Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > RealFlight Flight Sim


RealFlight Flight Sim All versions of RealFlight Sim


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2014, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Real Flight 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition: first 15 minutes

The very first thing I do is happily press the "Real Flight 7.5" button, and what do I see? This:



Come on, folks, it is not that difficult to start the RealFlight Launcher for me instead of slapping me in the face with this.

Second thing I see is this:



All right, I understand that it is may be necessary to provide the software serial number, for it's probably expensive to bake DVDs with serial numbers (though I'm just guessing), I can't see why USB iSerialNumber can't be read for me so I don't have to type it (you can do that even if your device is a serial converter).

Fine, next screen.



Yes, I haven't calibrated my controller yet. I haven't even selected it yet. And the Simulation menu is not available from this dialog box. Why can't you just take me there? Heli-X does it (thanks, Michael ).

All right, fine, I've selected and calibrated a controller (plainest possible Spektrum DX6i)... but wait, THERE IS NO COLLECTIVE CHANNEL. Huh?

...and this is where I am right now. I guess I'll find that collective configuration eventually, though, some help would be appreciated. And, if RF developers fix those things? I'll consider time spent writing this message not wasted.
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2014, 04:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,850
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

RF comes from an interlink background (and Futaba base). It almost seems Spektrum TX hostile in it's setup. The post: Spektrum DX8 with RF Helicopters is of most relevance to you (even though you only use a DX6i).

The license codes are not burnt into the DVD (only printed on the sleeve) which is why you need to copy type them so it can be verified by the RF servers.

The license code for the interlin or interface is only printed on the outside and not coded into the firmware, so this also needs copy type for verification.

Hopefully the RF developers will fix this, as I agree it is terrible and horribly confusing. However, do not expect any change till v8.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2014, 12:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
RF comes from an interlink background (and Futaba base). It almost seems Spektrum TX hostile in it's setup. The post: Spektrum DX8 with RF Helicopters is of most relevance to you (even though you only use a DX6i).
Unfortunately, it looks like those instructions are no longer relevant. Below is the screenshot of how it looks now (note that they've removed dropdowns on the left). That's the default configuration, I'm still tinkering with it (with no success so far, considering editing models' 'electronics' section - but that's a major pain in the butt). Still cannot fathom how they could get away with versions all the way to 7.5 and *not* making this right.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
The license code for the interlin or interface is only printed on the outside and not coded into the firmware, so this also needs copy type for verification.
Ah, that's a shame. Indeed, no serial number:

idVendor 0x1781 Multiple Vendors
idProduct 0x0e57
bcdDevice 61.00
iManufacturer 3 GREAT PLANES
iProduct 1 RealFlight Interface
iSerial 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
Hopefully the RF developers will fix this, as I agree it is terrible and horribly confusing. However, do not expect any change till v8.
Somehow, I doubt that. But if someone else who is a new contender at the market takes things like that into account, we all benefit

I would also sincerely appreciate if they stop treating me like a thief and asking to verify that I do indeed still have that controller interface by pressing a button on it. After paying a full price, I find that insulting. Like, this insulting:

__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2014, 02:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

Found the solution. Unfortunately, a chain of events rendered my Windows box unbootable before I could document it, but in case you're stuck and reading this, the hint is: look inside any helicopter model, 'electronics' section, and see how the channels are mapped, then map the controller accordingly.

I believe the mental block I had to overcome was that flaps, apparently, is an *analog* channel, and I had to eventually map collective pitch to it, if I'm not mistaken.
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2014, 02:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,850
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeye View Post
Unfortunately, it looks like those instructions are no longer relevant. Below is the screenshot of how it looks now (note that they've removed dropdowns on the left). That's the default configuration, I'm still tinkering with it (with no success so far, considering editing models' 'electronics' section - but that's a major pain in the butt). Still cannot fathom how they could get away with versions all the way to 7.5 and *not* making this right.

...

Ah, that's a shame. Indeed, no serial number:

idVendor 0x1781 Multiple Vendors
idProduct 0x0e57
bcdDevice 61.00
iManufacturer 3 GREAT PLANES
iProduct 1 RealFlight Interface
iSerial 0

Somehow, I doubt that. But if someone else who is a new contender at the market takes things like that into account, we all benefit

I would also sincerely appreciate if they stop treating me like a thief and asking to verify that I do indeed still have that controller interface by pressing a button on it. After paying a full price, I find that insulting.
..
Sorry should have directed you to this post within the thread (it's on the first page). Spektrum DX8 with RF Helicopters

Needs to be read in conjunction with the first post, but describes what you see:



I mentioned that it is almost user hostile to the Spektrum users. Like you I hope the complaints filter up to the developers and a far more simplified process is developed.

Up to v6.5 interlink was the main and passthrough was obviously an afterthought and aimed at Futaba users. Believe it or not v7 is actually an improvement in this area (used to be actively user hostile, not just complicated and inconvenient. Trying to activate passthrough was hidden in each model setting, not and overriding global).

As to license keys, unfortunately RealFlight needs some way to verify the validity of the software. Flashing into the rom of each device an individual serial number is complex and even more costly. Burning serial numbers into DVD's is completely impractical when batch runs are in the 1000's. Look at any other software manufacturer (Microsoft, Adobe, IBM, etc..) They also ask for software license keys and verify online. Not treating you like a thief, just making it harder for all the thieves out there to use their intellectual property without paying for it (as there is no cost effective way to do this).

Game console copy protection is far more complicated, but they are dealing with millions of units in volume (not thousands) have complete control of the operating platform and need to protect the rights of the development companies. (consequently copy typing serial numbers is impractical and other solutions are found - like DRM).

I like the image about how the DVD manufacturers tend to annoy people. However, it is a policy on HeliFreak to not condone piracy, so just keep things like this in check please (but usability point well made).
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2014, 11:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
Sorry should have directed you to this post within the thread (it's on the first page). Spektrum DX8 with RF Helicopters
Read, understood, thanks for the link

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
I mentioned that it is almost user hostile to the Spektrum users. Like you I hope the complaints filter up to the developers and a far more simplified process is developed.

Up to v6.5 interlink was the main and passthrough was obviously an afterthought and aimed at Futaba users. Believe it or not v7 is actually an improvement in this area (used to be actively user hostile, not just complicated and inconvenient. Trying to activate passthrough was hidden in each model setting, not and overriding global).
Hopefully arrival of competition (in particular, AccuRC) will make things better

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
I like the image about how the DVD manufacturers tend to annoy people. However, it is a policy on HeliFreak to not condone piracy, so just keep things like this in check please (but usability point well made).
Completely agree with you. For the record, that image was included to illustrate the point that it *is* possible to respect the user. If developers don't get their money, we won't get their products for a simple reason they won't have anything to pay their bills with and will just scatter.

Another reference to competition - AccuRC manages to do whatever they do with copy protection without *ever* mentioning it to the user.

And last thing before I jump off that horse - well, it would be nice if reset button was mappable to a transmitter switch...
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2014, 03:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,850
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeye View Post
Hopefully arrival of competition (in particular, AccuRC) will make things better
Agree. Phoenix also does a much better job at friendly TX setup (but it ONLY has the option of users own TX).

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeye View Post
Completely agree with you. For the record, that image was included to illustrate the point that it *is* possible to respect the user. If developers don't get their money, we won't get their products for a simple reason they won't have anything to pay their bills with and will just scatter.
Competition has made things better. Those that do it better, survive, Those that don't, fade away. RC simulators is a bit of niche market, so although strong competition, the rewards are small (relatively speaking when compared to video games, business software, mobile device software, etc..). Best we can realistically do is feed back to the developers and hope they take enough notice to change next time (or patch current). That, and vote with our dollars.

All things considered. I believe, what RealFlight delivers for $ spent is quite good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeye View Post
Another reference to competition - AccuRC manages to do whatever they do with copy protection without *ever* mentioning it to the user.
But AccuRC will ONLY work with it's attached interface (and pain has been made to ensure it can work wirelessly for extra incentive to use). If AccuRC gets popular enough, you can rest assured the China tech pirates will work on breaking the AccuRC USB dongle signal to release a pirate device. At that time, AccuRC will need to invent another way to ensure proof of purchase.

I have AccuRC. I love the physics (and generally how it flies once you have built the model into the configuration you want). AccuRC is still a bit new and although kick-ass physics lacks other features that the established simulators have (training assistance modes, numbers of models (and components), numbers of flying sites, etc...).

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeye View Post
And last thing before I jump off that horse - well, it would be nice if reset button was mappable to a transmitter switch...
+1000. With the move to allow an interface module, this should have been thought of.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2014, 09:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

(having seen a Buzzer in Far Cry 4 since)

Flight simulator manufacturers are enjoying a very fragile market niche now - it is only safe until bigger [game] manufacturers start paying attention to it (for those that haven't played the above game, Buzzer is a mini-helicopter flying over a fully rendered photorealistic 3D terrain several hundred square kilometers in area, with weather effects, time of day change, and even rotor wash when flying over trees - see the clip below).

Given the fact that everyone and their uncle is fascinated with flying machines and is rushing to monetize them, it's just a matter of time before someone comes up with an i... wait, not even an idea, but a working detailed implementation of a flying machine physics module in existing FPS game engine. I have a hunch that cutting the load because the size of the world can be really small, and because you no longer have to burn CPU cycles to support enemy AI, will make sufficient room for physics simulator. Especially since you no longer need to spend effort to work on graphics and concentrate purely on physics (hmm... looks like AccuRC is just in the right spot to drop their graphics and make the transition *now* )

Can't wait

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2014, 09:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,857
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Default

Lovin' the gyrocopter in Far Cry 4!
__________________
T-Rex 700 Dominator vx1e, Goblin 570 vx1e, T-Rex 600N DFC vx1e, Jeti Ds-14
NSFlyer12 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
installation, usability




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1