Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 230S


Blade 230S Blade 230S Helicopters Information and Help


Like Tree11Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2020, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: West Yorkshire
Default 230s v2 - Battery Voltage Telemetry

Hi,

I have recently got a Blade 230s v2 and a 150s and on both of these Heli's I cannot find a way to report the current battery packs voltage as I am flying, so I can keep an ear out for on voice reporting as I can on my mcpx bl2.

Is there a way to get this info , so my DX 8 gen2 can report it?

Thanks
uksharky is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2020, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 650
 

Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Default

No. The 150S and 230S are 3S Birds, and ESC is separated from FBL. Since the FBL telemetry has no knowledge of the battery voltage, there is no way to transmit it via telemetry to Your TX.
BEC voltage is transmitted, that's it.
__________________
My Helis: https://www.helifreak.com/album.php?u=238607
The_Fox is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 02:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Belgium
Default

This is what I use on my 230s v2. Works pretty well


stefaanbolle is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 09:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: interwebs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefaanbolle View Post
This is what I use on my 230s v2. Works pretty well


I use the same thing. You can get a pack of them for $17 on amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DC3LH9C...asp_dp_primary
Sycorax is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,467
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

I just set my Tx timer for 5 minutes and land when time runs out. I've never hit LVC.
Phaedrus and Sycorax like this.
__________________
Team Newb pilot
All my helis and quads were lost in a tragic boating accident.
NCcraig is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 11:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 113
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oxford, AL
Default

I've got different size batteries. On my venom 1300mah I set a 7 minute timer and I end up with around 3.8 v per cell iirc. On the venom 800 mAh I do 6 minutes and the cells are a little lower I don't remember how much. That's flying simple circuits, pirouettes, and a few fast passes.

Is there a stand alone telemetry monitor you could attach to a TX? That'd be awesome bfor me I'm flying an old sliver dx6
c4r0n1x is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 11:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,224
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Roanoke, IN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c4r0n1x View Post
Is there a stand alone telemetry monitor you could attach to a TX? That'd be awesome bfor me I'm flying an old sliver dx6
Just get a cheap watch with timer or tiny kitchen timer from the dollar store and sticky tape it to the radio somewhere like the back. Better than nothing.

I just use my DX9 timer for stuff. I did try out some 4649T's on things but found the timer to be sufficient. I get enough time without pushing my lipos to any certain limit.
__________________
__________________
Team USED
Shape S8,G700,G500,Shuttle 550,Trex 500 E/EFL Pro,Oxy 3(2),B400(5),450X,360CFX,Fusion 270(2),230S (V1/V2),200S,120S,Nano (CPS/S2),K110/120/130
BrokeDad is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 113
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oxford, AL
Default

I want something that shows individual cell voltage
c4r0n1x is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,467
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c4r0n1x View Post
I want something that shows individual cell voltage
Good luck.
__________________
Team Newb pilot
All my helis and quads were lost in a tragic boating accident.
NCcraig is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 08:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 113
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oxford, AL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCcraig View Post

Good luck. [IMG class=inlineimg]https://www.helifreak.com/images/smilies/thumbup.gif[/IMG]
The tech has to be there somewhere right?
c4r0n1x is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2020, 08:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,636
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c4r0n1x View Post
The tech has to be there somewhere right?
I don't think cell voltage telemetry would be very useful anyway, its pretty rare a single cell would go bad during a flight and trigger an alarm. And that's really the only meaningful thing it could do, it's not like you can constantly be looking down at the cell voltages during a flight.

But if a cell did go bad in flight, it would also most likely trigger an alarm set for whole pack voltage. Or you already know because the heli is falling out of the sky.

If the goal is just to see how equal the cells are under load during a flight, something that would log all cell voltage could be useful. But it would be something you'd look at later IMO.
__________________
Protos Max Leggero 700 and 770, Logo 600SE, Blade 230s
DX9
flint723 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 07:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 113
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oxford, AL
Default

@flint723 you make a good point
c4r0n1x is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 08:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,243
 

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Snohomish, WA
Default

I have individual cell voltage delivered to my TX via telemetry. But it won’t work with Spektrum stuff. It’s FrSky. If you REALY REALLY need this feature you could switch, but that seems like the wrong reason to switch and brings its own complications.

https://alofthobbies.com/frsky-sp-fl...ge-sensor.html
__________________
Brian — XLP 520, YGE 135LVT, IKON2 — Oxy 4 Max, YGE 65LVT, Brain2 — Oxy 2, YGE 35LVT, µSpirit — XK K110 — Horus X10S & OpenTX —
xoexoe is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 11:44 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 650
 

Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Default

Quote:
I want something that shows individual cell voltage
Well, of course Spektrum RC offers. Get a FC6250HX, combine to a SMART capable ESC like Avian Series, and use SMART capable battery. Horizon Hobby offers all of them. But it's an overkill to a 230S, i guess.
Sycorax likes this.
__________________
My Helis: https://www.helifreak.com/album.php?u=238607
The_Fox is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 12:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: interwebs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Fox View Post
Well, of course Spektrum RC offers. Get a FC6250HX, combine to a SMART capable ESC like Avian Series, and use SMART capable battery. Horizon Hobby offers all of them. But it's an overkill to a 230S, i guess.
to my knowledge there are no smart batteries for the 230s v2, if there are, let me know and I'm replacing my eflite's asap with those....

I've been looking. There are no 800maH / 1000maH.

There are these: https://www.horizonhobby.com/1300mah...-spmx13003s30m but they are pretty wide, unsure if they would fit.
Sycorax is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 12:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,467
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Not being a smart ass but what is wanting to be achieved here seems to be more complicated and more costly then a $200 trainer helicopter. Nice discussion but not a practical exercise. Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Team Newb pilot
All my helis and quads were lost in a tragic boating accident.
NCcraig is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 01:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: interwebs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCcraig View Post
Not being a smart ass but what is wanting to be achieved here seems to be more complicated and more costly then a $200 trainer helicopter. Nice discussion but not a practical exercise. Just my 2 cents.
People buy $200 RC Frames/Cars/Helis/Planes all the time and put thousands worth of aftermarket parts and electronics in them for whatever purpose.

It's not unheard of, plus I kinda like overkill.

I still want to build a turbine powered RC Car with one of those $2,400 jet motors. (one day....wife won't be happy though)
Sycorax is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 01:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,467
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sycorax View Post
People buy $200 RC Frames/Cars/Helis/Planes all the time and put thousands worth of aftermarket parts and electronics in them for whatever purpose.

It's not unheard of, plus I kinda like overkill.

I still want to build a turbine powered RC Car with one of those $2,400 jet motors. (one day....wife won't be happy though)
I suppose your right and I've done my fair share of upgrading on helis. I have pissed enough money away in this hobby then I should have over the years. I guess the older I get, I think about things in a more practical dynamic. Like I said, just my two cents which ain't much.
Sycorax likes this.
__________________
Team Newb pilot
All my helis and quads were lost in a tragic boating accident.
NCcraig is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 01:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: interwebs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCcraig View Post
I suppose your right and I've done my fair share of upgrading on helis. I have pissed enough money away in this hobby then I should have over the years. I guess the older I get, I think about things in a more practical dynamic. Like I said, just my two cents which ain't much.
I try to be like that, but then my inner child takes over. I'm only 34 though and I have 3 kids, so it's kind of easy to justify anything unreasonable.
Sycorax is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2020, 01:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,467
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sycorax View Post
I try to be like that, but then my inner child takes over. I'm only 34 though and I have 3 kids, so it's kind of easy to justify anything unreasonable.
I'll be 60 in a few months and have 4 grand kids. I still act like I'm in my 20's but I don't bounce like I use too. Hell it hurts getting up off the ground!
Sycorax likes this.
__________________
Team Newb pilot
All my helis and quads were lost in a tragic boating accident.
NCcraig is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1