Disabling Transmitter Trims with AS3X ? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mSR X


mSR X Blade Micro SRX Helicopters Information and Help


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 09:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mississippi
Question Disabling Transmitter Trims with AS3X ?

I have been reading other threads and from everything I read, adjusting the transmitter trims for helis with AS3x is a BIG mistake. If that is the case, wouldn't it be a good idea if Spektrum could have a setting that would disable them (for individual heli setups) so that you could not accidentally move them and crash because you didn't realize what had happened? Or am I missing something?
ElectronDave is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2012, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,212
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Default

In fact there is an option on the DX8 to adjust the trim movement with zero being a good option for FBL helis. I know the DX6i doesn't have this feature. I don't know about the DX7.
ronj is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2012, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 363
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Collins
Default

You can indeed use trims on the MSRX, it should only be done if you are familiar with what you are trying to accomplish and understanding how the AS3X interprets them. Trim and sub-trim are actually required on many 130x's to solve a centering issue. Anyway just be careful with the rudder trim on the MSRX as using 2-3 clicks of rudder trim actually sets the gyro into a different mode of operation (HH vs. Rate) anyway it would be nice if they standardized the feature set of the AS3X!
__________________
MSRX, Nano CPx (2), 130X (5), 300X
DX8
ZX 1400
edjo69 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 12:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jake From State Mascoutah, IL USA
Default

Incorrect....using the rudder trim will disarm the AS3X (head lock gyro). About 3 clicks either way will do that. The Elevator and Aileron will have no ill effect and will function like a trim is supposed to...just never touch the rudder trim button...I had accidentally did on my DX6i and I could not control the msrx...I looked down and saw the rudder trim was 4 clicks to the left....set it back to 0 and it worked fine..
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 363
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Collins
Default

Did you read my whole post or just the first sentence?
__________________
MSRX, Nano CPx (2), 130X (5), 300X
DX8
ZX 1400
edjo69 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 09:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jake From State Mascoutah, IL USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edjo69 View Post
Did you read my whole post or just the first sentence?
Probably not...LOL!!!
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 10:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mississippi
Default

Thanks for all the replies. So far I've been careful and this has not actually been a problem, but I do like to know what I should and shouldn't do with the transmitter controls. I have not had the need to use any of the trims except on my mcx2, which, of course isn't controlled the same way anyway. On my DX7s transmitter, I don't see any way to set the trims to zero anyway. The only thing I can find is the sub trim for the servos that adjust the center point of the servo's travel.
ElectronDave is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 10:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 363
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Collins
Default

In the system set up menu (not model menu) is there a menu option called trim step? If there is (not sure I have a DX8) set the trim step to zero. That will effectively disable your trims.
__________________
MSRX, Nano CPx (2), 130X (5), 300X
DX8
ZX 1400

Last edited by edjo69; 11-10-2012 at 01:35 PM..
edjo69 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 10:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jake From State Mascoutah, IL USA
Default

Just leave the trims on the tx to 0.....you shouldn't have any problems.
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2012, 07:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 74
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southeast Pa.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectronDave View Post
On my DX7s transmitter, I don't see any way to set the trims to zero anyway.
Right on your TX start-up screen. The trim diamonds are open when zero. The diamonds are filled when not zeroed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dx7 screen.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	19.6 KB
ID:	364920  
Heli+yeah is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
as3x, trims




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1