Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Jeti Duplex Radio Systems


Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2017, 07:07 PM   #1
bclark
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Johnston SC.
Default Jeti compatable FBL systems

Hey, I`m looking to buy a fbl controller for a new Gaui x7. I would like for it to work with my DS-14, have bailout, and be Bluetooth capable. Are there any that have all these features and perform well? Thanks, Bill.
bclark is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 07:23 PM   #2
Thunder Fighter
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,385
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne Oz
Default

The Brain2 (or Ikon2 as they are the same) are a good match with the Jeti. They can be brought with Bluetooth integrated or as an add on module but if you get a REX Rx for your Jeti you can use the full TX integration to do all your tuning instead of using BT. I'm using them on several models and it is easy to setup and flys very well.

The Spartan, BD Axon and Spirit also have the Tx integration for tuning but I don't know about their BT support and haven't flown any of them. Pretty much any of the current FBL controllers are very good so I doubt you would find any of these have problems with poor performance.

The BeastX and Vbar Neo are probably not going to suit as they don't have BT support or Tx integration as far as I am aware.

//Dennis.
__________________
SOXOS DB7 : SOXOS 600 : SOXOS 550 : SOXOS F3C : Protos Max V2 stretch 800
Protos 380 : SAB Goblin 700 nightflyer : Jeti DS-16 : Mini Protos FBL Stretch : Logo 600
www.soxosaustralia.com.au
Thunder Fighter is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 07:32 PM   #3
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 17,252
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunder Fighter View Post
The Brain2 (or Ikon2 as they are the same) are a good match with the Jeti. They can be brought with Bluetooth integrated or as an add on module but if you get a REX Rx for your Jeti you can use the full TX integration to do all your tuning instead of using BT. I'm using them on several models and it is easy to setup and flys very well.

The Spartan, BD Axon and Spirit also have the Tx integration for tuning but I don't know about their BT support and haven't flown any of them. Pretty much any of the current FBL controllers are very good so I doubt you would find any of these have problems with poor performance.

The BeastX and Vbar Neo are probably not going to suit as they don't have BT support or Tx integration as far as I am aware.

//Dennis.
Dennis - You don't need a REX with Brain2 to get integration. Any ExBus RX works with integration.

Only time you need a REX is if you simultaneously want a MUI sensor plus integration. Then it requires 2 ExBus ports.

But in 10 days zero point to buy anymore MUI for 90% of users. :-P And some other fantastic surprises for Brain2/Jeti guys. A new level of integration.
__________________
MSH USA
Xnova
Xpert
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 07:38 PM   #4
Damn_encode
Registered Users
 
Posts: 216
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lake Point, UT or S.F., CA
Default

+1 On the Brain2 & Jeti.

All of my models have full telemetry with Brain & Jeti Integration.

I am totally satisfied with my setups.

If you decide to go with the Brain2 & need help wiring it shoot me a PM I can send you some photos.

Good Luck!
__________________
Chase 360 - HW50v3, Scorpion HK 2520 1880KV, iKon 2, KST Servos
N7 - YS91SRX, brain2, ProTec Servos
Goblin 700C - Kosmik 200, Scorpion 4535 480, MKS X8, Ikon2
BK Jeti DS 14 - AccuRC
Damn_encode is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 07:57 PM   #5
bclark
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Johnston SC.
Default

The Brain2 sounds good! So all I would need is the Brain2 and Jeti receiver to setup and adjust from transmitter?
bclark is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 08:18 PM   #6
Shogun71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,026
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheSnap View Post
But in 10 days zero point to buy anymore MUI for 90% of users. :-P And some other fantastic surprises for Brain2/Jeti guys. A new level of integration.
Argh???

Are you insinuating you will be able to determine amp draw and pack voltage from the brain??? Any extra bits required???

What kind of sorcery is this???
__________________
Rob
Team pilot Lynx Heli Innovations.
Jeti DS-16, Oxy 3, Goblin 380, 500, 570, 630, and 700 competition, Airwolf 600 scale heli, Sk 540 and 720, Spartan VX1e, YGE 18 LV to 160 HV.
Shogun71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 08:26 PM   #7
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 17,252
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shogun71 View Post
Argh???

Are you insinuating you will be able to determine amp draw and pack voltage from the brain??? Any extra bits required???

What kind of sorcery is this???
:-) You will have to fill in the blanks for yourself for now.
__________________
MSH USA
Xnova
Xpert
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 08:38 PM   #8
bclark
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Johnston SC.
Default

Thanks for the info guys. Damn encode, may need the pics! Thanks for the offer.
bclark is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 11:58 PM   #9
Damn_encode
Registered Users
 
Posts: 216
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lake Point, UT or S.F., CA
Default

No Problem. Like OTS stated if you want telemetry from your esc or Jlog & Brain Integration you will need a REX receiver (REX7 is currently available).

Sounds like things might change tho.....

Haha
__________________
Chase 360 - HW50v3, Scorpion HK 2520 1880KV, iKon 2, KST Servos
N7 - YS91SRX, brain2, ProTec Servos
Goblin 700C - Kosmik 200, Scorpion 4535 480, MKS X8, Ikon2
BK Jeti DS 14 - AccuRC
Damn_encode is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 01:23 AM   #10
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 17,252
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damn_encode View Post
No Problem. Like OTS stated if you want telemetry from your esc or Blog & Brain Integration you wont need a REX receiver (R3 is available).

Things are about to change..

Haha
There I fixed your post.
__________________
MSH USA
Xnova
Xpert
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 04:14 AM   #11
Bonkievan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,906
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: .
Default

3Digi also have Jeti integration among other things.....
Along with the others mentioned, a very capable FBL.
https://www.aeropanda.com/collection...nt=10235688645
Bonkievan is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 05:04 AM   #12
bclark
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Johnston SC.
Default

On more thing that I just saw in another forum, how about vibration analyzer? Does the Brain2 do a good job with this?
bclark is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 05:04 AM   #13
Thunder Fighter
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,385
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne Oz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheSnap View Post
Dennis - You don't need a REX with Brain2 to get integration. Any ExBus RX works with integration.

Only time you need a REX is if you simultaneously want a MUI sensor plus integration. Then it requires 2 ExBus ports.

But in 10 days zero point to buy anymore MUI for 90% of users. :-P And some other fantastic surprises for Brain2/Jeti guys. A new level of integration.
Yep, but I always assume people will want at least capacity telemetry as I find it essential.

You keep teasing us with the new update, can't wait to see what it can do and which ESC's it will work with. Great if I can keep making use of my RSat2's and get integration and telemetry.

//Dennis.
__________________
SOXOS DB7 : SOXOS 600 : SOXOS 550 : SOXOS F3C : Protos Max V2 stretch 800
Protos 380 : SAB Goblin 700 nightflyer : Jeti DS-16 : Mini Protos FBL Stretch : Logo 600
www.soxosaustralia.com.au
Thunder Fighter is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 10:02 AM   #14
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 17,252
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bclark View Post
On more thing that I just saw in another forum, how about vibration analyzer? Does the Brain2 do a good job with this?
Yes it has the best implementation available. It records vibration throughout the flight and can be played back later. It overlays recorded motor, head, and tail frequencies to help you pinpoint the source.
__________________
MSH USA
Xnova
Xpert
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 10:46 AM   #15
TeroS
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shogun71 View Post
Argh???

Are you insinuating you will be able to determine amp draw and pack voltage from the brain??? Any extra bits required???

What kind of sorcery is this???
This is easy to open up a bit.

Question: Where can we get current and voltage from?

Answer: From separate sensor (as MUI) or from some ESC's, not all.

Now. Brain to have integrated current-measurement? Not without extra bits.

"But in 10 days zero point to buy anymore MUI for 90% of users". If Brain is going to read for example ESC-produced data then a) there's extra bits needed and b) I'm having hard time seeing the "90%". Let's start with the fact that the "90%" does not all use Brain

This has a potential of being fun and full of surprises
__________________
RC-Thoughts.com - TeroS formerly known as CP-Geek
TeroS is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 10:49 AM   #16
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 17,252
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeroS View Post
This is easy to open up a bit.

Question: Where can we get current and voltage from?

Answer: From separate sensor (as MUI) or from some ESC's, not all.

Now. Brain to have integrated current-measurement? Not without extra bits.

"But in 10 days zero point to buy anymore MUI for 90% of users". If Brain is going to read for example ESC-produced data then a) there's extra bits needed and b) I'm having hard time seeing the "90%". Let's start with the fact that the "90%" does not all use Brain

This has a potential of being fun and full of surprises
It is implied 90% brain users. Hoped that part was clear.
__________________
MSH USA
Xnova
Xpert
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:26 AM   #17
bclark
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Johnston SC.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheSnap View Post
Yes it has the best implementation available. It records vibration throughout the flight and can be played back later. It overlays recorded motor, head, and tail frequencies to help you pinpoint the source.
Nice. Thanks On The Snap
bclark is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:35 AM   #18
TeroS
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheSnap View Post
It is implied 90% brain users. Hoped that part was clear.
Still having a hard time understanding the "90% of Brain users not needing a current sensor to measure current." Why? I'm having hard time believing 90% of Brain users have ESC that produces telemetry. Not saying it's impossible, just saying it's hard to believe.

To put it in tech: Dropping external current-sensor means we need to read ESC-data from ESC. And the statement of 90% Brain users in practice have to mean a JLog-type universal solution. Integrating that type of functionality to a FBL is of course possible, no question about it. In basic only thing that is needed is suitable adapter-cables for example for Kontronik, (Leaving K.out would be a bad thing, we know that) so at least that hw needs to be bought.

On concept-level this would be fully possible, and is kinda supricing that there's no units doing this already since telemetry "is today" and pretty much everyone uses it in some extent.

Processors in our small tech-gadgets like FBL-units are getting more and more powerful (From top of my head I see no reason why Cortex could not do it), memory is cheap etc.

Like said, will be fun to see what comes up
__________________
RC-Thoughts.com - TeroS formerly known as CP-Geek
TeroS is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:52 AM   #19
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 17,252
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Have a look at the spectrum of ESC now available. Really have a lot of capability now. :-)
__________________
MSH USA
Xnova
Xpert

Last edited by OnTheSnap; 01-05-2017 at 06:53 PM..
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:53 AM   #20
TeroS
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheSnap View Post
Guess you are not so familiar with equipment commonly used with heli's.
Wow.
__________________
RC-Thoughts.com - TeroS formerly known as CP-Geek
TeroS is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.