Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Spartan RC > Spartan Vortex


Spartan Vortex Spartan RC - Vortex VX1 Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2014, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,341
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default

Bert Kammerer introduces the Vortex Esprit VX1e. Check it out, it answers some questions about the differences with the VX1n.


__________________
SPARTANRC - R&D


Last edited by Bob O; 08-13-2014 at 09:13 PM.. Reason: add link
Angelos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-13-2014, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

Picked up a VX1e at IRCHA last weekend, and swapped out the VX1 on my Gaui X4II so I could try it out. The quickest and easiest way for me to do it was to side-mount the unit, putting it in the exact same position as I had the VX1 flight computer.

I pulled the VX1 off the heli and powered it up with the DataPod. Then I powered up the VX1e and used Spartan Studio to set it up, manually copying all the settings from the VX1 straight over to the VX1e. It was actually pretty quick, navigating the DataPod with my left hand and using the mouse with my right hand.....LOL!!

Anyway, I got back a short time ago from the flying field, having just got 4 flights in with the VX1e. I have to say that the heli flew just the same if not a bit better. "Better" as in I liked the feel of it A LOT. The heli was just as solid and locked-in, but somehow felt not as "edgy" as the VX1.

Prior to the first flight, I wasn't sure if there would be any drawback to having the sensor mounted on a side frame, as I had never done it like that before. As soon as I did full stick piros in both directions and headed out for some 3D flight, the mounting location was the furthest thing from my mind.

By the 4th flight, I had done everything with the VX1e that I had done previously with the VX1. If anyone has any doubts as to the capabilities of this unit, I will tell you that I experienced nothing negative and saw no drawbacks in the transition from VX1 to VX1e. Be it a budget unit or not, the VX1e performs just like it's predecessors.

I know that a lot of guys bought these at IRCHA, and a bunch more were pre-ordered. I'm looking forward to reading your guy's impressions of it!





From Courtney's youtube channel:

Introducing The Spartan Vortex VX1e (1 min 33 sec)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vx1emounted.jpg
Views:	5156
Size:	157.1 KB
ID:	528732   Click image for larger version

Name:	vx1mounted.jpg
Views:	4990
Size:	197.4 KB
ID:	528733  
__________________
):>

Last edited by Bob O; 08-15-2014 at 08:15 PM.. Reason: add video
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2014, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

Just about to head out to help a guy set up his first CP (flybar 450Pro) heli. I'm going to grab four more flights with the VX1e.
__________________
):>
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2014, 05:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 307
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

Thanks for your flight report Bob O.

Ive got 2 vx1e's on order cant wait to boot the ikons
__________________
Team Xnova for revolutionrc.com.au
Alees Helicopters Australia
Feral is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2014, 09:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

Had 4 more flights this evening. My flying buddy commented on how locked in the heli appeared to him in big inverted tail down funnels and fast backwards inverted hurricanes.

Continuous piroflips have never felt better!!

Sent via phone
__________________
):>
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2014, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,936
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Hey Bob,
So this has the same sensor as the IKON?

Will the "E" phase out the red unit if they are the same other then the sensor?

How does it compare to the TRAXS / BRAIN, is it pretty much the same in performance for hard 3D smack flying?

At the moment I fly the TRAXS units, thinking about moving to stable brand.

cheers
__________________
Rapid Helis Australia
Lighty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 12:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Default

Bob O, is the mounting tape for the vx1e different from the vx1n?

I've never used the Ikon, so I have no experience with the sensors in the vx1e, not sure what to expect.
__________________
mcpx BL, 450X, 600X, Gaui x3, Chase 360, Goblin 500, Goblin 700comp
Pionwave is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 02:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 307
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

It will be good ive never had an Ikon vibe out on me
__________________
Team Xnova for revolutionrc.com.au
Alees Helicopters Australia
Feral is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 03:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

I don't see it phasing out the VX1 or the nano. The pinpoint sensors will still be desired by many for their vibe resistance and ultra precision. The sensors in the Esprit are basically BEASTX sensors, so just not quite as high end. However, the Esprit will still smack just fine if Bert's flights with it are any indication. The Esprit is still a Vortex, same coding and algorithms as the others.

As far as mounting tape, you would use the same tape you currently use. I used the same singe layer of 3M tape as I did with the VX1.

I know of at least 2 pro pilots who bought the Esprit at IRCHA to use on their 700's. This unit should be suited just fine for helis of all sizes.

Sent via phone
__________________
):>
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 03:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,341
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lighty View Post
Hey Bob,
So this has the same sensor as the IKON?

Will the "E" phase out the red unit if they are the same other then the sensor?

How does it compare to the TRAXS / BRAIN, is it pretty much the same in performance for hard 3D smack flying?

At the moment I fly the TRAXS units, thinking about moving to stable brand.

cheers
Yes, same sensor as the ikon. The VX1e will not replace the VX1n. Both will be sold alongside.
__________________
SPARTANRC - R&D

Angelos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 03:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,936
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Many thanks for the reply. Hmm decisions decisions...
__________________
Rapid Helis Australia
Lighty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 03:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 307
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

Get onto it lighty we have a a nuber of dealers in Aus now great support from all
__________________
Team Xnova for revolutionrc.com.au
Alees Helicopters Australia
Feral is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 04:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 784
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Default

Will the usb port be introduced into the rest of the vortex line?
__________________
Wayne
Team Alees Australia
AleeS Rush 750 Evolution, vortex Nano. Synergy N5c, Vbar.
lowey79 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 04:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,341
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowey79 View Post
Will the usb port be introduced into the rest of the vortex line?
No. You can still connect the VX1 and VX1n to the PC using the DataPod.
__________________
SPARTANRC - R&D

Angelos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 04:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 307
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

That works well I had a play with it today
__________________
Team Xnova for revolutionrc.com.au
Alees Helicopters Australia
Feral is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 04:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,849
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelos View Post
Yes, same sensor as the ikon. The VX1e will not replace the VX1n. Both will be sold alongside.
I take it that you have decided that road tyres are just fine for off roading now Angelos?
__________________
Regards, Sutty
BeltEXI, mCX, mSR, 4G3, FBL Trex250SE ÁB, FBL Trex450Pro ÁB,
FBL Trex550e VX1 Pro, FBL Trex600ESP VX1e, Parkzone P51D, QRX350Pro
sutty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 09:25 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burn666 View Post
Get onto it lighty we have a a nuber of dealers in Aus now great support from all
Bought my vx1n from revolution
__________________
mcpx BL, 450X, 600X, Gaui x3, Chase 360, Goblin 500, Goblin 700comp
Pionwave is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 01:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Member
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

Got three days in a row with good weather.....heading out for some more flying!!
__________________
):>
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 03:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 307
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pionwave View Post
Bought my vx1n from revolution
Im up to 7 Vortex's all from Revolution
__________________
Team Xnova for revolutionrc.com.au
Alees Helicopters Australia
Feral is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 03:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 307
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob O View Post
Got three days in a row with good weather.....heading out for some more flying!!
Get into it bob
__________________
Team Xnova for revolutionrc.com.au
Alees Helicopters Australia
Feral is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1