Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Low Head Speed Helicopters


Low Head Speed Helicopters Low Head Speed Helicopter Setups and Flying info


Like Tree15Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2018, 09:28 AM   #61 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,687
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

You're running a Kontronik ESC, right?
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL -- Charge Case
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2018, 09:35 AM   #62 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,522
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

Yes old jive pro 80.
The 400 in theory should be more efficient for the speed (& less likely to have an issue). 80% throttle (as suggested In the manual) to get 1600 vs 40/50% with the higher kv motors.

Ran for years with the 560kv, and months with the 520 without issues.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 09:39 AM   #63 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,522
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

The settings in the jive are 1 resets and figures out end points, 4 for heli gov, 10 for other than kontronics motors. As in different kv, resistance etc.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 09:50 AM   #64 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,687
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

Mode 10 (KSA) is generally only for really low internal resistance motors like the big single strand Scorpions.

Bad news is that the old Jives are not servicable at all. So, if there is a problem with your Jive, then it's just a paperweight.

I would be curious to run the hacker with a different ESC and check it with a megger.
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL -- Charge Case
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 02:06 PM   #65 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,522
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

Ok thats interesting. The 520 is a single strand motor. The 560 flown forever is multi strand.
I was waiting since the pinion was back order and this weekend received an 11 tooth pinion so I stuck that on the 520. now I get 1605 rpm with about 63 % throttle. Much more acceptable than below 50 like before.Not 70/80% like I was targeting, but lets see how this goes I guess. Sounds fantastic on my test / set rpm hovers.
Getting super fast now at a motor swap and set pinion ;-)
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 02:09 PM   #66 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,687
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

IIRC 65% or so is where you want to be on a Jive. Something about their throttle being mapped different than other ESCs... But it's been years since I owned one so I could be wrong.

Do you have a JLog?
GimpyGolden likes this.
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL -- Charge Case
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 02:17 PM   #67 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,522
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

Not jlog, using E-fuel gauge and his (Thomas's) telemetry tack with Futaba.

Just went from the 14sg to the 16sz and I love it. Had the 14mz for about a decade, but switched to the sg for telemetry maybe 2 yrs ago. The 16sz is like coming back home with the programming. So many similarities to the MZ.
__________________
Steve

Last edited by smittylube; 03-12-2018 at 02:57 PM..
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 05:34 PM   #68 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,687
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

It would be interesting to borrow a JLog as I know it logs stuff that you can't get otherwise out of a Jive.
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL -- Charge Case
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 06:22 PM   #69 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,522
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

From your comment about programming 10 for low ohm single wire motors - would a 400kv hacker multi strand qualify?

Did 2 packs today and it flew stellar.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 07:13 PM   #70 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,687
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

Hard to say with any certainty. I'd probably run it with and without KSA and see if I noticed a difference.
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL -- Charge Case
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 07:20 PM   #71 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,522
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

I will fly it more when it stops raining and see how it goes with the 520.
Thanks for the help.

I was thinking of the tribunus 130, but I've heard of some having issues, and also not in stock at the time I looked. And heck this was working excellent for years. I just really like the Vbar gov and the CGY750 gov and neither work happy with the jive I have.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 08:17 PM   #72 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,882
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

I switched all my Helis to the Tribunus ESCs. 3 - 200amp, 2 - 120 amp, and 1 - 130 amp. I just bought the 130 but I ran six of them last year without issue. I am using the VBar governor and VControl.
__________________
Synergy 766, E7SE, E5SS, E5S, 516, V Control, Neo, Tribunus
Freeskiken is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2018, 10:41 PM   #73 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,882
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

I put the tri tail on....it is sweet....super smooth. Just have to get a 3 blade set of 95mm tail blades. I have the Hacker A50 14L 400 KV Motor installed with the 11 tooth pinion.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B661CF93-1358-424B-A383-39D1D35269C7.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	69.6 KB
ID:	740035   Click image for larger version

Name:	F5E3FABE-2333-40E4-AA31-0EA4D40B419C.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	740036   Click image for larger version

Name:	C89D3C96-62FC-4C0F-842D-58A2CF2892FE.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	87.1 KB
ID:	740037   Click image for larger version

Name:	373EC274-E381-4800-9D27-004A4B94EBA7.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	80.3 KB
ID:	740038  
trillian likes this.
__________________
Synergy 766, E7SE, E5SS, E5S, 516, V Control, Neo, Tribunus
Freeskiken is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2018, 02:50 PM   #74 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,687
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

Tim Jones and Matt Botos will match sets of blades for you if you buy two pair. I have matched sets of 95 and 105 Cyclone blades that I use on my tri-tails.
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL -- Charge Case

Last edited by prototype3a; 03-13-2018 at 04:15 PM..
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2018, 09:09 PM   #75 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,882
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

Hey thanks for the info. I didnít know they would. I ordered a set of Zeal 95mm tail blades for now. I may try and get some Rail blades as well.
__________________
Synergy 766, E7SE, E5SS, E5S, 516, V Control, Neo, Tribunus
Freeskiken is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2018, 10:26 PM   #76 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,522
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

That tail looks very nice.
I'd get rails in a heartbeat., but that's just my preference.

Does the tail come assembled or did you put it together?

15/1600 the regular tail holds well for me and my flying, but I'll bet at 1200 that will really help.


Does the new tribunus do telemetry mah voltage and tack??
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2018, 11:37 PM   #77 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,276
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Buchanan, GA Middleofnowhere
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeskiken View Post
I put the tri tail on....it is sweet....super smooth. Just have to get a 3 blade set of 95mm tail blades. I have the Hacker A50 14L 400 KV Motor installed with the 11 tooth pinion.
Tail looks nice whos is it? does Mikado make one, what is that 3 tiny looking battery looking thing on the rear of the heli frame?
__________________
B450X Scorpion Powered,Blade 180 trio,Torrent 110,Tricopter lots of planes AMA 28 yrs.


Epoweredrc is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 08:22 AM   #78 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prototype3a View Post
IIRC 65% or so is where you want to be on a Jive. Something about their throttle being mapped different than other ESCs... But it's been years since I owned one so I could be wrong.

Do you have a JLog?

Yep mapping on Jive (not Pro) is as follows
Throttle% /2 + 50.
So throttle say 60% on your (100/100) Tx is 60/2+30+50 is 80% internally.

Also you do want KSA on Jive. It was actually designed for Hacker E-Turbine, The Tunado's predecessor. Does help with Fat Scorps too.
All this is in one version of the manual, maybe Ver7.
__________________
GimpyGolden is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 08:43 AM   #79 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,522
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

Thanks
--- not 60% above 50. More like 20% above 50 = 60.
__________________
Steve

Last edited by smittylube; 03-14-2018 at 09:04 AM.. Reason: 20% above 50 In throttle curve screen
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 08:56 AM   #80 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Default

If you run 80% on Throttle % in Tx you have 90% on the Jive internally.
Be ok with high gear ratio maybe, but rpm will decay with voltage dropping at end of flight.
__________________
GimpyGolden is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1