Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2015, 07:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default I don't get it! Standard receiver

I'm having a hell of a time connecting the Mini Vbar to a standard optima 6 receiver. I just don't get it where is the throttle channel from the receiver and where does the esc/bec go?
why doesn't rx a and rx b cover all 6 channels? I think Align has made me dumb because I just don't get it
I'm just looking for a simple setup for my 450L 6 channels from the receiver going to the mini vbar along with the stock esc.
I don't mind modifying the cables but there don't seem to be enough channels on the vbar.

Thanks for any help.
__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2015, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

RX throttle goes to the ESC, not Mini VBar, since you are using a standard RX.

This will also allow the ESCs BEC to feed the VBar.

Do a bench test for brownouts before flying, however. It's a common topic, especially with a Mini VBar, a search should turn up info on how to do it.

Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2015, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

I think I understand then I can send the esc to the rx that will send power through the +- in all the channels then I can use the collective rx cable and the gyro cable to provide power to the vbar?
__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2015, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Correct.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2015, 08:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Nice thank you. Man it's like starting over I've only used 3g, 3gx and gpro in all my helis this is a little different. I centered all of the radio settings. Still need to figure out how to unlock the pro version of vstabi I'll have to do some reading tomorrow.
Online update shows a check next to the pro 5.3.4 but I though the gov tab would be active if pro was unlocked.

Oh well good progress for one day I've got some reading to do tomorrow. Thanks for your help.
__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2015, 10:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,857
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Wiring here and in the manual http://www.vstabi.info/en/node/442

Videos here http://www.vstabi.info/en/v5_videos

And manuals here http://www.vstabi.info/en/node/1640
__________________
Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Peter
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2015, 10:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Default

The governor won't show up till you go through the setup and get to the last two tabs for the gov. Once you are there you have to pick which gov mode and activate it and then it will show up on the opening page
__________________
Team Jr Americas
LaDon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2015, 12:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

It was mentioned in one of the setup videos I watched that it would be displayed in the pro version. It looks like I'm up to the pro version the little check in the online update is on the pro version.
Doesn't appear that I'd ever see the governor tab with the setup I'm using it says that I can't use a standard receiver and the governor function anyway.

It's funny looks like Align stole pretty much the whole software setup procedure from the vbar.
__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2015, 01:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Default

Oh you know what with the standard reciever you prolly won't get the governor even with pro because of the sensor wire having to use on of the outside sensor posts but with the reciever needing to use those on the mini vbar then there isn't a place for the sensor wire. What kind of radio and reciever are you using?
__________________
Team Jr Americas
LaDon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2015, 01:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

This might make it clearer

http://www.vstabi.info/en/node/442
Andy from Sandy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2015, 02:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaDon View Post
Oh you know what with the standard reciever you prolly won't get the governor even with pro because of the sensor wire having to use on of the outside sensor posts but with the reciever needing to use those on the mini vbar then there isn't a place for the sensor wire. What kind of radio and reciever are you using?
Yeah it's fine I never run a governor anyway. Just confused me where or not I had the pro version. I'll have to switch to Sbus if I ever want to go with it governed.
I use an Aurora 9x and Optima 6 lite. I like the battery telemetry.
I'd have to switch to the Maxima SL and lose my telemetry if I want to use sbus and the governor.
__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2015, 02:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliver1071 View Post
Yeah it's fine I never run a governor anyway.
There's your first mistake

Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2015, 02:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedOctobyr View Post
There's your first mistake

Sent using Tapatalk.
Oh I've made plenty before this
Maybe I'll give it a try. I'll miss the battery telemetry but that's not as important.
I'll just have to find the Maxima SL in stock somewhere to run sbus.
__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2015, 07:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Default

Does the stock align esc have governor mode? I don't know myself as I have never ran one and don't plan on it either so I have never researched it. If it does I would just run that one and use what you have then. Also if you did want to run a gov it would be cheaper to just buy a 50 amp castle or something like that and use that gov than buying another radio. Now that castle has worked on their gov it is real tool with the new firmware. We are running the mini vbar on the forza 700 with the castle gov and it works well. I will admit it isn't quite as good as the vbar gov but it sure is easier to get to work right
__________________
Team Jr Americas
LaDon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2015, 10:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Hmm not sure about the Align ESC. I wouldn't have to change my Radio just the receiver to one that supports sbus to free up ports on the vbar. So what's the advantage of the governor more consistent power through out the entire flight or is there some other advantage?
I'll have to enable the governor on some of my other heli's to see if I like it.
I can do it on the Gpro with a standard receiver.

Just finished the wiring last night. It's pretty clean on the 450L nothing needs to run outside of the frame. Though the vbar does not work on the lower tray no matter what orientation you can't access the usb port on the bottom tray.
I like the look of the V anyway on the top mount.


__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2015, 11:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,625
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliver1071 View Post
So what's the advantage of the governor more consistent power through out the entire flight or is there some other advantage?
Consistent headspeed at all times through the flight.

That means where you're doing piro hops at the beginning of the flight or fast tic-tocs at the end of the flight, the headspeed is the same and therefore your collective response is the same, meaning an overall smoother, more consistent flight.
__________________
Team MikadoUSA

REVOLECTRIX Ambassador
hemp is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2015, 06:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

I had a chance to take the 450L out today. Flying pretty nice. super stable hover nice tail. seems really bouncy I'll have to check out the pitch or something even though I'm set at +12 -12 feels like it drops super fast that I have to counter way to much.
overall I'm digging my first vbar just have to tweak some settings.
__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2015, 11:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,857
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Not having a stable head speed can also lead to jumpy collective response. If you are not using the governor on the ESC, then program a shallow V curve for throttle curve can help with this.

Also make sure of the programming of your Align ESC as their default setting is to helicopter setting with governor which requires a straight across TC.
__________________
Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Peter
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2015, 05:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,707
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinger View Post
Not having a stable head speed can also lead to jumpy collective response. If you are not using the governor on the ESC, then program a shallow V curve for throttle curve can help with this.

Also make sure of the programming of your Align ESC as their default setting is to helicopter setting with governor which requires a straight across TC.
You're right it was in governor mode I just listened to the beep codes. Odd most of the settings that this ESC is on doesn't match the defaults in the 450L manual.
Brake is disabled which is good.
It's set for High Timing where the manual says the default is Mid timing
it's set for Middle cutoff voltage protection when the manual says the default is High cutoff voltage.
Set for Helicopter 2 soft start with governor when the manual says without is the default.
Throttle response is set for quick like the default.
Now to decide if I want to leave it on governor mode I'm not sure how good the BL45X is in that mode.

I guess I should pay more attention I typically don't even look at the esc when I build a kit. I just fire them up and fly.
__________________
__________
Goblin 380, 500, 570, Mikado 690SX, 480Xx(Stretched 500) , Protos Mini, Max V2 , Oxy 3, Vbar Control/Neo Vlink (Citizen 758)YouTubeProgress:http://tinyurl.com/oliver1071
oliver1071 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2015, 08:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,917
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

on my futaba I run power to both the receiver and the vbar , run throttle in ch 3 of the receiver (sbus)
Dennis Everett is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1