!
unfortunately I have Spektrum

I will be looking for your Spektrum edition!!!!
__________________
Team "Wife" sponsored pilot... Thanks Baby!!!
badfrog is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2012, 12:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

I dont have a spectrum... send me yours and I'll do it

I think with spectrum you can failsafe to any channels so it's just a matter of binding the receiver while you have fail-safe on Blue in the apps, as for mixing, I dont know how it's done on spectrum, but you can probably achieve it by following the ideas in my guide, I would think it's pretty similar, just different menu to go trough...
locks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 09:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

I run with the same problem....
just want to order the R6208,
but after reading this post....
I just can say BIG THANKS !
Awesome post !
atasbawah is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 10:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atasbawah View Post
I run with the same problem....
just want to order the R6208,
but after reading this post....
I just can say BIG THANKS !
Awesome post !
Great! Did the numbers for the pitch curve were the same for you or did you have to adjust to others values?
locks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 11:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

didn't remember how exactly the throtle curve (the pitch is straight line diagonaly)
What I've done (need 15 minute to re-configure)...
Throttle assigned to CH6 (Pitch)
U assigned to CH3, I assigned Norm=atti mode, Idle up 1=gps mode, and idle up 2=failsafe

X2 assigned to CH5, using a three way switch, setting the gyro gain for OFF, Course lock and home lock..

still have one more channel for camera tilt...

Now It can fully functional with R617....

Thanks for inspiring me....
__________________
Trex 800, Helicommand Profi, Canon 5DM3
Trex 700, Helicommand 3A, Canon 5DM2
Trex 550, Nikon D3200
DJI F550, Naza+GPS, Gopro
atasbawah is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 01:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

For failsafe, I use the throttle hold switch,since it does have it's own curve independent of where the idle switch is at, so this allow me to have gps, attitude and normal on the idle switch and failsafe activated by flipping the th-hold switch..

I like it this way, since I fly heli and I'm used to flip the TH-Hold switch in case of "panic" or emergency, so having the failsafe here for me is more natural.
locks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2012, 03:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default


Tout simplement GENIAL !
Very clever, bright, awesome, intelligent !
Thank you very very much !
Big kiss from France

(Sorry this is the only smiley I found with a kiss )
Roseline is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 12:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Default

I bow down to a superior mind
I spent hours trying to solve this issue and in the end gave up bought a new receiver
Just shows what thinking outside the square can do
Cheers
Joe
joeb is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 03:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeb View Post
I bow down to a superior mind
I spent hours trying to solve this issue and in the end gave up bought a new receiver
Just shows what thinking outside the square can do
Cheers
Joe
Hopefully this thread will avoid others to spend more $$$ when not needed.

Maybe this should get a sticky?
locks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 12:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Thumbs up

Quote:
Maybe this should get a sticky?
+1
Roseline is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 08:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Thanks for the sticky!!
locks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 02:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 117
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

Wow great info.. Thanks...

But too late for me... and spend more $$$ for 8FG and SBUS.
and now there is a new problem:
Before I was using second transmitter to pitch the gimbal ...
Now with the sbus I cant seem to control the pitch with secondary transmitter.

the only way seems to use the traditional 7channel mode with sbus rx...
is there any other way?
__________________
--------------
700 N
sundust is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 03:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

I dont have SBUS, but from my understanding of how the Naza works, when you use the SBUS setting, all channels will pass thru the SBUS so no way to have a second RX/TX to control the SBUS....

There may be a way via the trainer port and cable if you can set the trainer TX to control the gimbal channel but not sure about it, never played with trainer cable so I dont know if the extended channel can go thru the trainer port, may be worth a try, if this can works, you'll save 1 rx on board of your craft
locks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2012, 01:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Question

Hello !

I have another question : do you think there is a way to start the timer automatically according to the channel 6 ?
Perhaps with a mix, or channel 5 which is not used now ... ?
I can't find myself ...

I always forget to switch the timer on before take off.

Thanks in advance
Roseline is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2012, 07:56 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,864
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Set the timer in relation to the throttle stick.
Once your over 10% it will start and once the stick is below
10% it will shit off.

Is that what your looking for?


__________________
Blade 450X & Blade mCPX BL
Spektrum AR7200BX
ProgressiveRC's "The Neutrino Ticket"
DesJardins is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2012, 08:08 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Thank you DesJardins,

But the throttle stick is on channel 6 now.
Unfortunatly, the timer can be set only on channels 1 to 4 or assigned to switches, with T7C.

I wondered how to do that, perhaps using a mix ...
Roseline is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2012, 08:25 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,864
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roseline View Post
Thank you DesJardins,

But the throttle stick is on channel 6 now.
Unfortunatly, the timer can be set only on channels 1 to 4 or assigned to switches, with T7C.

I wondered how to do that, perhaps using a mix ...
On the T7C... It seems as you should always be able to assign to the throttle like the 8FGs by switch selection regardless of channel. I don't have one to look at right now but will this weekend if nobody else has already assigned per a T7C


__________________
Blade 450X & Blade mCPX BL
Spektrum AR7200BX
ProgressiveRC's "The Neutrino Ticket"
DesJardins is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1