Tribunus / Jeti Telemetry RPM reading - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Jeti Duplex Radio Systems


Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Support


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By AlastairC
  • 1 Post By Puttputt maru
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2017, 01:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,549
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico City
Default Tribunus / Jeti Telemetry RPM reading

I install the Jeti to the Tribunus and everything is great my only problem is when it reads the RPM I have no clue were to put the pole of the motor and the gear ratio for a correct read on the Jeti is reason 5-6k... is it on the software or on the Jeti tx.... can't find in either, only on the Scorpion software but work on standard reading and not for Jeti
__________________
Diabolo 550 / Diabolo 700BE /Triabolo 700 / Srimok 90N
Goblin-700/700C/KSE/BlackNitro/380/Logo700/Trex600NSP
Jeti DS-14 Edition
Grittner is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2017, 01:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Default

Scorpion software, Help -> Preferences.

A bit unusual place to do it.
__________________
RC-Thoughts.com - TeroS formerly known as CP-Geek
TeroS is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2017, 01:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,549
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico City
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeroS View Post
Scorpion software, Help -> Preferences.

A bit unusual place to do it.

I did that but did not work on the jeti
__________________
Diabolo 550 / Diabolo 700BE /Triabolo 700 / Srimok 90N
Goblin-700/700C/KSE/BlackNitro/380/Logo700/Trex600NSP
Jeti DS-14 Edition
Grittner is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2017, 04:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Default

Then we have to assume a bug somewhere in tribunus sw?
TeroS is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2017, 06:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 134
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeroS View Post
Then we have to assume a bug somewhere in tribunus sw?
The "Preferences" only seems to change the readings in the software and not over ExBus.

There is also an issue with the RPM display/logging when it gets to a high value:
Click image for larger version

Name:	scorpion.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	700064
Looks like they are not using a large enough variable type and it is rolling over.
__________________
Gaui R5 + Tribunus + HK-4530-540KV + 14S Optipower + Bavarian Demon Axon
T-REX 700E DFC & Gaui X3L + Bavarian Demon 3SX
Jeti DS-16, Citizen 625
Member of East Fortune Aeromodellers
AlastairC is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2017, 02:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlastairC View Post
The "Preferences" only seems to change the readings in the software and not over ExBus.

There is also an issue with the RPM display/logging when it gets to a high value:
Attachment 700064
Looks like they are not using a large enough variable type and it is rolling over.
Sure looks like its 65535 so you have to be right on that. We've all been there
__________________
RC-Thoughts.com - TeroS formerly known as CP-Geek
TeroS is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2017, 04:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 134
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeroS View Post
Sure looks like its 65535 so you have to be right on that. We've all been there
Yup ;-) Well at least either of us could send them some code
__________________
Gaui R5 + Tribunus + HK-4530-540KV + 14S Optipower + Bavarian Demon Axon
T-REX 700E DFC & Gaui X3L + Bavarian Demon 3SX
Jeti DS-16, Citizen 625
Member of East Fortune Aeromodellers
AlastairC is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2017, 06:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlastairC View Post
Yup ;-) Well at least either of us could send them some code
I gotta admit, I laughed
__________________
RC-Thoughts.com - TeroS formerly known as CP-Geek
TeroS is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2017, 08:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 134
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Default

I have passed Georges van Gansen a link to this thread. So hopefully we can get some help from the Scorpion guys.
__________________
Gaui R5 + Tribunus + HK-4530-540KV + 14S Optipower + Bavarian Demon Axon
T-REX 700E DFC & Gaui X3L + Bavarian Demon 3SX
Jeti DS-16, Citizen 625
Member of East Fortune Aeromodellers
AlastairC is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2017, 04:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 134
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Default

Just as an update to say that the latest firmware (v48) fixes the RPM overflow bug in Jeti. So the RPM will appear correcly. I am going to try and write a LUA app that lets you input gear ratio and poles to create a headspeed value.
yamahahoyt likes this.
__________________
Gaui R5 + Tribunus + HK-4530-540KV + 14S Optipower + Bavarian Demon Axon
T-REX 700E DFC & Gaui X3L + Bavarian Demon 3SX
Jeti DS-16, Citizen 625
Member of East Fortune Aeromodellers
AlastairC is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2017, 04:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,075
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal Canada, Geneva Switzerland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlastairC View Post
Just as an update to say that the latest firmware (v48) fixes the RPM overflow bug in Jeti. So the RPM will appear correcly. I am going to try and write a LUA app that lets you input gear ratio and poles to create a headspeed value.
This is great news especially since I have a Tribunus that just came in.

I just thaught I would share some initial feedback on it:

Let me compare it with other ESC:
Hobby wing 160A which if the Tribunus had a full casing would compare in size lengthwise but is still about 2 mm thicker.

And the Kontronik 200A which is an elephant compared to the Tribunus longer and way way much thicker.







Finally the weight:

Tribunus: 190.68g with the full wires

Hobbywing: 286.28 g with wires. I guess scorpion was wise not to incase the full ESC

Kontronik: 240.40 g but without any wires or nuts and bolts to hold down the wires.



So far the Tribunus wins hands down. I hope everything else will be as impressive. Lets see how the integration will go.



im4711 likes this.
__________________
TDR-IIto build, Triabolo, 2 X TDR, Kasama Srimok,90e FAIFA, T-Rex 700e DFC, Goblin700, Axon Spirit, Jeti DC-16, Mezon,HW,Kosmik
[B]Extreme Flight MXS 3W110, Ultimate Aeroworks 20-300, DA 170, CB200, Cortex, Q80-8M in a 91" EF Extra ++
Puttputt maru is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2017, 04:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany Korntal
Default LUA App already written

Hello,

did anyone have the LUA app to get the correct rpm of the Head?

In combination with Tribunus and Jeti Telemetrie?

Best Regards

Wieland
yamahahoyt is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2017, 05:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 134
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Default

If you go here:
https://www.rc-thoughts.com/lua-hub/
and scroll down you will see the RPM to Headspeed app I wrote.
It does not save to the jeti log. So I assigned a switch to read out the value if you dont want to look at the screen.


Quote:
Originally Posted by yamahahoyt View Post
Hello,

did anyone have the LUA app to get the correct rpm of the Head?

In combination with Tribunus and Jeti Telemetrie?

Best Regards

Wieland
__________________
Gaui R5 + Tribunus + HK-4530-540KV + 14S Optipower + Bavarian Demon Axon
T-REX 700E DFC & Gaui X3L + Bavarian Demon 3SX
Jeti DS-16, Citizen 625
Member of East Fortune Aeromodellers
AlastairC is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2017, 06:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 134
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Default

Updated version of my RPM to Head speed application that now logs into a jeti log file on the SD card and you can use the Jeti Data Analyzer on the transmitter to view the log

https://github.com/AlCormack/JetiLua
__________________
Gaui R5 + Tribunus + HK-4530-540KV + 14S Optipower + Bavarian Demon Axon
T-REX 700E DFC & Gaui X3L + Bavarian Demon 3SX
Jeti DS-16, Citizen 625
Member of East Fortune Aeromodellers
AlastairC is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2017, 12:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: On the lamb...
Default

Am I missing something here? Why would someone need an app to view and/or record headspeed? The Brain and Scorpion do this very well without anything extra needed?
GravityJunkie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2017, 12:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 134
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Default

The Scorpion only outputs motor rpm in real-time direct to a Jeti RX. So to display headspeed you need an app to do it.

If you have a jlog or a brain that does the conversation you are ok.... but not without an intermediary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GravityJunkie View Post
Am I missing something here? Why would someone need an app to view and/or record headspeed? The Brain and Scorpion do this very well without anything extra needed?
__________________
Gaui R5 + Tribunus + HK-4530-540KV + 14S Optipower + Bavarian Demon Axon
T-REX 700E DFC & Gaui X3L + Bavarian Demon 3SX
Jeti DS-16, Citizen 625
Member of East Fortune Aeromodellers

Last edited by AlastairC; 10-22-2017 at 01:57 PM..
AlastairC is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1