Now can repaint scenery too,.... - Page 4 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2008, 06:40 PM   #61 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,610
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dorset, England
Default

As soon as I get some improved source photos for my club field scenery I will post the v3 version on here, right now its still fairly ropey



__________________
Outrage G5 Skookum Flybarless
T-Rex 500esp V-Bar flybarless
Outrage 550 - T-Rex 600 Nitro Pro
DMHC

frogbmth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2008, 07:12 PM   #62 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

How did you take the photos and how did you get them to line up ?
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2008, 10:17 AM   #63 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,610
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dorset, England
Default

A little crude, I just put my camera and a decent tripod and panned round, then aligned the pics with Ulead Cool 360 plus a little help from photoshop.

Andy
__________________
Outrage G5 Skookum Flybarless
T-Rex 500esp V-Bar flybarless
Outrage 550 - T-Rex 600 Nitro Pro
DMHC

frogbmth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2008, 11:25 AM   #64 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

What resolution was each of the 6 images ??
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2008, 11:52 AM   #65 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,610
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dorset, England
Default

I made the 360x180 pano at 8160 x 4080 and converted this with Pano2QTVR to tiles 2048x2048.

The source photos were the main issue, only taken with a 3mp powershot digital camera, about 40 photos in all.
__________________
Outrage G5 Skookum Flybarless
T-Rex 500esp V-Bar flybarless
Outrage 550 - T-Rex 600 Nitro Pro
DMHC

frogbmth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2008, 11:56 AM   #66 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

WOW sounds like alot of work, but it is probably easier to get a alot of smaller photos to line up then a few larger ones.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2008, 12:11 PM   #67 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,610
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dorset, England
Default

Yep indeed was quite a task, but thanks to the guide in this thread I worked it out. Also a problem was that my camera's auto exposure mode meant I had to adjust the balance of each photo to try and get them all the same in the pano.

Another member of my club has a great digital camera and I'm hoping to convince him to do me a load of high res shots to make a real good version. Now I have done it a couple of times, it feels like an easier process.

Andy
__________________
Outrage G5 Skookum Flybarless
T-Rex 500esp V-Bar flybarless
Outrage 550 - T-Rex 600 Nitro Pro
DMHC

frogbmth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2008, 12:37 PM   #68 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 867
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: uk Isle of wight
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frogbmth View Post
I made the 360x180 pano at 8160 x 4080 and converted this with Pano2QTVR to tiles 2048x2048.

The source photos were the main issue, only taken with a 3mp powershot digital camera, about 40 photos in all.
This might be a better way of doing it...not that I have tryed it my self but the results look good

http://wiki.panotools.org/ChristmasB...all_reflection
dna001 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2008, 08:05 AM   #69 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 225
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medan INDONESIA
Default

ttt
devindh is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2008, 10:39 PM   #70 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

hey guys, I dont mean to beat a dead horse but I dont have a "Scenery" folder or anything like that to load the awsome .zip files into...all I have is
Downloaded updates
Recordings
Schemes
Screenshots
Settings
Variants
In any of those I dont see any scenery files what-so-ever? any help is grateful!!
T/Aguy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2008, 08:47 AM   #71 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 225
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medan INDONESIA
Default

Read this post in this thread, https://www.helifreak.com/showpost.p...8&postcount=15.
devindh is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2008, 10:49 PM   #72 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

wow...if only I had followed what i'd read many times last night... my bad
T/Aguy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2008, 05:59 AM   #73 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: France
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CyCrow View Post
T

Advanced:
- The light direction will probably be wrong. It's possible to shift/wrap the original to reorient it, matching the arcticTundra sun direction with the scenery.

- Phoenix works with 4096x4096 highres textures, at least on my graphics cards. I haven't found any very high resolution sceneries (16384x8192) on the net. Loading times also go up, but framerate seems unaffected.
- Previews are simple, just crop/scale and compress to dds. 1024x1024 for full, 64x64 for small.

// CyCrow
Hi All !
First of all, I'd like to thank you all, this Thread is terrific. It helped me a lot using XTR scenaries in Phoenix.
But I have a little problem with Previews. I tried different things but did not manage to get a working preview.
Which file do I have to convert to DSS ? The original Reflex jpg file ? One of the 6 tiles ?
Thank you ,

Pablo
pablo_cg is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2008, 09:44 AM   #74 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,125
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

This thread is out of date, just use the Phoenix Creator now.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2010, 08:59 AM   #75 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK
Default

Doh, wrong thread, sorry.
__________________
TDR/VBar
Logo 600SX 12s VBar
MSH MINI PROTOS/CGY750
AcidDrink is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1