Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Spartan RC > Spartan Vortex


Spartan Vortex Spartan RC - Vortex VX1 Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2016, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Hobbywing 100 V3 and Jeti DS-14 plus VX1n

I spent a few hours today with the setup of my Goblin 380 with my new DS-14.

Everything worked flawless with my futaba before. Just a new receiver and a new TX.

Everything setup, throttle calibrated on the hobbywing. BUT then nothing moves.
Throttle up, down ... Nothing...

Has anyone the same or a similar setup?
Same issues maybe?

Vortex vx1n v 4.52
Jeti Rex 6, beta v from Angelos
Hobbywing Esc in Heli mode

Thanks

Oliver
hydro-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2016, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,857
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Default

There is a very useful guide in the thread below post #1 that should help you out.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=733744
__________________
T-Rex 700 Dominator vx1e, Goblin 570 vx1e, T-Rex 600N DFC vx1e, Jeti Ds-14
NSFlyer12 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2016, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Could be throttle channel output from the Jeti. With the model off, open the menu on your Jeti and then I think button 2 is the servo monitor which shows you the actual output of the channels. Are you seeing the throttle react as you expect?

The next thought is mapping of channels on the Vortex. These should change automatically as you select the protocol, but check that the channels on the Vortex match the Jeti.

Finally, what protocol and wiring are you using? The Vortex won't initialize unless it sees a throttle signal, a few people have gotten caught out by that.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2016, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Default

Hi

I used the guide from myxiplx to set up my Jeti from scratch.
I was suprised that the channels were completely different in the vortex. I rearranged the channels that they match the vortex needs.
Every channel is appropriately adjusted...

I'm using the EX Bus connection to the REX receiver.

Thanks

Oliver

P.S. The guide to setup the Jeti TX is just awesome!!!!
hydro-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2016, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Can I check what is and isn't working. Do you have the Jeti integration working so you can program the Vortex from the Jeti? Do the servos work?
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2016, 02:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,857
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydro-heli View Post
Hi

I used the guide from myxiplx to set up my Jeti from scratch.
I was suprised that the channels were completely different in the vortex. I rearranged the channels that they match the vortex needs.
Every channel is appropriately adjusted...

I'm using the EX Bus connection to the REX receiver.

Thanks

Oliver

P.S. The guide to setup the Jeti TX is just awesome!!!!
__________________
T-Rex 700 Dominator vx1e, Goblin 570 vx1e, T-Rex 600N DFC vx1e, Jeti Ds-14
NSFlyer12 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2016, 02:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Default

Everything is working besides the ESC... :-(
The whole vortex and Jeti setup is done and working.
hydro-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2016, 06:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Do you have the governor enabled on the Vortex? If so, have you tried with it disabled?

If you haven't already, it might be best to disengage the pinion or remove the blades if you're having to troubleshoot this.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2016, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

The only other thing that comes to mind is the throttle signal being reversed somehow. Does the ESC even initialise?
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 12:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Default

Governor set to inhibit, throttle servo setting to 1520 us.
The ESC does all the beeps and arms, but beside a constant sound when raising throttle, nothing happens...the motor isn't spinning up...
hydro-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 01:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Have you checked the connections on the throttle lead?
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 01:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Default

Yes, I programmed the BEC voltage from 5 to 8.4 V with the TX and it worked...
hydro-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 02:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

I wonder if your low throttle position may not be low enough for the ESC to arm.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 02:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Default

The ESC arms, at least what I understand from the beeps...

I took another REX6, just connected the throttle wire directly to thr RX, so bypass thr vortex. Same behaviour!

See my short video attached how the ESC beeps and behaves.

Thanks

https://vimeo.com/160501695
hydro-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 03:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Is that screech coming from your ESC? If so I suspect you may have a timing issue there. Have you checked your motor specs and set your PWM and timings in the ESC?
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 04:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Default

Yes it's the motor.

I juggled arround and tried now some other than the default settings, but still no movement.

Still weird, that on my futaba config all worked with the default settings.
Maybe I'll try another mode like the plane mode, to see if this works...
hydro-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 08:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,169
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

Obvious, but motor turns by hand, no spare screws inside there, for example.

Soldering good. It's possible to beep well even with one phase down.

Try another motor, if you have one.

Can you run it from another quick and dirty set-up of Rx and ESC only on the bench. A quick thrown togther set-up from any old junk you have spare.

Sorry, I just see it all worked with Futaba, but can't hurt to do some quick re-checks.
__________________
Regards, Sutty
BeltEXI, mCX, mSR, 4G3, FBL Trex250SE ÁB, FBL Trex450Pro ÁB,
FBL Trex550e VX1 Pro, FBL Trex600ESP VX1e, Parkzone P51D, QRX350Pro
sutty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 08:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 121
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Default

Are you seeing 0-100% in transmitter live throttle menu in vortex setup , assuming you have linear throttle curve?
__________________
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Forza450EX, trex500, MOSTRO700, PROTOS MaxV2.
helibadger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 09:44 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Default

Thanks sutty, I'll check with a new motor, or I go with a spare castle esc, to check the motor.
I can turn it by hand, no problem.

The live throttle shows perfect 0-100%.

Could it be, that i screwed a motor phase by supplying the vortex through a 2S lipo with connected BEC output from the ESC?
hydro-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2016, 10:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,169
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

If you had the ESC BEC connected, and you supplied the Vortex with 2S, then yes, that can damage an ESC. How exactly that would show up I'm not altogether sure.

The tests are worth it though. I always like to test things independently, in very simple set-ups, so that I know that I'm not chasing my tail. Then when I bring it all back together I know they were all working separately moments before, and it must come down to how I am setting it up.
__________________
Regards, Sutty
BeltEXI, mCX, mSR, 4G3, FBL Trex250SE ÁB, FBL Trex450Pro ÁB,
FBL Trex550e VX1 Pro, FBL Trex600ESP VX1e, Parkzone P51D, QRX350Pro
sutty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1