CC Bailout with SK GOV - how to thread!! (also for YGE and others) - Page 3 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Skookum Robotics


Skookum Robotics Skookum Robotics SK-360 SK-540 & SK-720 Digital Flybar


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2014, 03:51 PM   #41 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

For the gyro not the motor! LOL
The Cyborg...
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-04-2014, 04:11 PM   #42 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 631
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Kennewick, Washington, US
Default

Lol I had to quote the movie "Armageddon". When that guy says they're off the grid and the other guy says"what are u a freakin cyborg?". I'm a movie quoter. And I would probably need a little elf on my heli holdong my gyro steady. Lol . Also I was thinking about the auto bailout. I finally got the concept however you lose the ability to arm the heli in throttle hold due to no 0 throttle. And I was thinking u could use the trainer button as a throttle cut. Just take the button out and solder in a switch instead. Could even use it for other features as well. Easy solution. That way u have a designated throttle hold for auto bailout and a throttle cut for safety.
Inkslinginmofo77 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2014, 02:03 AM   #43 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

What i do is arm the heli with TH on - the ESC doesn't arm now and that is a good precaution for me.
Only before takeoff i disengage TH, wait for it to arm at normal/0% and then open throttle...
Another thing you could do is assign the throttle cut to 0% and use it to arm. that way you have TH for the bailout and throttle cut for arming.
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2014, 05:33 PM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,398
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Default

Auto bail out works good Omer!
As a side benefit all my normal transitions in RPM have become very smooth.
I have a real smooth initial spool up to normal throttle PPM (40) with very little overshoot. On throwing the switch to idle up I get an immediate smooth spool up to idel1 (60) RPM. Before I had a small lag between throwing the switch and getting a response in RPM, but no more.
It was worth the effort, thanks for blazing the trail Omer!
__________________
Velos Rotors<<SAB<<Compas<<Align<<Walkera <<Propel
A VIKING is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2014, 05:55 PM   #45 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

Great to hear! couldn't be better
I also did some test flying today - i think the response for bailout was a little slow but i guess that's just tuning.
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2014, 12:35 AM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,289
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: spokane,washington
Default

Omerco, sorry I haven't gotten back to this until tonight. As on the other thread I had to finally sort out some initial gov issues with my two running helis. After resetting the gyros from scratch and again setting my throttle rates in my Yep/Yge esc's I finally have decent SS spools with my gov hitting.

Question? Since I have a Jeti Tx it has an auto bailout switch that is programmable, as well as my TH switch. What exact low throttle point do you want me to test with the Auto switch value to test with? Yge Yep do not have auto bailout settings, so I am just curious if I will see full SS spools regardless? Thanks bro!
__________________
If it can be done wrong, I will find a way to excel at it.
Luvmyhelis is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2014, 01:01 AM   #47 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

I think YGE/YEP do have bailout? Last time i read the manuel was a while back but i think it is set exactly as castle:
Apply TH with low value. Start increasing that until motor starts spinning and then back it down just until it stops.
This should be your bailout point, i think?
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2014, 01:19 AM   #48 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,289
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: spokane,washington
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omerco View Post
I think YGE/YEP do have bailout? Last time i read the manuel was a while back but i think it is set exactly as castle:
Apply TH with low value. Start increasing that until motor starts spinning and then back it down just until it stops.
This should be your bailout point, i think?
Lol, pouring through that manual tonight as we speak. My pdf file doesn't show anything about AR.

Can do! My current TH is set at -12, but I will play with the auto low value and see what happens.
__________________
If it can be done wrong, I will find a way to excel at it.
Luvmyhelis is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2014, 07:13 AM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

Could be i read it on the forum?
I have one i can bench test i will do
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2014, 01:13 PM   #50 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

Found something. not exactly what i thought....
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=533122

Although i don't know which Firmware REV it is. ?
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2014, 02:36 PM   #51 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,289
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: spokane,washington
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omerco View Post
Found something. not exactly what i thought....
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=533122

Although i don't know which Firmware REV it is. ?
Ahh, nice find. I do believe both my Yge's are the latest firmware. My guess is I may not be able to go lower than half? But that still gives me a decent drop in HS to auto with. Kinda like my low battery cutoff spool I hit a dozen times this year as my skills began outpacing my old flight time settings. I also went back to an old Dx7 I couldn't hear the timer warning with. That plus a few packs I destroyed doing speed runs, I barely got my heli back (almost to the landing pads most times) as they literally ran out and dropped.

We wont mention the forced autos this year I have had. One with my Tri on fire as the esc had a melt down. It actually melted the tabs out of my main packs. So if I hadn't had a separate rx pack. Things would have been far worse coming out of an invert 20ft up as the esc popped. Then I lost a resistor in one of my Yge's in my Gob 800, basically doing the same thing as I popped a hard invert ail roll. A batt connector popped again on my 800 due to some bad solder, basically melted in half while doing some hard 3d. And another three forced auto's for other reasons. Been a fun summer!
__________________
If it can be done wrong, I will find a way to excel at it.
Luvmyhelis is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2014, 02:38 PM   #52 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

Well - i think it should still run with what i wrote.
I will bench test when having time
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2014, 02:52 PM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,289
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: spokane,washington
Default

Tell ya what, I do love a good safe soft start. But I wonder when just practicing autos if the figures should be ramped up for a quicker spool?
__________________
If it can be done wrong, I will find a way to excel at it.
Luvmyhelis is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2014, 01:42 PM   #54 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

Could be? it might effect your SS overshooting but just try.
Note that if you are using ESC's SS its going to limit your bailout...

Edited the procedure - some corrections (like the correct castle throttle cal. video...ooooppppsss).
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2014, 01:47 PM   #55 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

UPDATE-
Did some flying today and some autos and bailouts. i changed few things since last time i tested, as my bailout was a bit on the slow side for my taste:

1. increased castle headspeed change to 20 (maximum) so ESC will not limit.
2. changed low ramp to 100, high ramp to 120 - this gave me a better bailout response.
3. lowered mt TH setting to 8 (in the Tx) because my motor kept spooling slowly.

I would say its working great now

EDIT - updated first post with new data.

Attached is a screen shot of my flight.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Castle BailOut.jpg
Views:	725
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	537185  
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2014, 10:52 AM   #56 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: israel
Default Thanx

Omerco
Great work.
I appreciate, the professional attitude and time taken to explain the process to all.
Its wonderful to see such expertise not just in your flying skills but also in your technical knowledge.
Thanks!!
guypenn is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2014, 03:43 PM   #57 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default



Thank you!
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2014, 06:33 PM   #58 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,398
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Default An observation on spool up and throttle up.

Up until today after going through all the changes for bail out which was successful on my ship I noticed something that maybe useful to others.

I had a better spool up with a smaller overshoot of the initial target RPM after all the adjustments.
However as flights past I had the same old overshoot that occurred before the bail out adjustments were made.
Today I figured out it was a function of how fast I moved the throttle up to neutral or 50% throttle on the initial spool up.
If I moved the throttle up rapidly I would get a pretty good kick out of the ESC initially which would cause torque to yaw the ship a little, not much but enough to make me want to slow down the initial throttle movement.
In doing so I saw that the ESC kick and yaw go away but also the overshoot to the initial RPM was gone and the SK acquired the initial RPM dead on with absolutely no overshoot.
And throttle up to idle 1 was done crisply with no overshoot.
This was verified on subsequent starts...two quick to 50% throttle I would get the overshoot.
Slow down the advancement of the throttle just a little and the target RPM was captured dead on with no overshoot.
It looks super cool on the logs, it looks like I drew the lines in with a ruler...its awesome.

So if you still observe the overshoot, you just may need to slow the advancement of the throttle down slightly on spool up and the overshoot may just disappear.


The screen shot is shows the smooth transition during spool up with just a short excursion into Idle 1. No Overshoot!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Spool Up Log.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	537676  
__________________
Velos Rotors<<SAB<<Compas<<Align<<Walkera <<Propel

Last edited by A VIKING; 09-22-2014 at 05:58 AM..
A VIKING is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-02-2014, 10:08 PM   #59 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 786
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northern Virginia
Default

Omerco - just found this thread (thanks Xrayted). Great work, thank you very much. I've been wanting autorotation bailout with SK Gov and Castle ESC for a long time. I set it up with sucessful bench test this evening - will try to get flight test tomorrow. Now I have to man up and try inverted autorotations - excuses gone.

Here is a tip that I put in place with my Futaba 14SG (will also work on 8FG and possibly other brands). In the condition menu I activated IDLE3, I made IDLE 3 a higher priority than HOLD. IDLE3 has a 0-0-0-0-0 throttle curve and 0-25-50-75-100 pitch curve. On a three position switch on top right (SG) fully forward is nothing (goes to flight mode condition priority N,1,2), middle position activates hold (which allows for autorotation bailout) and closest switch position gives IDLE3 (all 0 throttle curve). The advantage here is that I can arm the ESC with a switch as well as deactivate bailout after a landing; instead of having to go to Normal and go all the way down on the stick. This also allows me to plug in my preferred way, in IDLE1. The ESC will not arm until I either hit the switch for IDLE3 (again 0s) or go to N and down; and won't spool until taking a second action.
__________________
* Goblin 700C, iKON, Torq 9180/9188, Quantum 4530-500, Edge HV160, Cyclone 695
* Outrage Fusion 50, SK-540, Torq 9180/9188, Quantum 4135-530, Edge HV80, SAB 630 Blk 3D
* Align T-Rex 500E DFC, SK-540, ICE 75
* Futaba 14SG
Arcturus97 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-02-2014, 11:04 PM   #60 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Israel
Default

I have that as well (Throttle Cut) - my only fear is mixing between it and HOLD by mistake
__________________
X7 | Scorpion 4525 Ultimate | scorpion 160HV ESC | Edge 713 | Logo 690SX | Pyro 440 7+8T YY | Castle 120HV | X3 | 4S | HW 50A V2 ESC | Scorpion 2221 2050KV 9T D | Skookum Robotics Support Pilot | SK540 | Mks
omerco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1