No throttle? How to arm the 200QX on the Taranis. - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > Blade Multirotor Support > 200QX


200QX Blade 200QX Helicopters Information and Help


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2014, 10:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Westlake, Ohio
Default No throttle? How to arm the 200QX on the Taranis.

First, I have the Taranis with a homemade dx5e dsm2/dsmx radio module, that's another story. But what it means is that, the 'radio programming' instructions that come with all the Blades (HH) need to be translated.

For the 200QX, the basic info is:
CH1 - Throttle
CH2 - Aileron (Reversed)
CH3 - Elevator
CH4 - Rudder (Reversed)
CH5 - Stability/Agility Mode (Reversed/Complicated?)
CH6 - Camera

And that's how I set it up, but then I spent two days not being able to get the motors armed with no idea why. I stopped at the LHS, and they didn't have a clue. I ended up figuring it out there at the store after reading a lot of posts about throttle and trim settings.

The 200QX flight controller wants to see exactly zero throttle, and specific channel values to arm. Apparently either zero throttle and full left rudder followed by full right rudder, or both sticks at 'inside bottom corners' (A picture in the manual would have been a nice addition, considering they give us Throttle Up pictures).

Now here's the thing.
OpenTX on the Taranis, by default, uses 1000ms to 2000ms channels with 1500ms centers.
DSM2/DSMX protocols use 1100ms to 1900ms channels with 1500ms centers. Now, it's possible to 'overdrive' the channels by putting your rates up to 125%, which gets you to 1000ms - 2000ms.

I'm sending out 1000ms at zero throttle, moving the sticks back and forth following their 'arming' procedure, and getting nothing.

So the simple solution is to limit each channel down to 1100-1900ms, which is very easy on OpenTX and works perfectly, the motors start right up, but then you have no way to cut the throttle and kill the motors, since the throttle channel is limited to 1100ms on the low end.

I ended up configuring the throttle channel to range from 1000-1900ms, with a 20% offset, which lets it sit at 1100ms with zero throttle, but allows the throttle cut switch to be used to disable the motors again. Now, with the other channels all limited to the DSM 1100-1900ms range, it arms perfectly.

That leaves us with the more advanced configuration:
CH1 - Throttle 1000-1900 w/ 20% offset on Throttle Input
CH2 - Aileron - 1100-1900 Reversed
CH3 - Elevator
CH4 - Rudder - 1100-1900 Reversed
CH5 - Stability/Agility Mode
1900 - Low Rate Stability
1500 - High Rate Stability
1100 - Agility Mode
CH6 - Camera (I have no clue on this one)
ModulusX is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2014, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I'm in the process of converting to a Taranis also.

On my DX18 the throttle cut drives the throttle to -130%. On your Taranis instead of limiting the throttle channel endpoints maybe you should do the equivalent of dual rates to limit the throttle, that way your cut switch could still go below the Spektrum -100% mark but the sticks would be limited to +/- 100%.

I don't have a DSM/DSMX module and just got a Taranis last week so I can only tell you what happens in Spektrum terms and guess at the Taranis.
dfruehwald is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2014, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Westlake, Ohio
Default

Sorry if my post was confusing, I do have it working perfectly, my post was just to help out others that might struggle with arming the motors..

OpenTX is far more configurable, instead of dual rates, its nearly infinite. Easily more than most could remember while flying.
It has 6 three-position switches, each of them could be used to modify the rates on any combination of sticks/channels/variables, and you can stack them, so if Switch A is in position 1, Switch 2 might do something completely different than when Switch A is in position 2.

I was easily able to set up 'stagility' so that one of my three position switches has the following modes:
1. Low Rate Stability
2. High Rate Stability
3. Agility mode when the absolute value of the right stick is greater than 75%, High Rate Stability the rest of the time. (I know its cheating...)
This quad does some fast flips!
ModulusX is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2014, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I wouldn't mind seeing the programming for that. Sounds like how the 200QX is setup and I like that setup. Smart Mode just boggles my mind but I can see why it would appeal to a newbie. I think they made better decisions on the 200QX setup. My thinking for the 350QX is AP, Stagility, Agility. I have not tried the Stagility trick but might try it on the 200QX if it goes well on the 350QX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ModulusX View Post
Sorry if my post was confusing, I do have it working perfectly, my post was just to help out others that might struggle with arming the motors..

OpenTX is far more configurable, instead of dual rates, its nearly infinite. Easily more than most could remember while flying.
It has 6 three-position switches, each of them could be used to modify the rates on any combination of sticks/channels/variables, and you can stack them, so if Switch A is in position 1, Switch 2 might do something completely different than when Switch A is in position 2.

I was easily able to set up 'stagility' so that one of my three position switches has the following modes:
1. Low Rate Stability
2. High Rate Stability
3. Agility mode when the absolute value of the right stick is greater than 75%, High Rate Stability the rest of the time. (I know its cheating...)
This quad does some fast flips!
dfruehwald is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2014, 10:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Westlake, Ohio
Default

I added some screenshots for most of the setup of the Taranis to do Stagility.
They're posted here.
ModulusX is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2014, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default My 200QX settings for 2.0.8

I have some settings for OpenTX 2.0.8 for the 200QX.

I took a slightly different approach than you did and mine still has 100% (125%) on Aileron, Elevaor and Rudder. In Agility it is one angry little bee

I also setup a Stagility with Blue (High rates) up to 15% Aileron/Elevator and outside that its Red (Agility) mode. I'll probably have to tone mine down a bit for more than test flights ;-)

Let me know if you want me to post screen shots or the epee file (if I can figure out how). I put it in the 200QX and Taranis RCG threads also.
dfruehwald is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2014, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 596
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Louisville, CO
Default

Here is my taranis setup
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 200qx-inputs.jpg (75.9 KB, 160 views)
File Type: jpg 200qx-servos.jpg (110.3 KB, 131 views)
File Type: jpg 200qx-mixes.jpg (67.4 KB, 118 views)
__________________
MCPX BL, 130X, 180cfx, 300x,300cfx, Compass Warp 360, ZMR250 FPV, EMax 250FPV, Morphite FPV,Taranis
linklemming is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2014, 03:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Third Rock from Sun
Default

I am brand new to the Taranis platform and have one on the way.

I am going to pick up a BNF 200qx at a lhs for my first quad experience.

Am I going to need anything else or will the taranis bind to the reciever as is?

Subscribing to thread for future reference. Im sure I will need it.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
RustySocket is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2014, 08:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,909
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Default

You will need either an Orange module for the bay at the back, or you'll need to make your own Spektrum module conversion from a DX4e transmitter. The protocol built into the Taranis will not talk to Spektrum receivers.
__________________
Chris Boultinghouse
JustPlaneChris is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2014, 10:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Third Rock from Sun
Default

Thanks for the reply. Got a orange on the way

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
RustySocket is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2014, 02:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Texas
Default Motors won't spin after binding please help

I have my dx6 binding to my 200qx but the motors will not start when i give it throttle. Not sure if this is the right forum but I would appreciate any help.

Thanks
Jwatty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2014, 03:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,195
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jwatty View Post
I have my dx6 binding to my 200qx but the motors will not start when i give it throttle. Not sure if this is the right forum but I would appreciate any help.

Thanks
You need to arm the motors. Refer to the manual on how to do that.
I had the exact same question when I got my 200. Helps of you read the manual as I was told by a few friends. [emoji6]
__________________
Team Newb pilot
All my helis and quads were lost in a tragic boating accident.
DX9, AMA# 966513.
NCcraig is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2014, 04:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,865
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Phoenix
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jwatty View Post
I have my dx6 binding to my 200qx but the motors will not start when i give it throttle. Not sure if this is the right forum but I would appreciate any help.

Thanks
I could not figure it out when I first got mine either....I read the instructions also. There is nothing that tells you that you need to adjust your throttle trim (UP in my case) a few click until you get the arming tone when you move the throttle all the way down.

Also, they don't mention that you can arm the motors by simply moving the left stick the to bottom and moving it from side to side while down.

the instructions are lacking for sure.
wsntme is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2014, 04:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Default

Hi All,

I have setup my Tranis Plus but for some reason my throttle is not reading .... I am using mode 1 and have assigned it to channel 1 but when I load the model config and look at the menu that shows you the stick percentage I get nothing on channel 1 all other are fine ... what am I missing ?

Thanks
yogi
yogi_ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2014, 12:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,951
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Happy Valley, OR
Default

I'll upload my EEPROM later tonight so you can take a look at it
__________________
Protos Max 800 | Goblin 500 | Gaui X3 | Goblin 280 | Oxy 2
MXP 150 | CM Stigg
FrSky Horus | Spirit FBL | CC and HW ESCs
MyRCode is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2014, 05:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,951
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Happy Valley, OR
Default

Here's my EEPROM....take a look at the 200QX model.
Attached Files
File Type: eepe 040 Updated Quads (10.2014).eepe (77.0 KB, 94 views)
__________________
Protos Max 800 | Goblin 500 | Gaui X3 | Goblin 280 | Oxy 2
MXP 150 | CM Stigg
FrSky Horus | Spirit FBL | CC and HW ESCs
MyRCode is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2014, 11:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Default

Thanks I will have a look tonight when I get home.

yogi
yogi_ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2014, 03:11 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Default

When I try to download the file it's listed as a .PHP file and not recognised as a valid file. Is there issues with newbies downloading files from this forum ?

Thanks
yogi
yogi_ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2014, 03:21 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New York
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi_ View Post
Hi All,

I have setup my Tranis Plus but for some reason my throttle is not reading .... I am using mode 1 and have assigned it to channel 1 but when I load the model config and look at the menu that shows you the stick percentage I get nothing on channel 1 all other are fine ... what am I missing ?

Thanks
yogi
I'm not using a Tranis, but am using a 9XR with er9X firmware (open source). Mine is in Mode 2 (throttle on left stick) and here is the mix I use and it works perfectly on my 200QX. The channels must be as configured for the 200QX (or 350QX) to recognize the controller.

CH1 AIL
CH2 ELE
CH3 THR (also program in the "Throttle Cut" safety switch if you want to)
CH4 RUD
CH5 3 position switch
CH6 RTH (used on 350QX)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Controls screen shot.jpg (45.8 KB, 55 views)
04fxdwgi is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2014, 07:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,951
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Happy Valley, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi_ View Post
When I try to download the file it's listed as a .PHP file and not recognised as a valid file. Is there issues with newbies downloading files from this forum ?

Thanks
yogi
PM me your e-mail address and I'll send it to you directly.
__________________
Protos Max 800 | Goblin 500 | Gaui X3 | Goblin 280 | Oxy 2
MXP 150 | CM Stigg
FrSky Horus | Spirit FBL | CC and HW ESCs
MyRCode is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1