No fly zones on Chroma? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > Blade Multirotor Support > Chroma Camera Drone


Chroma Camera Drone Chroma Camera Drone Multirotor Information and Help


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2016, 10:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Iowa
Default No fly zones on Chroma?

Does anyone know if the Chroma has no fly zones like what I've read the Q500 has? Airports and things pre programmed into it that there is no way around?
Toadster25 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2016, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA, Tennessee, Nashville
Default

The Chroma does not have them.
SLYDoggie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2016, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Colorado
Default

This good to know, I pulled the trigger on a Yuneec. But I cancelled it and am looking at the Chroma...
BladeBart is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2016, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,077
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Jersey, USA
Default

For what it's worth, the yuneec's no-fly zones are very tame. All they did was block flight within half mile of all the airports they could compile into a list. That kind of Geo-fencing to me is reasonable.
__________________
Vortex 250 Pro, Chroma, Nano QX, MCPX V2, Nano CP X
“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”― Confucius.
Affiliations: GearBest

JohnCC is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2016, 08:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Colorado
Default

Wow, seems like there is so little consistent info out there. It does explain when I went to my LHS which is 3.6 miles from a small airport they said they've flown the Q500 outside the store.

Well the Yuneec is still out cause it has a max operating altitude of 8k feet. Way too low if you live in the Rockies. Heck If I take it to my Brother-in-Laws, it will never leave the ground as his home is at 10k feet..

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnCC View Post
For what it's worth, the yuneec's no-fly zones are very tame. All they did was block flight within half mile of all the airports they could compile into a list. That kind of Geo-fencing to me is reasonable.
BladeBart is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2016, 12:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,077
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Jersey, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BladeBart View Post
Wow, seems like there is so little consistent info out there. It does explain when I went to my LHS which is 3.6 miles from a small airport they said they've flown the Q500 outside the store.

Well the Yuneec is still out cause it has a max operating altitude of 8k feet. Way too low if you live in the Rockies. Heck If I take it to my Brother-in-Laws, it will never leave the ground as his home is at 10k feet..
I didn't know that. While it wouldn't affect me personally at all, it's still annoying that this restriction even exists.

I wish manufacturers would stop trying to play nanny.

Buy a Chroma and you won't have to deal with any of this.
__________________
Vortex 250 Pro, Chroma, Nano QX, MCPX V2, Nano CP X
“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”― Confucius.
Affiliations: GearBest

JohnCC is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2016, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ...
Default

John? Are you serious? We have to do something before it's mandated to have it. DJI has Geo fencing on it's higher end Phantoms and it's really pushing that program. By the way the limit around an airport is 5 miles.

If we don't support these companies that are working on Geo fencing or have it place now, the government is going to force it.
Right now we have a chance to show the idiots in the government that we accept what MR makers are doing. Keeping idiot fliers from doing stupid stuff is what it's all about now.
setishock is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2016, 01:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,399
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: East Amherst, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnCC View Post
I didn't know that. While it wouldn't affect me personally at all, it's still annoying that this restriction even exists.

I wish manufacturers would stop trying to play nanny.

Buy a Chroma and you won't have to deal with any of this.
If the new multirotor hobbyists would use some common sense a baby sitter wouldn't be necessary. Unfortunately many haven't used common sense and it is necessary.
__________________
-TREX600NSP - TREX500ESP -TREX450FBL - TREX250 - CHP GAUI 550 - OXY3 - 30% EG Aircraft MX2 DLE55 -

JaggedEdge is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2016, 01:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ...
Default

Well said. But common sense is not so common any more. If people can't control themselves, then a nanny in a box is going to be needed.

Stop and think about it. If you don't plan to fly out farther than line of site and not over 400 feet, then it shouldn't bother you. But if you plan to go higher or farther out, then the nanny is going to rap your knuckles and make you behave.
setishock is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2016, 01:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,606
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Houston
Default

exactly. I said it several years ago, police your own or someone will do it for you...no one listened and I got laughed at.

If the drone pilots would fly only in non-public areas and never post drone video on-line this type of thing wouldn't be an issue. The only people that should have an issue with this are those that want to violate the rules.

I'm all for the "no fly" zone embedded software...it's been needed for a long time. What does need to be added though is no flying in public areas.
__________________
X-cell Fury 90: 601/9251, 8231's Cyc; DS650; OS 91MP-6; Jr Vibe 90; OS 91RJX Pipe; Jr 8231 cyclic, 770 3D/G8900, Prfct Reg. CCPM; T-Rex 600 NP: 6965HB, 425MG Throttle GY 520/9254; OS50 Hyper,MP-5, Prfct Reg; 600E Bstx, nue1910
seanh is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2016, 02:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,676
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kansas USA
Default

Man, GEO fencing would suck at a buddies airfield he has permission to fly at and flies responsibly there as do I, but even a half mile GEO fence would prevent us from flying at this site if it were locked into the controller.
__________________
~Jim~
Goblin700 Gasser TRM-300, BD Axon,
Align700E w/HC3SX, and a Goblin 380 w/BD3SX, using Futaba 14SGH
KSHeli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2016, 03:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ...
Default

DJI's version restricts altitude inside preset distances from airports. I encourage you to read up on it. Here's a link.

http://www.dji.com/fly-safe/category-mc?www=v1

Now this may not apply to the brands you guys are flying, but it gives you an idea of how it works. The page looks at your IP and shows you a map of known no fly zones in your area. Watch the video on the page also.

On a more sad note, due to FAA restrictions, a lot of flying spots are going to go dark. I think a lot of fliers are going to have to bite the bullet and find other places to fly.
setishock is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2016, 08:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ma
Default

I don't think that it does
pilot10 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2016, 02:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Piere's Hole
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
DJI's version restricts altitude inside preset distances from airports. I encourage you to read up on it. Here's a link.

http://www.dji.com/fly-safe/category-mc?www=v1

Now this may not apply to the brands you guys are flying, but it gives you an idea of how it works. The page looks at your IP and shows you a map of known no fly zones in your area. Watch the video on the page also.

On a more sad note, due to FAA restrictions, a lot of flying spots are going to go dark. I think a lot of fliers are going to have to bite the bullet and find other places to fly.
I don't think the many hobby fields in the US that have existed within 5 miles of airports for years are going dark simply because of drone legislation. Many types of aircraft use these fields.
There are more drone flyers today and a few thoughtless individuals do have the power to bring down the heat, but in my experience where the FAA is concerned, legislation is not the same as enforcement. The squeaky wheel will get the grease though.
Vernonion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2016, 10:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Colorado
Default

The DJI Geo-fencing isn't as bad as one would think. Their site shows you what is considered NFZs. For my area, The International Airport has a 5 mile NFZ, The two smaller airports only have like a 1 mile NFZ marked on them and the Baseball and Football stadium.

Compare that to the FAA's b4ufly which basically has the entire city under a NFZ due helipads, heliports, hospitals that have helis. All are marked as 5 mile NFZs...
BladeBart is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2016, 07:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,240
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: so cal usa
Default

dji "has" a software option to turn this off , a friend spent hours waiting on the phone with dji setting this up , the "fix" is only good for 3 days then you have to do it again , he thought he had it , wouldnt work , hes a disalbed police man that had a stroke , want to play at home with his grandkids , but cant with his over a grand toy ...he lives about 4 mile north of a airport ...
Dennis Everett is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2016, 10:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,676
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kansas USA
Default

My neighbors airfield is 3 miles from town, he's the only one that uses it except for an occasional BBQ for a bunch of his flying buddies. The FAA B4UFLY app has a 5 mile radius around it as a restrict fly zone which is really BS, as I have to permission/access to fly there anytime. This crazy overreach as to the restricted areas. It also seems to take a proper right away from me if he wouldn't give permission to fly my rc simply because he is full scale.
__________________
~Jim~
Goblin700 Gasser TRM-300, BD Axon,
Align700E w/HC3SX, and a Goblin 380 w/BD3SX, using Futaba 14SGH
KSHeli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2016, 04:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,077
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Jersey, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BladeBart View Post
The DJI Geo-fencing isn't as bad as one would think. Their site shows you what is considered NFZs. For my area, The International Airport has a 5 mile NFZ, The two smaller airports only have like a 1 mile NFZ marked on them and the Baseball and Football stadium.

Compare that to the FAA's b4ufly which basically has the entire city under a NFZ due helipads, heliports, hospitals that have helis. All are marked as 5 mile NFZs...
Sure it isn't as restrictive as B4UFLY *NOW*, but I see this as a major hole that will eventually be closed too. If DJI is able to track airports and other NFZs, then why are they being selective about it? This is part of the problem with anything whenever there's selective monitoring/restriction.

For example, switching gears a little bit, internet service providers are perfectly capable of censoring sites. They have fought hard not to have to play content police, even for the most illegal and extreme content. Why? Because once you start blocking a few things, now you've set a precedent. But block nothing and you remain a neutral party, a common carrier.

I would love to hear the rationale behind selectively requiring an unlock with certain mapped out NFZs but not others. It does not make any sense to me, unless I'm missing something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSHeli View Post
My neighbors airfield is 3 miles from town, he's the only one that uses it except for an occasional BBQ for a bunch of his flying buddies. The FAA B4UFLY app has a 5 mile radius around it as a restrict fly zone which is really BS, as I have to permission/access to fly there anytime. This crazy overreach as to the restricted areas. It also seems to take a proper right away from me if he wouldn't give permission to fly my rc simply because he is full scale.
Where I am in NJ, I'm just outside of a 5 mile airport NFZ so I'm good to go. But my gf in another state (MO) lives about 3 or 4 miles from an airfield but there is no control tower or anything to call. It is still listed as an NFZ/auth unlock zone. This is not even in a suburban area, but a rural one. This is ridiculous.
__________________
Vortex 250 Pro, Chroma, Nano QX, MCPX V2, Nano CP X
“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”― Confucius.
Affiliations: GearBest

JohnCC is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2016, 05:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA, Tennessee, Nashville
Default

I have a lake house and there is a guy who has a Cessna floatplane and the B4UFLY app shows the part of the lake I live on as a "Seaport". I don't guess it matters that his plane has been out of commission for almost 2 years now and even when it was working he took it out maybe two times a year. Based on this, I shouldn't even be flying my seaplanes at the lake, which is total BS.

Glad the Chroma doesn't have any of this NFZ nonsense.
SLYDoggie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2016, 06:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,077
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Jersey, USA
Default

That's why the Chroma might be my last Blade quad if the new one they have coming out is NFZ'd. As it is, it's bad enough that the Chroma is being discontinued soon according to some reliable sources, less than a year since it came out.

The only NFZs I will accept are ones where you can't take off within like 1/2 mile from major airports and the like. Yes it will screw some people out of flying but it's probably a necessary evil.

5 mile radius and adding in the additional b4ufly crap (god forbid) and I won't buy it. I'll just build my own without any of this stupidity.

Here's the kicker anyway: a 5 mile nfz doesn't prevent anything anyway. As long as there are rc aircraft that aren't restricted, pilots can "see" drones collide with their real aircraft and complain about a drone strike. get the picture? it's already too late for any of this and serves nothing more than to annoy users who would be able to fly every day without issues.
__________________
Vortex 250 Pro, Chroma, Nano QX, MCPX V2, Nano CP X
“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”― Confucius.
Affiliations: GearBest

JohnCC is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1