protos 500 on 3s - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Low Head Speed Helicopters


Low Head Speed Helicopters Low Head Speed Helicopter Setups and Flying info


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2014, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,143
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Default protos 500 on 3s

Hey guys im wondering if i could run 3s on the older motor/esc that came with the kit....the heli is flybarred and running a spartan ds760 with a jr 3400g....i don't think running it will be an issue...just what size battery can i use...i haven't maidened it yet as i still need a jr tail servo arm, but everything else is setup and ready to go

So what batt size can i use to get decent flight times on 3s?
__________________
"I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things."
Jay Helifreak number: 189,781
Soccerjay is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2014, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,264
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bismarck, ND
Default

Do you have some 3s 450 batts you could throw on and try it? Two 3s 2200mah in parallel would be a decent starting point. Together they should have enough weight to get CoG decent while still being lighter than a 6s 2600 pack.
__________________
Protos Max Leggero 700, Logo 550sx, Blade 230s
DX9, Devo 8s w/ Deviation
flint723 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2014, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,143
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Default protos 500 on 3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by flint723 View Post
Do you have some 3s 450 batts you could throw on and try it? Two 3s 2200mah in parallel would be a decent starting point. Together they should have enough weight to get CoG decent while still being lighter than a 6s 2600 pack.

Yup, i was using one for the bench test....how long flight times on two 3s 2200s?

I know of the gaui x3...which runs 6s 1300 or 3s 2200 depending on motor can still run a 3s 1300 for LHS.....thats half the voltage but no change in mah.....so a 3s 3000 should be enough right? I'll still be running 3s 4400 (2 batts) unless its too heavy for the low head speed and needs lighter batts

Oh, is it bad that im running 6s 3000 right now? Will they be too heavy or does it not matter that much for 3d
__________________
"I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things."
Jay Helifreak number: 189,781
Soccerjay is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2014, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,264
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bismarck, ND
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerjay View Post
Yup, i was using one for the bench test....how long flight times on two 3s 2200s?

I know of the gaui x3...which runs 6s 1300 or 3s 2200 depending on motor can still run a 3s 1300 for LHS.....thats half the voltage but no change in mah.....so a 3s 3000 should be enough right? I'll still be running 3s 4400 (2 batts) unless its too heavy for the low head speed and needs lighter batts

Oh, is it bad that im running 6s 3000 right now? Will they be too heavy or does it not matter that much for 3d
I'd just be speculating on flight time but I would guess at least 7-8 min. You could just fly 5, land, and check voltage.

Just have to fly it and see if the 3s 4400 is too heavy or not. I know of a guy on here that flies a single 2200 3s on his Protos but he also has it built ultra light (1.1kg with 3s 2200). He gets like 6 min too. Tail hold gets iffy at these lower head speeds if the heli is too heavy.

Protos 500 Extrem 6S Setup on 3S Low Rpm Flying (6 min 32 sec)


Many people use 6s 3000 and some even 3300. It just depends if you like your helis to feel lighter or heavier in the air.
__________________
Protos Max Leggero 700, Logo 550sx, Blade 230s
DX9, Devo 8s w/ Deviation
flint723 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,143
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Default protos 500 on 3s

Just wanted to let everyone know

Flew LHS on a 3s 2200mah which is half the voltage and less mah but still managed to pull off 4 min of hovering and only brought it down to 3.85v per cell

Thats way less amp hours than my 6s 3000 which should get around 4:30 to same voltage but i think the low head speed makes a huge difference, you can barely hear it and its so soft

Just boring hovering
[ame]http://youtu.be/AH31nQD9ULE[/ame]
__________________
"I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things."
Jay Helifreak number: 189,781

Last edited by Soccerjay; 06-19-2014 at 04:28 PM..
Soccerjay is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 10:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,050
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Default

So is that 3S on the 4S motor? Or 3S on the 6S motor?

I flew my newer Protos with 4S5000 on the 6S motor, and got 17 minutes of flight time.
__________________
-Rob

Managing Director
NOVAerial Robotics Inc.
R_Lefebvre is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 01:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,143
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Default protos 500 on 3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Lefebvre View Post
So is that 3S on the 4S motor? Or 3S on the 6S motor?

I flew my newer Protos with 4S5000 on the 6S motor, and got 17 minutes of flight time.

Both 3s (tested) and 4s (not tested due to crash) on a 6s motor
__________________
"I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things."
Jay Helifreak number: 189,781
Soccerjay is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2014, 10:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,105
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Missouri
Default

How are you getting your ESC to initiate at the low cell count?
__________________
Please don't confuse my experience with pessimism!
Protos 500, HCP100S, Raptor 50, many more!
babyuh1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2014, 11:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,143
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Default protos 500 on 3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by babyuh1 View Post
How are you getting your ESC to initiate at the low cell count?

I didnt change anything, just plugged in 3s and it worked, its the align 60a esc.....only got 2 flights before the tail blade ejected and destroyed the tail so more soon
__________________
"I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things."
Jay Helifreak number: 189,781
Soccerjay is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2014, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,105
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Missouri
Default

Do you have your ESC set to auto detect? That must be the difference.
__________________
Please don't confuse my experience with pessimism!
Protos 500, HCP100S, Raptor 50, many more!
babyuh1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2014, 02:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,143
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Default protos 500 on 3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by babyuh1 View Post
Do you have your ESC set to auto detect? That must be the difference.

Probably, I've never used the esc before (got it used) and it worked fine with no heating issues so i called it a day
__________________
"I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things."
Jay Helifreak number: 189,781
Soccerjay is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2014, 11:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,105
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Missouri
Default

Yeah, I have a couple of 6 cell packs that i made from two three cell 2650 mah batteries so i tried to run the Protos on just one of them and it won't let the motor start. I think that I have to change the setting in the ESC to let it auto select the battery but I have a different ESC that I want to install so I think that I'll just wait until I get it installed to try it again.

I don't know how well it will fly like that as the head speed will only be around 13-1400 rpm.
__________________
Please don't confuse my experience with pessimism!
Protos 500, HCP100S, Raptor 50, many more!
babyuh1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2014, 07:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,143
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Default protos 500 on 3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by babyuh1 View Post
Yeah, I have a couple of 6 cell packs that i made from two three cell 2650 mah batteries so i tried to run the Protos on just one of them and it won't let the motor start. I think that I have to change the setting in the ESC to let it auto select the battery but I have a different ESC that I want to install so I think that I'll just wait until I get it installed to try it again.

I don't know how well it will fly like that as the head speed will only be around 13-1400 rpm.

I was quite surprised since a 3s 2200 still had a decent flight time.....anyways on my way home hopefully I'll get her fixed and flying soon although the x3 takes priority
__________________
"I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things."
Jay Helifreak number: 189,781
Soccerjay is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2017, 09:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,105
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Missouri
Default

This is still an interesting subject if anyone is still flying these. I flew my six cell P500 many times on a 3 cell 2200 but it is just enough to get off of the ground. I have since bought a four cell battery and it is great fun flying with that. It makes for a nice break from the six cell madness!
__________________
Please don't confuse my experience with pessimism!
Protos 500, HCP100S, Raptor 50, many more!
babyuh1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2017, 05:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
HAV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 180
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: FL
Default

Agreed, I fly my 500 on 4s using 2800-4000 mah packs. 3s is doable but 4s is the LHS sweetspot. So relaxing, quiet and smooth. Still my favorite heli.... HAV
__________________
MSH Protos Max 800, 6s, 900-1100HS
MSH Protos 500, 4s, 1400-1700HS
HDCell 500, 6s, 1200-1500HS
HAV is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2017, 05:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Over the rainbow
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babyuh1 View Post
This is still an interesting subject if anyone is still flying these. I flew my six cell P500 many times on a 3 cell 2200 but it is just enough to get off of the ground. I have since bought a four cell battery and it is great fun flying with that. It makes for a nice break from the six cell madness!
Cool. I need to try this.
Thickfog is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2017, 08:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,105
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Missouri
Default

Still loving this thing on four cells!
__________________
Please don't confuse my experience with pessimism!
Protos 500, HCP100S, Raptor 50, many more!
babyuh1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1