Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Jeti Duplex Radio Systems


Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Standalone Jeti Telemetry

I am considering using Jeti telemetry without their TX (too expensive for the moment) because I really want mAh data (stupid spektrum still do not supply it).

I assume you can use http://www.espritmodel.com/jeti-tele...rogrammer.aspx to receive the data without using a TX?

Will a Rsat2 work as telemetry TX (not in US so dont need FCC approval)?

Is there any way to use the RPM signal from a VBar enabled YGE ESC as input to the jeti system, or will I need to use their sensor?
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2013, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,226
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertstalker View Post
I am considering using Jeti telemetry without their TX (too expensive for the moment) because I really want mAh data (stupid spektrum still do not supply it).

I assume you can use http://www.espritmodel.com/jeti-tele...rogrammer.aspx to receive the data without using a TX?

Will a Rsat2 work as telemetry TX (not in US so dont need FCC approval)?

Is there any way to use the RPM signal from a VBar enabled YGE ESC as input to the jeti system, or will I need to use their sensor?
You can use a Jeti Box with all the telemetry modules. I do not know if you can use the VBar enabled YGE ESC as input. Rsat2 should also work.

Lou
__________________
Vector 550 Quad/Octo Multirotors
DJI WooKong Multirotor Controllers
Twin Bergen 44 Magnum Turbines - KERO Start FBL
www.circlecityhelis.com
lperagallo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 11:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,071
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

You will need the Jeti RPM sensor unless you are feeding the JB Profi with JLog or JLog2.

Another option is to get a Mezon ESC and a JetiBox Profi and the Mezon will send everything you'd ever want to the Profi (including rpm).
__________________
Team - "Self Interests" -
Flying what I want to, simply because I enjoy it!
Seasick78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 11:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

You can do it with a Profibox, the appropriate MUI voltage/current sensor, and a small receiver like an R5L to transmit the telemetry data to the Profibox.

If you want to see RPM on the telemetry you'll need the Jeti brushless RPM sensor or as mentioned if you switch to a Mezon ESC you won't need either the voltage/current or the RPM sensors as the Mezon already has that capability internally and will send voltage, current, mah consumed, and RPM directly the R5 receiver.

According to Esprit the next shipment of Mezon ESCs will have a built in phase sensor output for external governor use. The current Mezon ESCs will work with an external governor but you need a phase sensor.

I'm currently using a YGE160HV with a MUI200 sensor for voltage/amperage/mah telemetry but I might simplify the wiring and switch to a Mezon 135 Opto when the next batch arrives.
__________________
Minicopter Diabolo - BD Axon, Kosmik 200, Xnova XTS 4530-480, 14S 4500, BLS255HV/BLS256HV
Bergen Magnum 44 -
BD Axon, Wren MW44 turbine, BLS156HV/BLS256HV
Jeti DC-16
Kiba is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 12:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,226
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiba View Post
You can do it with a Profibox, the appropriate MUI voltage/current sensor, and a small receiver like an R5L to transmit the telemetry data to the Profibox.

If you want to see RPM on the telemetry you'll need the Jeti brushless RPM sensor or as mentioned if you switch to a Mezon ESC you won't need either the voltage/current or the RPM sensors as the Mezon already has that capability internally and will send voltage, current, mah consumed, and RPM directly the R5 receiver.

According to Esprit the next shipment of Mezon ESCs will have a built in phase sensor output for external governor use. The current Mezon ESCs will work with an external governor but you need a phase sensor.

I'm currently using a YGE160HV with a MUI200 sensor for voltage/amperage/mah telemetry but I might simplify the wiring and switch to a Mezon 135 Opto when the next batch arrives.
Kiba.

The OP is from Australia so he can use the RSAT2. Doesn't need the R5.

Lou
__________________
Vector 550 Quad/Octo Multirotors
DJI WooKong Multirotor Controllers
Twin Bergen 44 Magnum Turbines - KERO Start FBL
www.circlecityhelis.com
lperagallo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lperagallo View Post
Kiba.

The OP is from Australia so he can use the RSAT2. Doesn't need the R5.

Lou
Didn't notice that. Even more convenient for him that he gets the RSAT2, and way to rub it in for us customers in the US that don't get the RSAT2.
__________________
Minicopter Diabolo - BD Axon, Kosmik 200, Xnova XTS 4530-480, 14S 4500, BLS255HV/BLS256HV
Bergen Magnum 44 -
BD Axon, Wren MW44 turbine, BLS156HV/BLS256HV
Jeti DC-16
Kiba is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 03:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 833
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

Are these ESCs available for sale yet anywhere?
__________________
SAB Goblin 500
SAB Goblin 700
Jeti DS-16
bobloblaw is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 08:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,071
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

Expected late this month in US. You might check Hacker site in Europe. They call it the Master Mezon there.
__________________
Team - "Self Interests" -
Flying what I want to, simply because I enjoy it!
Seasick78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 08:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Do those support external governors? Do they have a RPM output for use with external governors?

I really like that about my YGEs, would be a pity to give that up to get telemetry.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 08:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,011
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertstalker View Post
Do those support external governors? Do they have a RPM output for use with external governors?

I really like that about my YGEs, would be a pity to give that up to get telemetry.
From what I understand yes the ones coming to the states will support an external gov.
BustedRaptor77 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 08:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BustedRaptor77 View Post
From what I understand yes the ones coming to the states will support an external gov.
Cool, do you know if they will have a separate lead for RPM output (like a YGE) in a format FBL systems read or will one need an external sensor?
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 08:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,011
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertstalker View Post
Cool, do you know if they will have a separate lead for RPM output (like a YGE) in a format FBL systems read or will one need an external sensor?
The new Mezon is supposed to have a built in phase sensor.
BustedRaptor77 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 09:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,011
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BustedRaptor77 View Post
The new Mezon is supposed to have a built in phase sensor.
About three minutes into this video it is called "fast response" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fERT...layer_embedded
BustedRaptor77 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 10:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BustedRaptor77 View Post
About three minutes into this video it is called "fast response" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fERT...layer_embedded
As far as i can tell from that video though, there is no extra lead for RPM output to the FBL on that model. So you would need a sensor...
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 10:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,011
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertstalker View Post
As far as i can tell from that video though, there is no extra lead for RPM output to the FBL on that model. So you would need a sensor...
Ask F1Rocket I think he made the video.
BustedRaptor77 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 11:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

All new Mezon 130 and 135 ESC will come with the RPM output lead. The one we use for the video did not have it.

Danny
F1 Rocket is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 11:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F1 Rocket View Post
All new Mezon 130 and 135 ESC will come with the RPM output lead. The one we use for the video did not have it.

Danny
What about the smaller ones?

I dont have a 700, likely will not in the near future, and get rather irritated when the cool features are only available on the top end ESC (I am looking at you kontronik )

Even the smallest Mezon is quite large.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1