Running built in bec of jive80hv - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 08:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default Running built in bec of jive80hv

I'm going to change my setup on my logo from running a lifepack to running the jive80hv built-in bec.
Just to be sure, all i do is re-attach the red wire in the throttle lead and add an extra cable from the slave port on the esc to a free port on my rx, right?

How are the experiences with running the built in bec? I'll be running it at default voltage, with simple digital savox servo's.

Sent from my iPad mini using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-07-2012, 09:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,373
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: FL
Default

Yes, just plug the red wire back in and use the extra servo cable on the slave port.

I used the Jive 80HV's bec on my logo 600 for many, many flights and never had any issue with it. I now have a HeliJive 120HV on my Goblin 630 and still use the BEC at 5.6V.

With Savox servos, I would definitely keep the BEC voltage at default of 5.6V since Savox, Align, and JR servos have high back EMF voltages that can cause the Jive's BEC to into protection mode and shutdown. Having a small (800mah or so) 4-cell NiMH buffer pack would be added insurance.
__________________
MSH Protos * 2, SAB 630, Logo 550SX
alexf1852 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 01:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Thanks. I've allready changed it today seems to work like a charm


Sent from my iPad mini using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ben Minor Richmond, VA
Default

The JIVE BEC is one of the most reliable pieces of electronic engineering found anywhere in eletric modeling. Run the buffer pack to cover against things like main pack or connection failure, and fly without worries.

Ben Minor
Dr.Ben is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 02:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

How does a bufferpack work again? If i remember correctly, i should just plug it into a free rx port with a switch in between rx and pack?
Allways connect main pack first, then switch on bufferpack? The bufferpack will remain charged by the main pack, right?


Sent from my iPad mini using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 09:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ben Minor Richmond, VA
Default

Yes. The main thing is to have the buffer packed charged and to keep a routine eye on it. The ESC generally keeps it topped off. You do want ever to fly with a depleted buffer pack because then ESC will try to recharge it. We want power going to the radio, not to actively trying to recover a depleted buffer pack.

Don't overthink this though. Charge the buffer pack, wire it as noted, then go fly.

Ben Minor
Dr.Ben is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2012, 02:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Thanks. I was just thinking about one thing. I tried setting up my servo's once with one of those battery holders that hold 4 aa batteries. If i moved a servo to fast, my rx browned out. How come this isn't an issue with a buffer pack? Aren't these also just 4 rechargeable aa batteries in series?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2012, 05:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,857
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Kenny, it is a question of the intention behind a buffer pack.

One may be to completely buffer the BEC in case of it fails.

But not here: The reason for a buffer pack is a different one here: The BEC may cut off for emergency reason, if the voltage exceeds a maximum by the back EMF voltages from servos. A JIVE with firmware v9 and up will cut its output for about 250ms and come back if the voltage got below the limit. This would cause brownouts in supplied equipment.
The buffer pack is only there to fill this short gap, not to make an AR on it! The pack will also help to cut voltage peaks what may already completely avoid shutoffs by the BEC monitoring in the ESC.

Read here also.

Tom
__________________
Tom (j-log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2012, 05:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

That makes perfect sense. Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 05:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

I've made the first flights with the built-in bec this weekend. Could it be the tail isn't as tight as with the lifepack? Or am i just imagining...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 12:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

I was thinking of running a scorpion backup guard in combination with the built in kontronik bec. Is that possible?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 03:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,489
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Youre better off using a nicad bufferpack the scorp backup dosent perform the function that the nicad does on the jive its not only a redundant power source it also helps with peaks and valleys from the servo consumption as DL7uae explained.
__________________
Team Kontronik
Helidirect
Magneto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 12:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,479
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Ok thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1