Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Evolution (formerly ALeeS)



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default So I just programmed my Jive 120+

I set Heli Mode 4 and I went to Mode 7 to reverse the motor rotation. Is that the mode you guys are using with a VBAR or are you using 8 and letting the VBAR do the governor?

I also notice that they are calling for us to use the second (Slave) BEC channel to allow additional copper for servo currents above 2A. Second ring and the whole works. You guys doing that? I wish I would have read that prior to doing the rest of my wiring.

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-22-2013, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,616
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

I haven't set my Jive up yet, but I am not using the internal BEC. I am using a 2S pack and Scorpion BUG.
__________________
Bryan AMA# 982814
"No-Neck R/C"
backburner1955 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2013, 10:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by backburner1955 View Post
I haven't set my Jive up yet, but I am not using the internal BEC. I am using a 2S pack and Scorpion BUG.
OK. I'm using the Jive and a bug.

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2013, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,739
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Default

Rick, mode 4 over here, 2200 RPM and LOVING IT!!!!
__________________
Rush 700 * Trex 700N x 2 * Trex 600Pro * Goblin 570 * 450L Dominator - V-Bar on all
AMA #934662
caralmar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 08:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caralmar View Post
Rick, mode 4 over here, 2200 RPM and LOVING IT!!!!
Cool, thanks. Did you use the second Slave BEC wire?

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 665
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Rick, you can just plug the slave BEC wire into the V-Bar for a little power redundancy.
__________________


onlyfinehelis.com
mmickels is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,739
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlohr View Post
Cool, thanks. Did you use the second Slave BEC wire?

Rick
I don't use the built-in BEC at all. I removed the red pin from the throttle lead and just use my WR BEC and the Scorpion Backup guard.
__________________
Rush 700 * Trex 700N x 2 * Trex 600Pro * Goblin 570 * 450L Dominator - V-Bar on all
AMA #934662
caralmar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 09:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmickels View Post
Rick, you can just plug the slave BEC wire into the V-Bar for a little power redundancy.
Yep, that's what I am planning. I was just wondering if anyone else was doing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by caralmar View Post
I don't use the built-in BEC at all. I removed the red pin from the throttle lead and just use my WR BEC and the Scorpion Backup guard.
OK, thanks.

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 09:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,616
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

Sorry, to answer your question, Yes, they suggest that you use a slave cable for redundancy and added current support for the BEC. I was going to use teh BEC, and originally I had both master and slave cables on my ESC, but now that I am running a 2S and BUG, there are 3 points of power on my FBL controller. (1) from the BUG and (2) from the LiPo using this...

__________________
Bryan AMA# 982814
"No-Neck R/C"
backburner1955 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 11:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by backburner1955 View Post
Sorry, to answer your question, Yes, they suggest that you use a slave cable for redundancy and added current support for the BEC. I was going to use teh BEC, and originally I had both master and slave cables on my ESC, but now that I am running a 2S and BUG, there are 3 points of power on my FBL controller. (1) from the BUG and (2) from the LiPo using this...

OK, thanks. That makes sense. Regardless of the source, to get current above 2A, it makes sense to use more cables to get more copper into the equation. Thanks much!

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 01:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 959
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

I use something similar that I made up myself. It provides power into 4 of my free Vbar servo connections. Wanted to be on the safe side with my HV servos

Down in the bottom right corner...
__________________
Jacob
Rush 700, Synergy N5c tt, MA Fury 55, Trex 450 pro, Blade 130X

Last edited by rdlohr; 02-25-2013 at 06:05 AM..
jmdanna is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 02:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,963
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Default So I just programmed my Jive 120+

The lightest setup you can use is the internal BEC with a small 800 mAh 4.8V Eneloop buffer pack. I've been using it for hundreds of flights. The pack is 1/2 the weight of the Scorp BUG, and you save the 80g of an external BEC.

Yes, use the slave cable. If you are using a miniV and sBus, you can plug it into the RX if you have to. I always remove the rings. On my last build I got different shorter heavier gauge male-male cables instead of using the Kontronik ones... works awesome as always. The copper isn't the weak/resistive point... it's the plugs. Doubling up cuts the plug resistance in half. A single plug will MELT at 4 amps continuous.

JIVE is a bulletproof setup, and the buffer pack decreases the BEC current spikes significantly (per JLog readings) so the Kon BEC lives a very easy life. Plus... you never have to charge the buffer.

I don't get why someone would spend the extra $$$ for a JIVE and not use the BEC, but then again I don't get the HV servo craze either. Convenient on a nitro where you must have a RX pack, but performance/feel differences seem negligible. I'll only go HV when I'm forced to.
__________________
1 - Diabolo 1 stuffed with, well, see below
2 - Diabolo 2 stuffed with testosterone, jittery sweat, and rippling flanks
OverTemp is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 06:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,739
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverTemp View Post
The lightest setup you can use is the internal BEC with a small 800 mAh 4.8V Eneloop buffer pack. I've been using it for hundreds of flights. The pack is 1/2 the weight of the Scorp BUG, and you save the 80g of an external BEC.

Yes, use the slave cable. If you are using a miniV and sBus, you can plug it into the RX if you have to. I always remove the rings. On my last build I got different shorter heavier gauge male-male cables instead of using the Kontronik ones... works awesome as always. The copper isn't the weak/resistive point... it's the plugs. Doubling up cuts the plug resistance in half. A single plug will MELT at 4 amps continuous.

JIVE is a bulletproof setup, and the buffer pack decreases the BEC current spikes significantly (per JLog readings) so the Kon BEC lives a very easy life. Plus... you never have to charge the buffer.

I don't get why someone would spend the extra $$$ for a JIVE and not use the BEC, but then again I don't get the HV servo craze either. Convenient on a nitro where you must have a RX pack, but performance/feel differences seem negligible. I'll only go HV when I'm forced to.
I asked two buddies who fly Kontroniks about this and both advised me that they had shutdowns when using the internal BEC. I like being able to power up my electronics without having any power to the ESC so I can work on the heli while on the bench and not feel like an accident could ruin my day.

For these reasons, I choose to use a BEC and a backup guard. The backup guard is tiny and weighs next to nothing... weight isn't an issue on such a powerful beast of a heli.
__________________
Rush 700 * Trex 700N x 2 * Trex 600Pro * Goblin 570 * 450L Dominator - V-Bar on all
AMA #934662
caralmar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 07:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caralmar View Post
I asked two buddies who fly Kontroniks about this and both advised me that they had shutdowns when using the internal BEC. I like being able to power up my electronics without having any power to the ESC so I can work on the heli while on the bench and not feel like an accident could ruin my day.

For these reasons, I choose to use a BEC and a backup guard. The backup guard is tiny and weighs next to nothing... weight isn't an issue on such a powerful beast of a heli.
Theoretically, there is no reason for an internal BEC to be any less dependable than an external BEC assuming it is a quality design. That's why I have often paid the premium to get Kontronics ESCs. I've run a lot of hours on Kony BECs and never had a problem. Is this unique to the 120+? I have no experience on this BEC.
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 07:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,739
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Default

They both run the 120+. Once I heard "shutdown" I ran the other way!
__________________
Rush 700 * Trex 700N x 2 * Trex 600Pro * Goblin 570 * 450L Dominator - V-Bar on all
AMA #934662
caralmar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 07:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caralmar View Post
They both run the 120+. Once I heard "shutdown" I ran the other way!
OK. Did they use the extra slave cable?
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 07:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,739
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlohr View Post
OK. Did they use the extra slave cable?
I don't know. I'll ask one of them tomorrow when I see him at the field.
__________________
Rush 700 * Trex 700N x 2 * Trex 600Pro * Goblin 570 * 450L Dominator - V-Bar on all
AMA #934662
caralmar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 07:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Thanks Carlos. This is the first time I ever heard of a Kony BEC having problems. Good thing I have the BUG.

Rick
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 11:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,963
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Default So I just programmed my Jive 120+

Quote:
Originally Posted by caralmar View Post
They both run the 120+. Once I heard "shutdown" I ran the other way!
Ask them what model number of servos they were using. There were certain servos (JR I think) that had some feedback/back EMF issues that were causing the JIVE to shut down.

I insist on Futaba brushless servos for their long life and very low current draw and have never had a problem
__________________
1 - Diabolo 1 stuffed with, well, see below
2 - Diabolo 2 stuffed with testosterone, jittery sweat, and rippling flanks
OverTemp is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2013, 09:45 AM   #20 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 29,516
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverTemp View Post
Ask them what model number of servos they were using. There were certain servos (JR I think) that had some feedback/back EMF issues that were causing the JIVE to shut down.

I insist on Futaba brushless servos for their long life and very low current draw and have never had a problem
Great I have JR 8717s.
__________________
Helifreak, the place to be!
Oxy5 w/Brain2, Rush 750 w/VBAR,Logo 400SE, 600SE w/NEOs, TREX 450SE, 500, 600, Blade mCPX,130X, 180CFX, Nano QX, Convergence VTOL, MiniProtos w/BD3SX
My products, used by top pilots worldwide, like you! http://rdlohr.com
rdlohr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1