CAD of Icharger or similar? (Solved...sorta) Pics Added - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > CAD/CAM


CAD/CAM R/C Helicopter CAD/CAM


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2016, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Default CAD of Icharger or similar? (Solved...sorta) Pics Added

Does anyone have a part file for an icharger(308 DUO) or similar? I'm trying to complete an assembly for a charger case and would like to use an actual drawing rather than a rectangular dummy block.

Please email file to jtcrowder@crimson.ua.edu

Thanks!

-Jake

Last edited by jtcrowder49; 02-17-2016 at 03:52 AM..
jtcrowder49 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2016, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,570
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

I e-mailed Junsi and they told me that they didn't have one to share. So... I made fairly dumb block for my model.
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2016, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Default

That's what I did but im not sure it's tolerances are as close as Id like. I just used the dimensions given on the specs page of a website for my block.
171x118x59 mm I believe. Is that what you did?
jtcrowder49 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2016, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,570
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

I measured one of the 308duos I own...
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2016, 03:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Default

Here is what I did. I used the dimensions from the specs and this is how the cut turned out.



The icharger fits great! but the straight cut does not follow the lines of the charger. It seems the Icharger has a "bow" as I would call it. In my opinion, it's most noticeable at the front.


jtcrowder49 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2016, 03:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,041
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mountain View, California
Default

For future reference, depending on what CAD software your using you can import images and convert them to CAD data. This will give you a more accurate representation if needed.

I just went through this with a Protos frame half. Stuck it in a scanner and traced all the geometry. Worked out pretty well.

Looks good though, can't really notice it in pictures.
__________________
Protos 380 - Xnova 2820 - HW60V4 -Brain2
Goblin 570 - 91SRX Tareq - Hatori - Brain2
Goblin 700c - TRM VX300se - TRM - Brain2
Protos 770 Max V2 - Xnova 4535 - HW160V4 - Brain2
Sowa is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2016, 03:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sowa View Post
For future reference, depending on what CAD software your using you can import images and convert them to CAD data. This will give you a more accurate representation if needed.

I just went through this with a Protos frame half. Stuck it in a scanner and traced all the geometry. Worked out pretty well.

Looks good though, can't really notice it in pictures.
Thank you. I'm using solidworks license from my university. I'll have to look into that. I'd like to scan some manufacturer logos into SW and cut them. I didn't know that was possible.
jtcrowder49 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2016, 03:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,570
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

Yeah, you can put an image in the background and sketch on top of it. Be careful using photographs as there can be dimensional distortion.
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2016, 05:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,041
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mountain View, California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtcrowder49 View Post
Thank you. I'm using solidworks license from my university. I'll have to look into that. I'd like to scan some manufacturer logos into SW and cut them. I didn't know that was possible.
Should be able to. I use Catia, big brother of solid works. It's called an immersive sketch in Catia.

Here is an example of the car chassis I did in my capstone automotive design class.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FB_IMG_1455748361244.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	30.8 KB
ID:	635947   Click image for larger version

Name:	FB_IMG_1455748370359.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	635948  
__________________
Protos 380 - Xnova 2820 - HW60V4 -Brain2
Goblin 570 - 91SRX Tareq - Hatori - Brain2
Goblin 700c - TRM VX300se - TRM - Brain2
Protos 770 Max V2 - Xnova 4535 - HW160V4 - Brain2

Last edited by Sowa; 02-17-2016 at 10:22 PM..
Sowa is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2016, 02:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florida
Default

I can always cut it for ya on cnc .. just shoot me a PM
fastpcuser is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1