Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2008, 02:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,326
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELINHAWAII View Post
I'm having trouble finding a 2.5K Ohm precision pot. Will any 10 turn pot do?
It should. I'd make sure to mount it sideways or drill an access hole so that it can be adjusted without removing anything from the case.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Protos Max Evo 700 (Brain 2), Protos Max V2 770 (iKON 2), Synergy 516 (Brain 2), Oxy 2 (Falcon 12)
Graupner MZ-32

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-08-2008, 02:08 PM   #22 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,182
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Panel mount pot is what you really want.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:09 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 660
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

It would be sweet if you would post links to all the parts your finding.
jared_of_atlanta is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:16 PM   #24 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,182
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Mike You might want to be clear about the pot taper... linear ?
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:18 PM   #25 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

I would think linear taper as an audio tapered pot would suck in this application I would think.

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,182
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

I would think so to but iam not the designer so its not my call.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:28 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,166
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

Thanks man! I'm kinda dumb regarding this stuff... I'll post a parts listing from DigiKey or something when I get it ordered.
__________________
Jesse
T700N FBL - V-Bar w/ 3DX Head
T250 Super Pro - HS-5084MG Tail Servo
X9303
HELINHAWAII is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:31 PM   #28 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,182
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Mike if you don't mind can i make a few suggestions. Get rid of the pots and resistors. Drive the motor off the a PWM from the PIC. Let the PIC automatically sweep across the whole range of RPM. When the blades become stationary in the eyeslit the user hits the button which records the RPM.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:37 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 660
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

I'd rather use the pot--even if it costs more. Using a button while it's cycling would be like trying to stop a stop watch on x:00:00 (a fun game but not useful).
jared_of_atlanta is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:37 PM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,166
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HFG View Post
Mike if you don't mind can i make a few suggestions. Get rid of the pots and resistors. Drive the motor off the a PWM from the PIC. Let the PIC automatically sweep across the whole range of RPM. When the blades become stationary in the eyeslit the user hits the button which records the RPM.
Oooohhhh, that'd be cool!
__________________
Jesse
T700N FBL - V-Bar w/ 3DX Head
T250 Super Pro - HS-5084MG Tail Servo
X9303
HELINHAWAII is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:38 PM   #31 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Hmmm you will still want to allow users to control the sweep rate as well as direction. Even using my skytach I usually wind up going past the blade stop and have to back up a little.

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:43 PM   #32 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,182
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

The problem with tuning the pot is the delay caused by the rotating mass of the shutter. Your constantly overshooting the target RPM (aka severely under damped). When you sweep and hit the button it will record the RPM at that time which is the exact target RPM. Let it take 20-30sec to sweep from 1000-3500 RPM, will be more than accurate enough.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:46 PM   #33 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 660
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

I would think the delay is the 1.5 second counting period.
jared_of_atlanta is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 02:51 PM   #34 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,182
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Thats a long time, if you have to wait a full second every time you adjust the knob your gunna need a new lipo or refuel the tank before you get a reading
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 03:51 PM   #35 (permalink)
Team Taco CEO
 
Posts: 3,338
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HFG View Post
Mike if you don't mind can i make a few suggestions. Get rid of the pots and resistors. Drive the motor off the a PWM from the PIC. Let the PIC automatically sweep across the whole range of RPM. When the blades become stationary in the eyeslit the user hits the button which records the RPM.
The problem with using the PWM in open loop is there is not very much resolution.
__________________
Kevin

Don't Taco My Pack, Bro! ,
Why crash when you can POUND it!
fireup is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 04:08 PM   #36 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,326
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HFG View Post
Panel mount pot is what you really want.
You're right. I wasn't looking at the documentation at the time and was thinking HELINHAWAII was referring to a trimpot. My brain's refresh clock stops occasionally.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Protos Max Evo 700 (Brain 2), Protos Max V2 770 (iKON 2), Synergy 516 (Brain 2), Oxy 2 (Falcon 12)
Graupner MZ-32

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 04:20 PM   #37 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,182
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Fireup who runs anything in open loop ?!?!?!
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 04:32 PM   #38 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Default

You can use any pot. I have a higher precision pot (turns 25 times or so) and it allows you to adjust the RPM easier. A cheap 1 turn pot makes it real hard to dial in the exact rpm ( I tried this).

You do not have to wait 1.5 seconds to adjust the speed. That is just how long the CPU counting time is and it sounds much worse than it really is. I have not had any trouble with waiting or dialing in the RPM. You do not “need” the memory button and I rarely use it since the tach is very stable and does not overshoot much due to the rate the wheel gains speed. The RPM gets up to speed much faster than the Min. Aircraft tach does so there is no worry about waiting for anything to catch up. I basically use the tach like a camera….you just look through the eye piece and adjust in realtime until the blades stop just like any other tach. When you get it locked you just look down at the screen and it will be rock solid on your RPM. It’s fast guys so don’t worry about any delay or the 1.5 second counting speed. The memory button hooks to RB.0 which is pin # 6. Just connect the switch to the +5V so that when you press the button, the +5V will go to the #6 PIN on the PIC Chip. I am willing to bet that the memory button will get used very little. I’ll update the schematic.

HFG – Your PWM idea sounds good but to be honest I have little experience with that part of the PIC chip. I need to play with that some day or you can send me some info on it. I have played with servo control a little bit but controlling this motor is a little different isn’t it?

Mike
mikef is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 04:41 PM   #39 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,182
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Yes controlling the motor is different than a servo. Basically the best way to do this is with a closed loop controller. Connect your little IR sensor into the Schmitt trigger then thats feed into the PIC, BUTTT you have to use an interrupt NOT polling the input. The interrupt will be used to count the frequency. You can use anything as simple as a P, PI or PID controller to control the closed loop characteristics. The PID controller will then control the duty cycle of the PWM output. Most of the PICs have a built in PWM controller so its just a matter of setting up values in the proper register.

Its VERY easy to do a basic PID controller in C, you gotta stop writting code in ASM (I use to always write stuff in ASM but just recently ive started to learn C for microcontrollers and i HIGHLY recommend it)

Here is the pseudo code i ripped off of wiki

previous_error = 0
start:
error = setpoint - actual_position
P = Kp * error
I = I + Ki * error * dt
D = (Kd / dt) * (error - previous_error)
output = P + I + D
previous_error = error
wait(dt)
goto start
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 04:52 PM   #40 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Default

oh man Assembly??? I have no clue how to program in Assembly. I program in PICBASIC and then cross compile the Assembly and HEX file. I originally played with the Basic Stamp in college and then moved on to the PIC chip because they are so cheap. The program “PIC Basic” was so close in language to the basic stamp language that I easily migrated over to that. I have to keep it simple for my simple mind.
mikef is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1