Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Gryphon Electronics


Gryphon Electronics Gryphon Electronics Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2015, 05:12 AM   #41 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 334
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

I don't have one on mine and haven't noticed any issues. There is one that came installed on my ESC.
__________________
razeyoshi is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2015, 06:27 AM   #42 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 641
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Dont use it on any if mine, and never noticed a problem :-)
RasmusDK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2015, 03:51 PM   #43 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: DC
Default

Quick question:

Does anyone know if this BEC can be powered by a 2S Lipo?

I see from its spec sheet the input voltage is 11v-44v. So 3s battery is listed as minimum.

I would like to run it off a 2500mah 2S lipo and regulate down to 6v. Anyone know if this is possible or have a similar setup? thanks.
__________________
Oxy5 Meg / 12S
Goblin 770C / 14S
OXY rep
DCflyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2015, 04:37 PM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 334
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Input voltage is 11-75 volts, 3 to 18 cell lipo. Capable of running off your flight packs (for electric) so no extra battery needed. If you have a nitro and want to run a 2s lipo I've never heard of anybody trying that. (GSR-7075-LMT)
__________________
razeyoshi is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2015, 03:43 PM   #45 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: DC
Default

I guess what i'm trying to figure out is, will this BEC run and regulate off a 2S lipo. Or will it not even turn on, given that its listed input voltage is 11.1v?

Do you have one of these BEC's maybe? Would you mind hooking up a 2S lipo to it and seeing what happens? I wouldn't think anything bad would occur from that.
__________________
Oxy5 Meg / 12S
Goblin 770C / 14S
OXY rep
DCflyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2015, 05:09 PM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 334
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Even if it were to power on, there would be no guarantee that it would operate properly during flight. I could hook up a 2S to it to see if it powers on but I would much rather you invested in a 3S lipo for $20 bucks. There is nothing you can do if the BEC decides to shut itself off during flight. A scorpion guard perhaps, but it's only a failsafe to give you enough juice to land if you should notice somethings not right.

Edit: I'm pretty sure they make a voltage regulator for running off a 2S lipo, you should look into that before trying to run this BEC off of a 2S...
__________________
razeyoshi is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2015, 05:15 PM   #47 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 334
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Yup, they sure do.

http://www.experiencerc.com/store/pr...oducts_id=9725
__________________
razeyoshi is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2015, 06:37 PM   #48 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: DC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razeyoshi View Post
Even if it were to power on, there would be no guarantee that it would operate properly during flight. I could hook up a 2S to it to see if it powers on but I would much rather you invested in a 3S lipo for $20 bucks. There is nothing you can do if the BEC decides to shut itself off during flight. A scorpion guard perhaps, but it's only a failsafe to give you enough juice to land if you should notice somethings not right.

Edit: I'm pretty sure they make a voltage regulator for running off a 2S lipo, you should look into that before trying to run this BEC off of a 2S...
Yea, I suppose you're right. I was trying to fit a square peg in a round hole, but I might as well do it right if i'm going to do it at all. Thanks for your input and advice. I will have to weigh my options on which direction I want to go from here with it.
__________________
Oxy5 Meg / 12S
Goblin 770C / 14S
OXY rep
DCflyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2016, 11:55 AM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

Looks like a lot of failures here, am i better off using a life battery skipping on a regulator to power my heli ?
spinzer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2016, 06:15 PM   #50 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,425
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

I have been running straight from a 2S since Gryphon broke last year.
dgunawan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2016, 03:22 AM   #51 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

the 7075 manual saysn Connect a compatible switch (GSB-1010x or GSB-1030x) if you are using one on the “switch” connector. Do not use these Switches / Low voltage Board on other equipment than genuine GRYPHON products

Do i have to use a switch, my gryphon does not have one, can i use any switch or can i leave out the switch ?
spinzer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2016, 11:15 AM   #52 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 822
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default

Don't need a switch for start-up. Just make sure you have the proper TH
and/or TC set-up on you your radio. I also, have been running mine with a Optiguard backup. set at 7.4 volts.I am still on the fence in regards to straight 2S battery but do use one on my 600EFL Pro
__________________
Mikado 550SEV-2 w/Brain2, and XL Power 380 w/ Mini Brain2 controlled by Futaba 18SZH
BigEddie is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2016, 03:54 AM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

Sorry for my lack of insight on this, i have never used an external bec before, could you explain a bit more perhaps:
"Don't need a switch for start-up. Just make sure you have the proper TH
and/or TC set-up on you your radio"

throttle hold throttle curve ? how do i need to set it up ?.
spinzer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1