Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Gaui Helicopters > NX4


NX4 Discussion and support of the Gaui NX4 Nitro Helicopter


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ACT, Australia
Post NX4 - Wiring an external Governor to your Mini V-bar

So whilst I was helping Jeremy finish up the electronic setup of his Gaui NX4 yesterday morning, it became apparent to us that we were not immediately able to setup the governor gain with his intended wiring configuration.

We have the Mini V-bar bound using Spektrum satellites, in this configuration, RxA is not used at all, its disabled pretty much.

Using a 2x RX pack straight into the Mini (we had HV BLS servos all round), this battery took up RxC.
RxB HAD to be used for throttle, leaving us with only RxA available.

I did a bit of googling on how we could use RxA as our governor gain, and stumbled upon this website (http://www.66pacific.com/vbar_extra_channel.aspx) which explains on how to access this as an extra channel.

So, we had the heli setup and ready to fly...

1) Connect it to the V-bar software and save the ".vbr" configuration file to the PC.
2) Open notepad, and then go and open this ".vbr" file in it.
3) Do a CTRL+F for "216".
4) Change the number "1" just to the right of it to "4" (which corresponds to channel 5 for Gov / Gain / etc).
5) Save the notepad document
6) Go back to the V-bar software and re-load the modified file back into your V-bar.
7) Do a test by toggling your switch to make sure it changes your governor to "on" as you would expect it to do.
8) Take the heli out and go test it.

Now, if you're using a CCPM reg and powering your Mini V-bar via all the cyclic servos, then you don't need to do this, just use RxC as your governor and away you go. I'm sure if you're a Futaba user and you've got your neat little 6203SB on there, then you won't have to do this either because you've already got some spare channels you can use there.

I'm also not sure if the Gaui Mini V-bar requires the same tweaks for it to work, I would think it would - I'll get that confirmed later this week anyway.
__________________
Team Old Mate - He's a good bloke
timmytron is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2012, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,024
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Enfield CT
Default

HUGE thank you, for this,

I did this mod to the file and was able to hook the switch and glow up to this channel,

there is 2 other wires that might be other channels, maybe I could use another signal wire for the GOV,

does anyone know what other 2 ( VALUE Register="???" ) is the other two signals ?
__________________
Gaui X3, NX4-5, X7, NX7
Empire Hobby Team GAUI USA
Team Switch Rotor Blades
Pulse Battery Rep
u8at711 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2012, 08:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,024
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Enfield CT
Default

Just wanted to give an update with the registry mod.
got 3 flights on it today, no weirdness, everything worked including my Aux2 switch for the glow.
now to figure out how to get some more channels, I think this mini-v is a 9 channel receiver.
__________________
Gaui X3, NX4-5, X7, NX7
Empire Hobby Team GAUI USA
Team Switch Rotor Blades
Pulse Battery Rep
u8at711 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 06:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmytron View Post
I'm also not sure if the Gaui Mini V-bar requires the same tweaks for it to work, I would think it would - I'll get that confirmed later this week anyway.
Hi there I have the gaui mini vbar and i just wander how do you actually open the vbr on the notepad. And if we can also tweak the vbr config using your system
aceguintu is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 06:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ACT, Australia
Default

You open Notepad, and go File > Open... then locate the file and open it.

Not sure what you mean by the second part of your question, but yes, once you re-load the vbr file you can still adjust it in the Vbar software as normal
__________________
Team Old Mate - He's a good bloke
timmytron is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 06:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Default

After you have configured RxA am I safe to assume the you put the servo wire of the governor to this channel. Thanks bro.
aceguintu is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 09:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ACT, Australia
Default

With the Gaui Gov, the lead for headspeed control has just a single signal wire (there is no red/black wires for power). As long as you are not trying to put power through the other two pins, you should be fine.
__________________
Team Old Mate - He's a good bloke
timmytron is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 09:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,197
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmytron View Post
With the Gaui Gov, the lead for headspeed control has just a single signal wire (there is no red/black wires for power). As long as you are not trying to put power through the other two pins, you should be fine.
Also RX A is not on the power Bus so you can't put power or pull power through it.
__________________
GAUI NX7 - GAUI X7 - GAUI X5 - GAUI NX4 - GAUI GX4 - GAUI X4 II - GAUI X3 - GAUI X2 - All on VBar 5.3 Pro
Team GAUI USA / Empire Hobby / Scorpion Power Systems / Optipower Batteries / Cyclone Blades / Savox / YS Engines / VP PowerMaster / JR
Matt Nasca is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 10:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Default

At Timmytron yes I am seriously considering gaui governor. I have atg and it will only go as high as 2200 hs. the wiring for this governor the single lead goes tho the RxA ( but is it AFTER you assigned it as an aux channel fir gov gain or CAN it be used without modification or changing the vbr file in it) the other lead for the throttle would be Rxb and RxC would be for your power supply for sevos.

At Matt thanks I did find that out recently so it's all signal lead do if I had tm 1000 then just put signal lead and provide power either from the satellite ports or a y harness from one of the Rx b or c


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
aceguintu is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2015, 10:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,308
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arizona
Default

Would this work for a Vbar transmitter?
__________________
TEAM IKON
TEAM KDE DIRECT
HeliDoc25 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2015, 08:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 388
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Default

No, I emailed Rainer to see if it could be done. He advised me that this is no longer possible since 6.0. He said just go with a full sized vbar and use the vbar gov.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	566444  
__________________
Mikado USA Field Rep
SteveCH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2015, 08:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,308
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arizona
Default

im sure he would want you to use a 300 dollar full size over the mini Vbar. Reasons like this keep me away from vbar.
__________________
TEAM IKON
TEAM KDE DIRECT
HeliDoc25 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2015, 09:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 388
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Default

The mini vbar isn't designed for nitro, it can be used but has its limitations. The full size also allows you to isolate the gyro and has a port for a nitro gov. Either way V5.3 there was a mod to get a spare channel to use for a nitro gov, this option is gone with 6.0.
__________________
Mikado USA Field Rep
SteveCH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2015, 03:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,308
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arizona
Default

some how the other manufactures seem to pack all that tech into a single mini v sized unit...
__________________
TEAM IKON
TEAM KDE DIRECT
HeliDoc25 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2015, 07:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Birmingham, AL
Default

why dont you use an IKon? aren't you on team IKon...?
__________________
Gasser Mike

Team KDE Direct, TRM Power, Byron Fuels, MKS Servos
LoveToFly1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2015, 10:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,308
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoveToFly1 View Post
why dont you use an IKon? aren't you on team IKon...?
I do run all ikons. Someone who wanted to buy my Nx4 and run a miniv with the vbar controller. But someone else picked it up instead.
__________________
TEAM IKON
TEAM KDE DIRECT
HeliDoc25 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2017, 01:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Israel
Default

I have tried to do this mod with no success. I wonder if my wiring is right. I get the single yellow lead from the governor plugged to the bottom pin of RxA and the other gov connector to RxB. There are no other leads in RxA. RxC is just for the power supply, Ch1..3 are swashplate servos, RD is the tail servo. Looks like a fairly standard thing but who knows...
ihamsa is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2017, 06:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 224
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mercerville, NJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ihamsa View Post
I have tried to do this mod with no success. I wonder if my wiring is right. I get the single yellow lead from the governor plugged to the bottom pin of RxA and the other gov connector to RxB. There are no other leads in RxA. RxC is just for the power supply, Ch1..3 are swashplate servos, RD is the tail servo. Looks like a fairly standard thing but who knows...


I just use a receiver with the gaui governor and it works great. I tried to figure it out in the beginning and couldn't get it to work. I had a spare 7 channel receiver so I used it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
tommytt1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1