Throttle hold unreliable on the Nano CP X? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > nano CP X


nano CP X Blade nano CP X Helicopters Information and Help


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2013, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Angry Throttle hold unreliable on the Nano CP X?

Hi,

So i had some bad crashes today that were made about 11ty times worse by the throttle hold failing to engage. What usually happens is i see the nano is heading for a tree, or the ground and I hit throttle hold. But instead of the motor cutting out, the motor continues to run and sends the heli full force into the ground. It then flips around on the ground for a few seconds before finally cutting out, probably doing even more damage in the process.

I've read somewhere that lvc might have something to do with this behavior, but it's been happening to me at the beginning of flights as well as the end, and with about a dozen different batteries that were bought at different times.

I've also noticed this behavior with the original msr back in the day. Looks like it's a horizon hobby problem that spans all HH products?

heliface is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2013, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,704
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Default

Are you using the stock transmitter? I've heard the TH is pretty dodgy on that.

LVC, once it's started, ignores the throttle channel and just slowly ramps down the power. If you don't manage to land nicely during that, it's going to chicken dance and there's nothing you can do about it. Except for set a timer and never let it get to LVC, it's bad for the batteries anyways to let them get that low.
__________________
- Benton Jackson, Maple Grove MN
Roswell Flyer (retired), Concept EP (retired), Eco 8 (retired), WLToys V929 & V202, Nano CPx, Nano CPx mild BL, Nano QX, mCX2, 130x
GoatRider is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2013, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,755
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Madison, WI
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoatRider View Post
Are you using the stock transmitter? I've heard the TH is pretty dodgy on that.

LVC, once it's started, ignores the throttle channel and just slowly ramps down the power. If you don't manage to land nicely during that, it's going to chicken dance and there's nothing you can do about it. Except for set a timer and never let it get to LVC, it's bad for the batteries anyways to let them get that low.
+1
__________________
My aerial photos are at pixeltim.com

Phantom 2 Vision and assorted other egg-beaters.
pixeltim is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2013, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,647
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Clearwater, Idaho
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoatRider View Post
Are you using the stock transmitter? I've heard the TH is pretty dodgy on that.

LVC, once it's started, ignores the throttle channel and just slowly ramps down the power. If you don't manage to land nicely during that, it's going to chicken dance and there's nothing you can do about it. Except for set a timer and never let it get to LVC, it's bad for the batteries anyways to let them get that low.
Another +1 to the above. And if you have other than the stock transmitter (ie, dx6i, dx7, etc), I'd check my throttle hold settings first, and if all is well, try a rebind.
__________________
MARTY
Team Newb pilot
Trex 500 fbl -Tarot 450 Pro fbl- 300X - 130X X3- mCPX brushless X3-Nano cPX X 2- Nano QX
65L88 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 12:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,725
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vallejo , CA
Default

Omg I started out with the DX4e and the throttle hold is a joke on that!

The amount of parts you will replace due to the th not working will justify a DX6i
__________________
Team MSH USA - Cyclone Blades
MSH Prtos 380 Brain 2
MSH Prtos Max V2 Brain
vtown nick is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 03:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtown nick View Post
Omg I started out with the DX4e and the throttle hold is a joke on that!

The amount of parts you will replace due to the th not working will justify a DX6i
I am indeed using the stock tx. So you've experienced similiar behavior where pushing the th button seems to have no effect?
heliface is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 06:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,462
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wylie, TX USA
Default

As I recall, TH doesn't take effect until the button is released on the dx4e. I had a very hard time remembering to release the button in the panic of the impending crash. Pushing it was no problem. The dx6i is much better and really helped my flying.

George
gstoneberg is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 08:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,725
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vallejo , CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heliface View Post
I am indeed using the stock tx. So you've experienced similiar behavior where pushing the th button seems to have no effect?
Correct, even when I would press and release most of the time it wouldn't work. This tx doesn't have any expo either so when you do flips its all over the place. It's truly night and day a different heli with a computer tx. Plus you can set a timer so you don't kill your lipos
__________________
Team MSH USA - Cyclone Blades
MSH Prtos 380 Brain 2
MSH Prtos Max V2 Brain
vtown nick is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 10:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,704
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtown nick View Post
This tx doesn't have any expo either so when you do flips its all over the place.
Actually the DX4e has a mode where you can give it a fixed amount of expo, 25% I think. The directions aren't in the DX4e manual though, they're hidden in the HyperTaxi manual, on page 10:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/pdf/EFLU4780-Manual-EN.pdf
__________________
- Benton Jackson, Maple Grove MN
Roswell Flyer (retired), Concept EP (retired), Eco 8 (retired), WLToys V929 & V202, Nano CPx, Nano CPx mild BL, Nano QX, mCX2, 130x
GoatRider is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 02:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,725
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vallejo , CA
Default

Nice find!
__________________
Team MSH USA - Cyclone Blades
MSH Prtos 380 Brain 2
MSH Prtos Max V2 Brain
vtown nick is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2013, 01:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Madisonville, KY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoatRider View Post
Actually the DX4e has a mode where you can give it a fixed amount of expo, 25% I think. The directions aren't in the DX4e manual though, they're hidden in the HyperTaxi manual, on page 10:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/pdf/EFLU4780-Manual-EN.pdf
I've never used that radio but adding but not describing a crucial feature of a radio is just plain wrong...... Lol
__________________
seth1846 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2013, 07:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mankato, MN
Default

It may not be the TX at all, on my first Nano CPx the main board went bad after only a few flights and had it replaced. After about 2-3 minutes of flight it was still have power but just fall to the ground and main blades would still be going even with TH engaged. Might want to see if the board on yours is bad....
Fragtastic Reef is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1