Gyro menu or travel adjust - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2014, 10:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,026
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Default Gyro menu or travel adjust

Two things, for the spektrum guys.

First what do you use for your gyro? The gyro menu or travel adjust?


Second. I have not set up a heli in a little bit. I plan to use travel adjust. On a dx6i do I just choose INH in the gyro menu?
__________________
Keep your skids up!
TEAM FLYBAR
130x, X3 Sprint, Goblin 500 ikon, Align 600 Nitro fb, Logo 600 ikon, DX7, No more money...
CompleteDestruction is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2014, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,940
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Clinton Township, Michigan
Default

1. I like to use the gyro menu, it allows me to easily have different gain settings for each flight mode without having to set up a mix. This is especially useful if you run fight modes with a big difference in headspeeds.

2. Yes, this is the correct way to set up if you plan to use travel adjust.
__________________
John Barta
Michigan Whirlybirds Heli Club
http://www.michiganwhirlybirds.com
j bomb is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 07:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lowell area, MA
Default Re: Gyro menu or travel adjust

What are you asking about?. Setting pitch slider travel? That needs to be done within the gyro.

Or controlling the flip/roll/yaw rates of the heli? I use Dual Rates for that, along with Expo.

Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 09:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,940
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Clinton Township, Michigan
Default

I was assuming he was talking about the tail gyro gain channel.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk
__________________
John Barta
Michigan Whirlybirds Heli Club
http://www.michiganwhirlybirds.com
j bomb is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 09:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,026
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j bomb View Post
I was assuming he was talking about the tail gyro gain channel.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk
Yes!! To set the gain. You can use either menu. I hear travel adjust is more accurate.

The travel of the servo is set in the gyro itself.
__________________
Keep your skids up!
TEAM FLYBAR
130x, X3 Sprint, Goblin 500 ikon, Align 600 Nitro fb, Logo 600 ikon, DX7, No more money...
CompleteDestruction is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 09:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lowell area, MA
Default Re: Gyro menu or travel adjust

I see, sorry.

I use the gyro menu for making changes, myself. The actual value doesn't necessarily matter so much, what's important is that it works, I suppose.

I think my VBar & iKon had me calibrate the gyro gain channel endpoints, which would have used travel adjust. Then I set the actual values using the gyro menu.

I have not yet needed the gain to change automatically with headspeeds (flight modes), but now having an IU2, that might become more important, having 2 HS choices for actually flying. I only use Normal to spool and land.

Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 10:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 280
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Drummonds TN
Default

I am using the gear channel set to the on position at 50% on my DX9. I use the rtrim switch to fine tune on the fly. If I have to adjust I just click the rtrim up/down a couple times and am good to go without having to land.
Jurbin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 05:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Default

I didn't understand how using the travel adjust was more accurate than using the gyro gain menu to set gyro gain. I saw on Finless' video where he stated that and it looked like his radio gyro menu did not have .5 increments only 1 increments. That made sense because in the gyro gain menu 0-50 is rate mode and 50-100 is head hold (correct my numbers if wrong) So then using the gyro menu would result in increments by 2 since its split in half by the rate and head hold mode. My dx6i goes by .5 increments in the gyro menu which would result in (doubling ) to 1 increments in so wouldn't it be just as accurate? Confused...
Gennatolls is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 07:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,026
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gennatolls View Post
I didn't understand how using the travel adjust was more accurate than using the gyro gain menu to set gyro gain. I saw on Finless' video where he stated that and it looked like his radio gyro menu did not have .5 increments only 1 increments. That made sense because in the gyro gain menu 0-50 is rate mode and 50-100 is head hold (correct my numbers if wrong) So then using the gyro menu would result in increments by 2 since its split in half by the rate and head hold mode. My dx6i goes by .5 increments in the gyro menu which would result in (doubling ) to 1 increments in so wouldn't it be just as accurate? Confused...
I was told....

It has to do with how spektrum has these menus setup. 1 click in one menu is equal to 3(ish) in the other...

I don't know if this is true or not, but it's what i was told when I first started.

I just set it up in the gyro menu so the rate changes in IU and it's kinda nice not having the tail drift in regular.
__________________
Keep your skids up!
TEAM FLYBAR
130x, X3 Sprint, Goblin 500 ikon, Align 600 Nitro fb, Logo 600 ikon, DX7, No more money...
CompleteDestruction is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 08:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Default

I ended up using gyro menu as well. I'm still pretty curious what they actually do. It doesn't seem to be well documented online, everywhere I've read discussions about it, it was all passed on through word of mouth. The spektrum manual doesn't make mention of it. I guess if it bugs me long enough I will have to email spektrum and see what they say.
Gennatolls is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2014, 08:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,026
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gennatolls View Post
I ended up using gyro menu as well. I'm still pretty curious what they actually do. It doesn't seem to be well documented online, everywhere I've read discussions about it, it was all passed on through word of mouth. The spektrum manual doesn't make mention of it. I guess if it bugs me long enough I will have to email spektrum and see what they say.
Most of my helis are set up with INH on the gyro menu. But both ways work well.
__________________
Keep your skids up!
TEAM FLYBAR
130x, X3 Sprint, Goblin 500 ikon, Align 600 Nitro fb, Logo 600 ikon, DX7, No more money...
CompleteDestruction is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1