Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > Blade Multirotor Support > 180QX


180QX Blade 180QX Helicopters Information and Help


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2014, 07:47 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 295
 

Join Date: May 2012
Default

Is the video taken in agility mode? There is a lot of up and down movement. Yes the 721 is superior to the old one.
Glaucon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2014, 08:40 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 20
 

Join Date: May 2014
Default

I just got a 180 QX last night, for Father's Day, and have been experimenting with the camera. At first I was getting the quick shutoff problem, but looking closer I found there was no memory card installed. So I grabbed a Samsung 2 GB card I had laying around, plugged it in, and no more shutoff problem.

Given what I've read above, it appears that the shutoff is due to not recognizing the card so thinking it's empty -- thus explaining why formatting helps.

I haven't succeeded in using the trigger on the controller yet for taking video, changing modes or taking photos, so more experimentation is needed, but manually starting the video recording gives gorgeous HD video.

Thanks to all the folks above (and in some other threads) whose posts helped this 180 QX newbie get started with the cam, as well as with the bird itself.

Later: It turns out the I had the camera cable inverted at one end (misread a post above, perhaps?), but now the trigger works. Looks like the camera works as advertised if you have a compatible card.

Thanks again, folks.

Last edited by lnuss; 06-16-2014 at 09:02 AM.. Reason: Addendum that the trigger works now.
lnuss is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2014, 10:51 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 435
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

My bigger cards are probably class 10 but did confirm one of the 8gb was class 4 and it had shutoff issue, formatted Fat32.

Starting to feel it may be size related.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
__________________
__________________________________________________ _
Align TREX 150, Align TREX 250, MCPx BL, Nano CP, Nano Qx, Blade 180qx
Member: AMA
Compusmurf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2014, 11:21 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 295
 

Join Date: May 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compusmurf View Post
My bigger cards are probably class 10 but did confirm one of the 8gb was class 4 and it had shutoff issue, formatted Fat32.

Starting to feel it may be size related.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
I don't think so it is size related. I have a 16gb class 4 and works great. Class 10 for small cheap digital cameras create all kind of problems. Before you buy check the class and the packaging to make sure digital camera is displayed. My 2 cents.
Glaucon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2014, 12:23 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compusmurf View Post
My bigger cards are probably class 10 but did confirm one of the 8gb was class 4 and it had shutoff issue, formatted Fat32.

Starting to feel it may be size related.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
I tried a 8gb class 4 with no problems.
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2014, 02:23 PM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 435
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Your 8gb, how is it formatted? Maybe it is related to that.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
__________________
__________________________________________________ _
Align TREX 150, Align TREX 250, MCPx BL, Nano CP, Nano Qx, Blade 180qx
Member: AMA
Compusmurf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2014, 02:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 435
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

2GB, Class 4 formatted FAT works
4gb, Class 4 formatted FAT works.
8gb, Class 4, formatted FAT 32, shuts off camera
8gb, Class 10, formatted FAT 32, shuts off camera
16gb, Class 10, formatted Fat 32, shuts off camera
32gb, class 10, formatted Fat 32, shuts off camera


This is new camera, purchased Saturday.

Interestingly tho, it's able to read the class 10's and but transferring any data will lock up the cam and/or when taking photos, powers off.

Seems like this cheapo camera has some incompatibilities. Chinese failed to reverse engineer the 808 keychain camera properly.

Oh well, cheap cam, low res, 4GB is good enough for it. Hope this helps out someone else. You all with anything over 4GB are lucky it's working.
__________________
__________________________________________________ _
Align TREX 150, Align TREX 250, MCPx BL, Nano CP, Nano Qx, Blade 180qx
Member: AMA
Compusmurf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2014, 06:15 PM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 20
 

Join Date: May 2014
Default

I just bought a new PNY 16 GB class 4 card at Uncle Wally's this afternoon. I plugged it in to the EFC-721 and it worked fine, no formatting or anything else needed. Evidently the camera is picky about the cards it works with -- timing and latency, etc, probably.
lnuss is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2014, 06:32 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compusmurf View Post
Your 8gb, how is it formatted? Maybe it is related to that.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
I use this always!!!


https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_4/
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2014, 10:43 PM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 435
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I to use same app. Isn't helping on any sd bigger than 4gb. Oh well, don't care much more at this point. Small videos and photos, 4gb is fine.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
__________________
__________________________________________________ _
Align TREX 150, Align TREX 250, MCPx BL, Nano CP, Nano Qx, Blade 180qx
Member: AMA
Compusmurf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 03:40 AM   #31 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

TIP! Always use good quality SD cards. I only use Sandisk 2,4, 8, 16gb cards and format them first using SDFormatter!
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 10:24 AM   #32 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

I have been following this thread, I bought a 180qx last week and the camera didn't work. It would shut off as soon as I tried to turn on video mode. I called Horizon, they sent me out a new camera, I got it this past Tuesday, it acted the same, would shut off as soon as video mode was requested. Then I saw this thread talking about Class 10 vs Class 4 SD cards. I don't know what class card I had, it was one that I use in my GoPro. So I went out and bought a Class 4, 8 g card, both cameras now work as they should. I used the card right out of the package, no special formatting. Odd thing to me is that Horizon does not specify what class card to be using, so it sounds like they don't know about the card issue either.

Coop
__________________
Runway?...We don't need no stinkin runways.....

Runways are for models, Wings are for fairies...
Scott54 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 01:05 PM   #33 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 295
 

Join Date: May 2012
Default

Class 10 was/is and alway will be a problem for cheap cameras like the 720 & 721. BTW the NEW 721 is a cheap 808 #9!!!!! Wow. For the last time i have to say use only class 4 regardless of brand. You do not need to format either, it is just a plug and play. I bought at Fry's a Patriot 16GB class 4 and worked as soon as I plugged it in. I don't understand how HH is keep sending new replacement cameras to people and does not make a statement in their website. Beats me, aren't they reading their products forums?
Glaucon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 03:53 PM   #34 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Charging?

I could never get the camera so the LED would go from red to blue when the charging was complete, it just stays red. Not sure If I will burn the thing up if it goes over 30 min? I too did the SD card shuffle to get it to work. My video quality is good and the activation button is a nice feature.
Rich Allen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 05:27 PM   #35 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Default Camera won't turn off

My camera acted strange from the start. I'm using a 4gb class 4 card and when it does work, the image quality is fine.

The problem now is it won't turn off. No amount of cajoling gets it to turn off. I guess it will when the battery dies.
__________________
Take care,
Greg
ggimlick is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 06:15 PM   #36 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggimlick View Post
My camera acted strange from the start. I'm using a 4gb class 4 card and when it does work, the image quality is fine.

The problem now is it won't turn off. No amount of cajoling gets it to turn off. I guess it will when the battery dies.
To get it to turn off, stick the end of a paper clip and reset the camera.
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 06:21 PM   #37 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

Thanks, I'll give that a try the next time it does it. It finally shut itself off after a couple hours.

I saw that little hole and thought it might be an emergency release for the SD card, sorta like on a laptops DVD drive.
__________________
Take care,
Greg
ggimlick is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 07:41 PM   #38 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

Flight outside late this afternoon chasing my neighbors dog!

[ame]http://youtu.be/bvsi4vuv5JA[/ame]
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 07:57 PM   #39 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2014
Default

Had the same thing happen to me where it would not shut off. Where is the reset? I looked and couldn't fine it.

No time during the week for me to get to a store, so I will try a class 4 card this weekend.

My latest issue is I noticed a glare on the camera when shooting. But then I noticed the glare even indoors. Looked at all of my pics and video from the start, and this new 721 has a bad discoloration / imperfection right near the center of the lens. Tried to clean it but the lens opening is so small you can't get anything on it.

Emailed Horizon. I sure hope they replace it for me, otherwise I will be really disappointed. Getting this new 721 could not have been a worse experience thus far, with card issues etc.
MB604 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 08:06 PM   #40 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,242
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MB604 View Post
Had the same thing happen to me where it would not shut off. Where is the reset? I looked and couldn't fine it.

No time during the week for me to get to a store, so I will try a class 4 card this weekend.

My latest issue is I noticed a glare on the camera when shooting. But then I noticed the glare even indoors. Looked at all of my pics and video from the start, and this new 721 has a bad discoloration / imperfection right near the center of the lens. Tried to clean it but the lens opening is so small you can't get anything on it.

Emailed Horizon. I sure hope they replace it for me, otherwise I will be really disappointed. Getting this new 721 could not have been a worse experience thus far, with card issues etc.
Opposite side of the SD slot..look very closely, you will see small hole.
__________________
Syma S107-Syma S109-Syma X8C-Syma X8G-Syma X5HC-Syma X5HW-Mini Orion-ProtoX-Syma X5C-1

USAF RETIRED 1968-1988 Vietnam Veteran
Pfloyd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1