Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2014, 02:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,326
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Southwest
Thumbs down DX6i back from warranty service... wiped out

Well, the subject says it all. Seven different models.

If you're counting time you're spending in terms of dollars earned, buying a more expensive transmitter that allows you to export and import its configuration just might pay back plenty.

I wish I knew. And still don't see a reason for them to do that, it was a mechanical failure (bad pot).
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2014, 05:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,824
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia, Vic, Melbourne East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeye View Post
Well, the subject says it all. Seven different models.

If you're counting time you're spending in terms of dollars earned, buying a more expensive transmitter that allows you to export and import its configuration just might pay back plenty.

I wish I knew. And still don't see a reason for them to do that, it was a mechanical failure (bad pot).
In order to speed turn around, Spektrum may have just replaced with a new TX on receipt of the old one. (Is the returned TX your original with a new pot or a completely new one?)

When installing new pot's the TX must also be calibrated (so CPU aligns with mechanical pot resistances at centre stick). The calibration process does not remove models from memory, so if your original one, someone has deliberately removed the models.

If sending a TX in for work, usually it is good idea to save (or in the case of DX6i write down) the model settings. But in your case this is probably a horse, barn door, bolt scenario.

You have my sympathies. Hopefully you can reprogram them quickly and get back in the air soon.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2014, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,545
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central California
Default

AFAIK in addition to any hardware work they also do a complete software/memory check and possibly even reflash the Airware. It may require resetting everything back to factory defaults.Its probably just as likely they replaced the entire Tx.
__________________
Too many helis & Too many planks
Lots of DX radios & A couple Futaba 72mhz radios
AMA member & Full scale plank driver
HELIFREAK !!!
aerocal is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2014, 12:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,326
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Southwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
In order to speed turn around, Spektrum may have just replaced with a new TX on receipt of the old one. (Is the returned TX your original with a new pot or a completely new one?)
The case is definitely mine, but the guts (at least gimbals) don't seem to be - I doubt anyone would be resetting the stick length and tension, I've had them long and stiff.

Another thing that surprised me was that the Tx came back with batteries (I removed mine before shipping) ... one NiMH and three alkaline

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
If sending a TX in for work, usually it is good idea to save (or in the case of DX6i write down) the model settings. But in your case this is probably a horse, barn door, bolt scenario.
Yep.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
You have my sympathies. Hopefully you can reprogram them quickly and get back in the air soon.
I'm not that upset, I've moved everything except Spektrum-only mCPX BL to Jeti already anyway. Just wanted to raise awareness, lest fellow pilots fall into this trap.
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2014, 01:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,326
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Southwest
Default Duh...

Just found the invoice (been hiding in packaging materials before), says this:

"Replaced both gimbals in DX6i and update firmware to current production version."

Now's the juicy part:

SPMR75120 Gimbal T/R DX6i Rev. 4
SPMR75121 Gimbal A/E DX6i Rev. 4

Lo and behold, part numbers google up, turns out you can buy them separately. I'd rather do that than send the whole Tx for service. Hope this helps someone
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2014, 11:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,545
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central California
Default

What did they charge you for the repair?
__________________
Too many helis & Too many planks
Lots of DX radios & A couple Futaba 72mhz radios
AMA member & Full scale plank driver
HELIFREAK !!!
aerocal is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2014, 11:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,326
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Southwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aerocal View Post
What did they charge you for the repair?
Nothing, it was still under warranty.
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2014, 01:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Scotland
Default

HH warn you about this in their T&C's when you send a tx back for any kind of repair, so when you send a tx back for repair you automatically accept the T&C's.
__________________
Nigel.
A few little tiddlers ..SR, 300X, TRex 500E Pro with DFC, Trex 700DFC..... and quite a few Planks and Tanks !
nbells is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2015, 04:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,121
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fargo ND
Default

Could have been much worse...

You could have had a greater memory model like the Dx7 or Dx8 and had 2-3 times as many models wiped...

It's a common scenario when the firmware is upgraded under warranty
__________________
nCPX(2)*mCPX(30)*HCP100S*130X(4)*130X-L(6)*180CFX(7)*300X/CFX(4)
330X*450X(7)*470L*GauiX3*nanoQX*180QX*DX9*HF180060*AMA 988253
JonJet is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2015, 04:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,706
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: US (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJet View Post
Could have been much worse...

You could have had a greater memory model like the Dx7 or Dx8 and had 2-3 times as many models wiped...

It's a common scenario when the firmware is upgraded under warranty
It shouldn't be if you use the SD card to back your models up regularly... (on the models that have that feature anyway). This is an excellent way to save yourself a lot of headache, but you have to do it before an issue arises.
__________________
180CFX, Trex 550E (night), Goblin 570, Goblin 630C, DX8. Team Lynx Heli Innovations Pilot
Skidpad is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2015, 04:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,121
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fargo ND
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skidpad View Post
It shouldn't be if you use the SD card to back your models up regularly... (on the models that have that feature anyway). This is an excellent way to save yourself a lot of headache, but you have to do it before an issue arises.
The DX6i has no SD card
__________________
nCPX(2)*mCPX(30)*HCP100S*130X(4)*130X-L(6)*180CFX(7)*300X/CFX(4)
330X*450X(7)*470L*GauiX3*nanoQX*180QX*DX9*HF180060*AMA 988253
JonJet is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2015, 04:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,326
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Southwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skidpad View Post
It shouldn't be if you use the SD card to back your models up regularly... (on the models that have that feature anyway). This is an excellent way to save yourself a lot of headache, but you have to do it before an issue arises.
What I do with my Jeti configuration is keep it source controlled with Git, on my file server. That way, not only I have the backup, but the whole change history with detailed comments. The fact that the configuration is plain text JSON makes it easier to trace, I only wish they formatted it for human consumption instead of being the "compact" form.
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2015, 04:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,706
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: US (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJet View Post
The DX6i has no SD card
Which is exactly why I said on models that have that feature - in reference to your comment on the 8 specifically - I'm aware the 6i was the radio the OP had at the time and it doesn't have a card.
__________________
180CFX, Trex 550E (night), Goblin 570, Goblin 630C, DX8. Team Lynx Heli Innovations Pilot
Skidpad is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2015, 09:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: SW
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJet View Post
The DX6i has no SD card
He quoted a post that contained the DX8, which does have an SD card slot.
jadewarrior is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
fail




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1