Promodeler servos - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 06:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Promodeler servos

Anyone used these and have reviews? They look fairly good.
jake21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-03-2013, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,558
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jake21 View Post
Anyone used these and have reviews? They look fairly good.
These are not just relabels of someone else's servos FYI.

https://www.helifreak.com/showpost.p...4&postcount=12

The electronics are made in Taiwan, the gears and bearings made in Japan, plastic case parts are made in South Korea, CNC case parts are made in the USA and the assembly of the parts is also done in the USA.
Atomic Skull is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2013, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,804
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle Area, East Side
Default Promodeler servos

jbeech, the owner of Audacity models will be more than happy to answer your questions if you PM him.
__________________
CopterX 450 Black Angel FBL "Night Rig" | ZYX v4.0
PRTOS 500 FBL "Sky Whip" | Robird G31
Audacity P6 FBL "Phoenix" | MSH Brain | 12s
Goblin Speed | iKon
Dr. M is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2014, 12:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 622
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cullman, Al
Default

Im really looking into these servos but I'm waiting on real world reviews. If anyone is using these could you please post here thanks.
__________________
Compass Atom, TDR -Dx8 / Losi Scte -Mt4
Wait, you said HobbyKing...
JWILL is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2014, 12:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 746
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vista/Oceanside, CA
Default

I should be able to maiden the 550E on saturday with the red Promodeler HV servos. However, I will probably be running them at 6V because having a BLS251 for a tail servo (with step down).
__________________
Team FlybarLESS

Trex 550e FL Microbeast V3
xrayray is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2014, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United States
Default

I have the coreless version in my Assault 700 running directly off a 2s battery. About 15 flights so far with zero problems. Build quality is nice, performance is good, and you can't beat the price.
metallica944 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2014, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,243
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

Unless the price really jumps on the next shipment I'll in all probability get a set.

If no one uses them they can't get the name out....

I'll put them on a 6hv that owes me nothing right now. If it pile drives itself in it saves me the aggravation of figuring out what to do with it.
__________________
Rob
Team pilot Lynx Heli Innovations.
Jeti DS-16, Oxy 3, Goblin 380, 500, 630, and 700 competition, Airwolf 600 scale heli, Brain/Ikon 2, Spartan VX1e, Sk 720, YGE and Hobbywing.
Shogun71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2014, 01:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I have 8 of these in 2 helis but there is still 10 ft of snow here. Will let You know in a couple of months.
jake21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2014, 06:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,501
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SOCAL
Default

I've got 4 going in a 6hvu.
kpod is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2014, 08:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,558
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shogun71 View Post
Unless the price really jumps on the next shipment I'll in all probability get a set.

If no one uses them they can't get the name out....

I'll put them on a 6hv that owes me nothing right now. If it pile drives itself in it saves me the aggravation of figuring out what to do with it.
I don't think they're going to jack up the price.
Atomic Skull is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2014, 09:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,617
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dover NH USA
Default

Over on Flying Giants there are a number of guys using them in big planes. I haven't read anything negative yet. I'll pick up a set next time I need servos.
__________________
-----------------------------
#0168
Eury is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2014, 10:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 746
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vista/Oceanside, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jake21 View Post
I have 8 of these in 2 helis but there is still 10 ft of snow here. Will let You know in a couple of months.
oh man that sucks sorry to hear. Im over here complaining over a few days

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpod View Post
I've got 4 going in a 6hvu.
nice hopefully you get a good flight in on them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Skull View Post
I don't think they're going to jack up the price.
Good to hear because I might try and get the brushless one for my tail so I can just run everything off a 2s lipo. As of right now I have to use the BLS251.
__________________
Team FlybarLESS

Trex 550e FL Microbeast V3
xrayray is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2014, 11:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 746
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vista/Oceanside, CA
Default

I finally got a chance to fly the 550e with the 140oz hv servos i think they worked great and guys at the field liked them too. I am currently using a 2s lipo with these servos.
__________________
Team FlybarLESS

Trex 550e FL Microbeast V3
xrayray is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2014, 12:11 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,501
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayray View Post
I finally got a chance to fly the 550e with the 140oz hv servos i think they worked great and guys at the field liked them too. I am currently using a 2s lipo with these servos.
I'm using the 140oz as well with a 2s lipo. What size lipo are you using and how many flights do you get on it? I'm trying to stay light so I got a 1300 may but I keep seeing that people are using 2200 2s batteries.
kpod is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2014, 11:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 746
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vista/Oceanside, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpod View Post
I'm using the 140oz as well with a 2s lipo. What size lipo are you using and how many flights do you get on it? I'm trying to stay light so I got a 1300 may but I keep seeing that people are using 2200 2s batteries.
Im using a 2s Eflite 1300 mah 20c. I flew 3 flights and it was still like 4.12 per cell.
__________________
Team FlybarLESS

Trex 550e FL Microbeast V3
xrayray is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 05:53 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,097
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ATX
Default Re: Promodeler servos

I have the brushless version running 2s on my 800. Great servos, seem pretty easy on power consumption too.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
B450x, Chase360, Warp360, mini Protos stretched, Protos 500 stretched, NX4 gasser, Goblin 500 x 2, Century E640 stretched, MD7 and MD8.
distructor is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2014, 02:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Moscow, Russian Federation
Default

Hmm... Coreless servos seem to disappear from ProModeler product list.
Vovets is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2014, 04:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,558
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vovets View Post
Hmm... Coreless servos seem to disappear from ProModeler product list.
They stopped making the coreless ones because most people were either buying the ferrite core or brushless version and the coreless wasn't selling much. The coreless was the best price vs performance but most people want either the cheapest or the best.
Atomic Skull is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2014, 05:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,501
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SOCAL
Default

Yes I know. I was trying to get the coreless ones and John told me the same thing. I now have 1 set of the inexpensive in the 6hvu and 1 set of the performance brushless servos going in a 600sx.
__________________
Kory
130S, Oxy Qube Carbon, Protos 380 Evo, 250 FPV Coyote Chaser - All on Frsky Taranis Plus w/ multi module & m9 gimbals
kpod is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2014, 06:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ridgecrest, Ca.
Default

I have a set of the 245oz all metal cased ones on my new Srimok build. Not much flight time on them yet but function well. Running them on 2s. Also have a coreless tail servo on my Voodoo 400 and am completely happy with its performance. The construction is first rate. They are also completely silent. Hard to believe for $80 (the 245oz ones). All of my future builds will have these.
jiminator is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1