Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Other R/C Flight Simulators


Other R/C Flight Simulators Other R/C Flight Simulators


Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2008, 05:29 PM   #201 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

For my Spektrum DX7 - i bought the WL1000 FS One Wireless Sim Interface ...Anyone knows.....
Does this interface run with any other software rather than FS One?
Like Phoenix?
I'd really like to use my DX7 with the sim; I really don't want to use FS One.
THanks!
bondmiami is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2008, 05:41 PM   #202 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Any suggestion brand model servos for t rex 600 nitro?
thanks!
bondmiami is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2008, 06:30 PM   #203 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 434
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

I picked up a USB off of E Bay and am uusing my DX7 on this sim works great.
rcmiket is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2008, 07:47 PM   #204 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Thanks! do you have the item code to buy or the links of the USB adapter?
Regards
bondmiami is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2008, 07:56 PM   #205 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 434
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/Flight-Simulator...QQcmdZViewItem
rcmiket is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 01:31 AM   #206 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Ken-

i used HeliSim to get ready for my first flips, loops, rolls, and inverted flying. i've found it to be extremely helpful, and after having now done 100+ such maneuvers with my trex, believe HeliSim to be pretty accurate.

the one piece of advice i'd give you(goes for any sim), is to force yourself to fly the sim a lot. fly it till you can't stand it, and then keep flying till you absolutely hate it. then you might be ready.
apcopresta is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 06:06 PM   #207 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmiket View Post
What are you running it on? Windows XP? Vista?
Thanks!
jwilliam is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 06:39 PM   #208 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 434
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

Windows. I started out fooling around with the trainer cord in the line in and got frustrated. The USB cable is so much easier.
rcmiket is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 08:06 PM   #209 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmiket View Post
Windows. I started out fooling around with the trainer cord in the line in and got frustrated. The USB cable is so much easier.
Windows what? There are lots of versions of Windows.
98, Me, 2000, XP, Vista.

And yes I agree the USB is easier than the audio setup, but audio doesn't seem to work on Vista either, or is unstable.
jwilliam is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 10:02 PM   #210 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Does anyone using the DX7, 1/8" speaker cable, and SmartPropoPlus have problems with negative pitch? When using the built in throttle/pitch curves, and setting up mapping, I can see that the collective travels from 0 to 100% with full deflection -- so I know that it is seeing the full stick movement. However, when actually flying, the heli will not hold inverted. Once inverted and full negative collective (with 100% throttle), the heli slowly decends to the ground.

Positive pitch works fine as I take off and hover just above half throttle/collective stick.
Other than that, everything matches my real Trex 450SA.

Thanks,

Ken
kenkos68 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 10:28 PM   #211 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkos68 View Post
Does anyone using the DX7, 1/8" speaker cable, and SmartPropoPlus have problems with negative pitch? When using the built in throttle/pitch curves, and setting up mapping, I can see that the collective travels from 0 to 100% with full deflection -- so I know that it is seeing the full stick movement. However, when actually flying, the heli will not hold inverted. Once inverted and full negative collective (with 100% throttle), the heli slowly decends to the ground.

Positive pitch works fine as I take off and hover just above half throttle/collective stick.
Other than that, everything matches my real Trex 450SA.

Thanks,

Ken
Are you turning on the "Idle Up"?
Left ctrl key on keyboard or mapped with Joystick mapping in the bottom left.
Also you should see a red dot in the top left corner of the screen when it is turned on.
Jerry

Last edited by jwilliam; 01-16-2008 at 10:29 PM.. Reason: add comment about dot on screen
jwilliam is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 05:27 AM   #212 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilliam View Post
Are you turning on the "Idle Up"?
Left ctrl key on keyboard or mapped with Joystick mapping in the bottom left.
Also you should see a red dot in the top left corner of the screen when it is turned on.
Jerry
Yes I am. The red dot is cleared after I hit "I" on the keyboard. I tried with and without and it doesn't seem to make a difference -- inverted holds for a second then a slow descent.

My built in Normal TC is 0-40-75-85-95 , PC is 30-40-50-70-100
My built in Idle TC is 95-85-75-85-95, PC is 0-30-50-70-100

The curves above mirror my DX7 setup on the real Trex.

Ken
kenkos68 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 07:43 AM   #213 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,230
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Ken,
Are you using the simulators throttle/pitch curves? Or the Tx's. If you're using the Tx's you have to calibrate the joystick with linear full range curves, so it can identify center/full travel.. then go to regular curves... If you're using the simulators curves, you have to be sure the tx is set up with a linear curve that covers full range for sim operation. And, the left red dot should be ON. Once you get it set up right, it will achieve a full pitch range, so keep at it.
__________________
Mark
Logo 600se, Scorpion 5020-450, mini-V, Jive 80HV
Trex 600 ESP FBL, Scorpion 4025-740, cgy750, CC85HV
Trex 450 Vx FBL, Scorpion 2221-10, RJX head, mini-V, Ice 50
markb is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 09:05 AM   #214 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markb View Post
Ken,
Are you using the simulators throttle/pitch curves? Or the Tx's. If you're using the Tx's you have to calibrate the joystick with linear full range curves, so it can identify center/full travel.. then go to regular curves... If you're using the simulators curves, you have to be sure the tx is set up with a linear curve that covers full range for sim operation. And, the left red dot should be ON. Once you get it set up right, it will achieve a full pitch range, so keep at it.
Hi Mark,

I think I know what I did. I am using the simulator curves. I calibrated the transmitter using my Normal curve. Doing so, collective doesn't go all the way to 0 with the stick in full down position. When I get home tonight, I will set the sim curves to 0-25-50-75-100 and then recalibrate. Then I will go back and set them back to my real pitch and throttle curves.

On my TX, I have a model set up specifically for the sim, and it is in Acro mode, not heli mode. I let the sim do all the "mixing".

I'll let you know later if it all works.

Thanks!
__________________
Ken
Trex 450SE2 - Pro Head, Nano CPX BL Mild
kenkos68 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 11:15 AM   #215 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 434
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

"Windows what? There are lots of versions of Windows.
98, Me, 2000, XP, Vista."
Sorry, XP
rcmiket is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 11:41 AM   #216 (permalink)
 

Join Date: May 2007
Default

I use the FS one WL1000 spektrum adapter and my DX6 with helisim, works great.
The FS One TacCon controller also works great.
tomfn is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 11:42 AM   #217 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,230
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkos68 View Post
On my TX, I have a model set up specifically for the sim, and it is in Acro mode, not heli mode. I let the sim do all the "mixing".
When using the simulator curves, it only takes in ONE channel for the left stick position. Set up your TX with a 0 25 50 75 100 throttle curve, and pitch curve. Then when you map channels select either one to drive both throttle and pitch in the sim. Dont put them back to regular curves after calibration... leave em linear from 0 to 100.
__________________
Mark
Logo 600se, Scorpion 5020-450, mini-V, Jive 80HV
Trex 600 ESP FBL, Scorpion 4025-740, cgy750, CC85HV
Trex 450 Vx FBL, Scorpion 2221-10, RJX head, mini-V, Ice 50
markb is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 05:50 PM   #218 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markb View Post
When using the simulator curves, it only takes in ONE channel for the left stick position. Set up your TX with a 0 25 50 75 100 throttle curve, and pitch curve. Then when you map channels select either one to drive both throttle and pitch in the sim. Dont put them back to regular curves after calibration... leave em linear from 0 to 100.

SUCCESS!!! Thanks Mark! I have full negative pitch now! Now I just have to learn to keep it there

One thing I noticed..and it may just be my real heli. In the sim, after hard 90 degree banked turns and pulling back cyclic to bring the heli around...I have to push in more forward to keep it moving forward than I do with the real heli. Basically I do a hard 90 degree or 180 degree turn and then stop. Since my Trex is my first heli, I am not sure if it is a trim problem and I really don't know how it is supposed to react. On my real heli, once forward flight is started, I have a hard time holding it back and I am zooming around the field in fast circuits. After hard turns, I only lose a small amount of forward speed. However when hovering, it hovers hands off cyclic and the only movement I get from a stationary point is a slight side drift. Everything is set up per Finless and I have +/- 10 degrees on collective and about 7 degrees on cyclic all around.

Anyway, thanks for a great sim!
__________________
Ken
Trex 450SE2 - Pro Head, Nano CPX BL Mild
kenkos68 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2008, 08:53 AM   #219 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,230
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Ken,
I tend to agree with the loss of momentum. For me, its in rolls. I'm flying mine now with the "Aerodynamic Drag" along the helis axis (labeled "forward/aft") set to 0.3 on the model parameters. It helps a lot, and I recommend trying it for anyone else flying the sim. The down side is, it tends to do what you describe your real one doing... racing around in circuits at warp speed. Which is also something I get into at the field!
__________________
Mark
Logo 600se, Scorpion 5020-450, mini-V, Jive 80HV
Trex 600 ESP FBL, Scorpion 4025-740, cgy750, CC85HV
Trex 450 Vx FBL, Scorpion 2221-10, RJX head, mini-V, Ice 50
markb is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2008, 02:51 PM   #220 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

SUPER JOB!
I have a number of sims - this one is the only one that feels very close to my T-Rex! Well done!
albireo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1