Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > Flight Controllers (NAZA, Wookong, A2, etc...) > DJI Multirotor Forum(A2/WKM)


DJI Multirotor Forum(A2/WKM) DJI Multirotor Forum(A2/WKM)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2014, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Phantom 2 Vision+ - Drifting

On the first flight of my P2+ when moving it side to side / back and forth and bringing to a stop it locked in perfectly and hardly drifted.

I flew it today in a different area, went through the compass calibration and was receiving about 8 satellites but when bringing the Phantom to a halt it didn't stop immediately and drifted somewhat.

Does stabilisation work better the more satellites the Phantom sees? I would have thought 8 would be sufficient.

What's the max number of satellites the Phantom can link into?

Thanks

PS - I'm in Naz mode if that is relevant.
Bazz06 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-16-2014, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Default

Since you're in NAZA mode, I've gotta ask - was your right-side switch in GPS mode (top position)? If you were in the middle position by accident, that mode disables GPS and just levels off the quad when you let off the stick.
flightengr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2014, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flightengr View Post
Since you're in NAZA mode, I've gotta ask - was your right-side switch in GPS mode (top position)? If you were in the middle position by accident, that mode disables GPS and just levels off the quad when you let off the stick.
Yes. I checked that because I did wonder whether I had accidentally switched it to ATTI mode but it was in GPS.

I know that in ATTI it would continue drifting but what I was experiencing was drift and then stopping. The stop just wasn't as `urgent` as I have noticed previously.
Bazz06 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2014, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Default

Sounds good. That eliminates the obvious.

Could wind have had anything to do with it? I've noticed that mine will drift with the wind a little bit even if I don't move around and just turn the quad around to face a different direction. The computer takes a small amount of time to adjust for the wind coming from a new direction and compensate for that.

The Phantom will declare "GPS Lock" with 6 satellites. I think the most I have seen it use is 11. Typically I see 8-10. More satellites probably don't help that much. If it's stable in a hover and will sit in one place, then you probably have plenty of satellites at work.
flightengr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2014, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flightengr View Post
Sounds good. That eliminates the obvious.

Could wind have had anything to do with it? I've noticed that mine will drift with the wind a little bit even if I don't move around and just turn the quad around to face a different direction. The computer takes a small amount of time to adjust for the wind coming from a new direction and compensate for that.

The Phantom will declare "GPS Lock" with 6 satellites. I think the most I have seen it use is 11. Typically I see 8-10. More satellites probably don't help that much. If it's stable in a hover and will sit in one place, then you probably have plenty of satellites at work.
Thanks. It could be wind.

It was a very stable day when I first flew it so maybe I had the best conditions.

I flew it again today and it appeared better. Stuck it into ATTI mode for a comparison and could noticeably see the difference.

It's very reassuring having the failsafe. A couple of times I lost sight of it and although concerned knew I could instigate failsafe if required.

It wasn't but it's a great comfort.

Something I did notice today, and I will have to explore this further, I could see the P2 about 150ft away and instigated Home Lock.

Pulling back on the right stick I noticed it go backwards but a long distance from where the Home point was registered.

Before losing sight of it I took it out of HL and brought it home myself.

It seemed as though it lost its marker.

I will have to look further into this.
Bazz06 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2014, 12:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,277
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

Did you let it complete its startup sequence. You need to wait until you are only getting one flash.
__________________
AMA #844172 DJI S1000 Lightbridge Zen for 5D, S900 LB Zen for BMPCC, DJI Phantom 2 Vision +, P2Z2 with Data Link, P2Z3 with LB DJI Forum Support
Tahoe Ed is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1