Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Spartan RC > Spartan Vortex


Spartan Vortex Spartan RC - Vortex VX1 Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2016, 05:15 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,891
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Default

Tuning question: Having the same issues, and I have no idea how to work to solve them.

12deg pitch, 2150rpm, any time I'm near top collective in a turn or a speed run, I get violent and uncontrollable pitch ups. Is this a head gain issue? Should I go up? Down?

I thought it was only speed runs, but I see the same behavior in a hurricane or any high speed bank with a lot of collective.
__________________

Fauropitotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2016, 01:05 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

It really sounds like retreating blade stall to me, reduce your maximum collective pitch a little and see if that helps it.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2016, 01:43 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

sounds like the same troubles i have with my Gaui X5 - look here and here... i have got a lot of tips and hints, but nothing really solved the nick issues.
__________________

johannCH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2016, 08:29 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,891
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Default

What is "nick"?

I will reduce max collective to see if it helps.

Many other people run 12 degrees or more at this headspeed or higher with no issue. I just assumed that since I was running the same collective/cyclic pitch and headspeed on the Ikon without seeing this behavior that it must have been my own tuning issue.
__________________

Fauropitotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2016, 09:18 AM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

nick = elevator
__________________

johannCH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2016, 12:20 PM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 410
 

Join Date: May 2015
Default

Im sure many users will find this super helpful! Thank you for taking the time to put this together!
__________________
- J
jayf636 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2016, 09:40 AM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Hey folks, I just updated the guide to v1.3, adding details for configuring 100Hz operation as suggested by BorisFF, as well as Pitch Curve details as mentioned by PTFlyer.

There's a "change notes" section at the end of the document with links to the edits.

- Myx
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2016, 05:41 PM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,964
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Excellent guide, very well done.

I followed the setup guide, I am using EX bus with a REX7. The Vortex is not always displaying in device explorer and when it does, there is always an X in place of a check mark. When I click on Vortex, it says device not found. I tried powering up and down a few times with no change. The red light on the Vortex is flashing slowly.

The Jeti and Vortex were updated to latest revisions before setup was started.

Any ideas?
__________________
Tom

TRM Power
CAUTION - my posts are based on my experiences, yours may be different.
fastflyer20 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2016, 06:37 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Hmm... I just checked my guide and I don't think I've mentioned that there's a problem with the REX firmware at the moment. If you're not aware of that I think it could easily be your problem.

Basically the REX standard firmware isn't working for Ex-bus with the Vortex. Angelos and Jeti worked on a fix, and there's now a beta firmware for the REX that you'll need to install. Jeti gave Angelos permission to share it, so although it's a beta, they're fairly confident it's safe to use (and I'm flying it myself on 3 models).

Angelos posted the details here:
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?p=6871916
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2016, 09:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,964
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

That worked, updated the REX7 receiver to the beta firmware Angelo posted and presto, the Vortex is showing correctly in device explorer, on with the setup.
__________________
Tom

TRM Power
CAUTION - my posts are based on my experiences, yours may be different.
fastflyer20 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2016, 02:25 AM   #31 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 491
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Default

Another excellent write up myxiplx!!

I do have a questions. On page 21 you mention to CLR out the Gyro sens control button but not to add anything back in. Is this correct. I tried this and was unable to get my flight mode to mix with the Gyro sens..

I added SA as the control and now it switches in the Gyro Settings menu. Then I added SG under the Tuning part (throttle hold) and had to change the % in each flight mode to make sure TH worked.

I could not make page 22 work without the SA switch attached to the Gyro sens and SG set to the Tuning part.

thanks
tauseef
__________________
www.cuttingedgecnc.com
tauscnc is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2016, 04:10 PM   #32 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Make sure you followed the step on page 20 to set the Gyro to switched mode. That means you can give it a unique curve in each flight mode.

Once you've done that, on page 22 as you change flight modes you can enter different values.

Also check that you are changing flight modes as you do this, you can test that on the home screen or with audio alerts if you have those set.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2016, 06:09 PM   #33 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2011
Default

Just wanted to say thanks for all the hard work. I picked up a Jeti at IRCHA and this guide was amazing for setting it up with my Spartans.

Now we just need the REX3 receivers here in the US so I can do telemetry + spartan without having a gigantic RX.
__________________
Compass | MKS
[ eXo | Chronos ]
jaofos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2016, 07:35 PM   #34 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 491
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaofos View Post
Just wanted to say thanks for all the hard work. I picked up a Jeti at IRCHA and this guide was amazing for setting it up with my Spartans.

Now we just need the REX3 receivers here in the US so I can do telemetry + spartan without having a gigantic RX.
Agree! I hear by the end of the year from Espirit.
__________________
www.cuttingedgecnc.com
tauscnc is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2016, 03:29 AM   #35 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Actually I don't think the REX3 is really all that much smaller, maybe a little thinner.

Over here the receivers are all practically the same price too so I'm using REX6 on everything that's too big for a r7 nano.

I figure for the price I may as well have the ports in case I ever need them. With 6 ports they'll work on heli's, cars and planks.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2016, 07:36 AM   #36 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,460
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myxiplx View Post
Actually I don't think the REX3 is really all that much smaller, maybe a little thinner.

Over here the receivers are all practically the same price too so I'm using REX6 on everything that's too big for a r7 nano.

I figure for the price I may as well have the ports in case I ever need them. With 6 ports they'll work on heli's, cars and planks.
Exactly my thinking in general. A goblin 700 is not going to alter flight characteristics with 10 grams of weight difference.

I have 4 rex7 receivers waiting to be installed.

Now on an Oxy 3 the r3/rex3 works but the antenna are too long. A better solution is the r5l with the shorter antenna they work perfect on that platform and for small foamies.
__________________
Rob
Team pilot Lynx Heli Innovations.
Jeti DS-16, Oxy 3, Goblin 380, 500, 630, and 700 competition, Airwolf 600 scale heli, Brain/Ikon 2, Spartan VX1e, Sk 720, YGE and Hobbywing.
Shogun71 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2016, 11:16 AM   #37 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2011
Default

Something I noticed going through the conversion from Spektrum to Jeti with the Vortex integration on two models in a row now.

The guide states that the channel assignment is automatic, but that hasn't been the case for me. In both conversions, I've updated the firmware (3.78 -> 4.52) on a VX1e and VX1n, and both times after setting the Vortex to ExBUS, I've had to modify the channel assignments (specifically yaw, pitch and gyro) to match the Jeti.

On my second model, I had previously used the RX for simulator, did a factory reset and followed the settings for the guide, however channels 4-6 don't belong to a "group", and I don't seem to be able to modify this in the radio. Not sure what the implications of this are, I can't seem to find anything specific on setting these groups so far.
__________________
Compass | MKS
[ eXo | Chronos ]
jaofos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2016, 11:54 AM   #38 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

There's an issue if you use Ex-Bus immediately after the update to v4.5 or beyond in that the channels don't get set automatically.

Any time you find the channel assignment is wrong, set the Vortex to another protocol such as DSMX, and then set it back to Ex-Bus. That'll immediately apply the correct channel mappings on the Vortex.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2016, 02:35 PM   #39 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2011
Default

Another quick question, power doesnt seem to be tranferred over the RX port with Jeti and Spartan. I have two power leads from the bec, and noticed if i power the RX the spartan doesnt get power, if i power thr spartan, the rx doesnt get power. I know i can wire up a harness to force the issue, i just despise extra wires to hide.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
__________________
Compass | MKS
[ eXo | Chronos ]
jaofos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2016, 03:33 PM   #40 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Check your lead, try another one if you can. All my REX receivers are powered by that one lead from the Vortex.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1