Can Spektrum DX7 be used with a flight simulator ? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Newbies: Tips and Information


Newbies: Tips and Information Section of HF, specifically for Passing along info to newcomers to the hobby. Setup, tweaking, orientation practice, etc.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2008, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Israel
Default Can Spektrum DX7 be used with a flight simulator ?

Hi,

Just bought a DX7 form my new Trex 450.
I'm still waiting for the tx to arrive but I wanted to prepare a cable to connect it to my PC for practising with a flight simulator.

Unfortunatly I couldn't find a connection port on the DX7's manual.

Is there one ?
Is there a way to use the DX7 as a controling transmitter with flight simulator software ?

Any info will be appreciated
GilUriel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-12-2008, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 320
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Default

Phoenix (http://www.phoenix-sim.com/welcome.htm) comes with a cable that plugs into the back of the DX7 and others by default. If you are looking at the back of the tx, it is in the lower right corner on the back. It is labeled as the "trainor jack" in the manual.
zagiman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2008, 03:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Israel
Default

zagiman ... your the man :-)

I don't know how but I missed this one all the times I tried looking for it.

Thank you !
GilUriel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2008, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 320
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Default

You are welcome. You are going to enjoy the tx. I've had it just over a year now and I have no complaints.

Enjoy that 450 also.
zagiman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2008, 01:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,233
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cheektowaga NY
Default

another happy trex owner.
__________________
cx2, mcx, T Rex 450 SA, GAUI 550, walkera cb100, 4#6, 4#6S, 4g6S, trex 450 clone, V911/FP100, DX7, DX8
never hold your farts in. they travel up your spine, and that's where s****y ideas come from.
shaggybirdman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2008, 10:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I have the Reflex xtr. It comes with the cord and all instructions. You will need to set up the trans in a setup screen and then you are ready to fly.

BC
427rs is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2008, 11:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Default

I use a DX7 with Phoenix sim and it works great. I have a Rex 450 SE V2 also.
__________________
TRex 450SE V2, DX7
Flyin' Electric so I dont piss off the neighbors.
vwoz is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2008, 02:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lexington, VA
Default

I've read something about using an audio cable to connect it to the mic port on a pc sound card... is that possible?
Crunchy409 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2008, 12:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Israel
Default

Crunchy, Yes. thats the way to do it. just google for ppJoy or smartPropoPlus and you will have the beginning of it :-)

A question for you guys that gut it going:
I'm spending hours trying to get more then 4 channels from the DX7 to the game controller setup in windows.
(using the virtual joystick and SPP)
Can anyone post a printscreen or write down how the PPJoy configuration should look like ....??

(Do you set 4 or 7 axes? what are their sources ? and what about the switches ??)

TNX Big Time
GilUriel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2008, 02:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GilUriel View Post
Can anyone post a printscreen or write down how the PPJoy configuration should look like ....??
This worked for me on my DX6.. https://www.helifreak.com/showpost.p...&postcount=409
__________________
Sometimes I don't know why I try, then new parts arrive.
kiwi320 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1