Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2008, 12:17 AM   #41 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,185
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Time is relative, what seems very quick to us is a lifetime to a microcontroller.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2008, 04:41 AM   #42 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by creightoncarr View Post
Using the backplate sensor, as I spin the crankshaft by hand slowly, the sensor light on the receiver flashes twice as the rod goes by. I assume its sensing one side of the standoff on the crank for the rod, then the hollow in the middle of the standoff and then the other side. Is this what others are seeing? I would guess that when the engine is running at speed it goes by quickly enough it only registers once each revolution?
Turning the unit by hand sometimes you will see an anomaly like this. In fact I have seen the light stay ON and turn off when the crank goes buy. I especially noticed this when first powering up and turning the motor the opposite way! Take a few minutes to rotate the motor a few extra times and this weirdness will go away AND make sure to turn the motor the right diection.

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 08:57 AM   #43 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,716
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

do you guys know if the backplate sensor will work with the align G600 gov, if so that would be sweet, its my first nitro build and I don't want to fuss about with magnets.
__________________
600N 8917HV's spartan 760/8900G OS 55HZ/hatori SAB-55 AR7100r switchglow
700N 8717HV's spartan 760/8900G OS 91HZ/hatori SB-20 AR7100r switchglow, 690 slick V2 V's
90SG 8717HVs spartan 760/8900G OS 91HZ/hatori SB-20 AR7100r switchglow, 710 slick V2 V's
LoveMyTrex is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 12:55 PM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 230
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Default

Anyone tried to power the reciever with 6V from regulator ?
Does the 5.2V regulator for the tail works ?
I would like to power the AR7100R unit from a 6V regulator and use the 5.2V regulator built in for tha tail.
I afraid it will be too limited.
__________________
~Roei~
TooLy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 01:00 PM   #45 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Here is what the manual says for power requirements.

IMPORTANT: Do not use a 4-cell 4.8-volt battery to power
the AR7100/AR7100R. Because of the built-in regulator the
AR7100/AR7100R has a minimum recommended operational battery
voltage of 5.5 volts and is designed to use 6-volt 5-cell NiMH,
7.2-volts 7-cell NiMH or 7.4-volt 2-cell LiPo batteries. (Higher
voltage should be used only if the servos are compatible.) While
the AR7100 will continue to operate down to 3.5 volts, the AR7100/
AR7100R features a built-in 5.2-volt regulator for the Rudder, Aux
2, Gear 2, Throttle 2 channels output. A 4-cell 4.8-volt battery will
not provide sufficient head room (voltage margin) to maintain a 5.2
regulated voltage. Regulated outputs are provided to allow the gyro,
gyro gain and throttle to be operated at the necessary lower voltage
while the cyclic servos (aileron, elevator and pitch) are powered
directly by the pack voltage (typically 5-cell 6-volt NiMH or if high
voltage compatible servos are used 2-cell 7.4-volt LiPo batteries).



So yes a 6 volt regulator can be used in front of the RX hooked to the LIPO. Just make sure it is a REGULATED 6V as if it can drop below 5.5 volts it could be a problem.

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 01:09 PM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 230
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Default

Good to hear that.
I just found that info from their VR-3 regulator.

Thanks Bob.
__________________
~Roei~
TooLy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 03:52 PM   #47 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,716
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

you might want to use this badass looking reg from spektrum

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...odID=SPMVR6010
__________________
600N 8917HV's spartan 760/8900G OS 55HZ/hatori SAB-55 AR7100r switchglow
700N 8717HV's spartan 760/8900G OS 91HZ/hatori SB-20 AR7100r switchglow, 690 slick V2 V's
90SG 8717HVs spartan 760/8900G OS 91HZ/hatori SB-20 AR7100r switchglow, 710 slick V2 V's
LoveMyTrex is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 07:08 PM   #48 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Naaa... that is totally over kill for a heli! It's made for giant scale stuff tha runs WAY more servos than we use...

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 07:13 PM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,467
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default

But it looks soo cool!

I would run one in mine!
__________________

Representing:
AMain Hobbies, XNova Motors
Jason Bell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 07:26 PM   #50 (permalink)
Team Tostada Member
 
Posts: 2,045
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Wait a minute... are you saying we're going to have to run nimh rx packs? A 2s pack is too much for oh, say a 9452 someone may be planning to run in his oh, say Freya.
Not that it's a big deal to me, but I'm kinda used to my little foil covered fire bombs.
__________________
The name's Doug. I carry a gun 'cuz a cop is too heavy
warpspeed is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 07:30 PM   #51 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Huh? Nimh? Where did I say that? I guess you didnt watch the video?

Jason... that thing is BIG with a fan... You sure you would want to run that extra weight on a heli?

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 07:35 PM   #52 (permalink)
Team Tostada Member
 
Posts: 2,045
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
Here is what the manual says for power requirements.

IMPORTANT: Do not use a 4-cell 4.8-volt battery to power
the AR7100/AR7100R. Because of the built-in regulator the
AR7100/AR7100R has a minimum recommended operational battery
voltage of 5.5 volts and is designed to use 6-volt 5-cell NiMH,
7.2-volts 7-cell NiMH or 7.4-volt 2-cell LiPo batteries. (Higher
voltage should be used only if the servos are compatible.) While
the AR7100 will continue to operate down to 3.5 volts, the AR7100/
AR7100R features a built-in 5.2-volt regulator for the Rudder, Aux
2, Gear 2, Throttle 2 channels output. A 4-cell 4.8-volt battery will
not provide sufficient head room (voltage margin) to maintain a 5.2
regulated voltage. Regulated outputs are provided to allow the gyro,
gyro gain and throttle to be operated at the necessary lower voltage
while the cyclic servos (aileron, elevator and pitch) are powered
directly by the pack voltage (typically 5-cell 6-volt NiMH or if high
voltage compatible servos are used 2-cell 7.4-volt LiPo batteries).



So yes a 6 volt regulator can be used in front of the RX hooked to the LIPO. Just make sure it is a REGULATED 6V as if it can drop below 5.5 volts it could be a problem.

Bob

Right there, in the above quote! Unless you're using the high voltage JR's, most servos are only rated for 6v. (Or 5.8 or whatever) If the 7100r passes rx voltage right thru, aren't you then running your servos at 7.4? (If using 2s lipo)

And OF COURSE I watched the vids Bob! I get Finless withdrawals if I don't get to see that grinning mug of yours every now and then!
__________________
The name's Doug. I carry a gun 'cuz a cop is too heavy
warpspeed is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 07:35 PM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,467
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
Huh? Nimh? Where did I say that? I guess you didnt watch the video?

Jason... that thing is BIG with a fan... You sure you would want to run that extra weight on a heli?

Bob
Its not that big....But come on, you know the fan is super cool! (pun intended)
__________________

Representing:
AMain Hobbies, XNova Motors
Jason Bell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2008, 07:42 PM   #54 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,716
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

I don't think it weights too much more than a fremco arizona 10A reg, plus it will run cooler, and look cooler, and it has the proper connections presoldered on.

warpspeed, if you only want 6v to go to your servos you can run a reg like that big spektrum one between the lipo and the RX

and do you guys know if you can use the backlate sensor with the align G600 gov?
__________________
600N 8917HV's spartan 760/8900G OS 55HZ/hatori SAB-55 AR7100r switchglow
700N 8717HV's spartan 760/8900G OS 91HZ/hatori SB-20 AR7100r switchglow, 690 slick V2 V's
90SG 8717HVs spartan 760/8900G OS 91HZ/hatori SB-20 AR7100r switchglow, 710 slick V2 V's
LoveMyTrex is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 07:24 AM   #55 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 230
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoveMyTrex View Post

and do you guys know if you can use the backlate sensor with the align G600 gov?
I read it will work
__________________
~Roei~
TooLy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 08:27 AM   #56 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 230
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
Gyro will have to be on AUX2 and you will have to use travel adjust.

Bob
If I remember correct from my DX7, you can use the AUX2 for the gyro with the gyro sense menu, you just have to select it in the input select, choose "GYRO" under AUX2.
__________________
~Roei~
TooLy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 09:22 AM   #57 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Yep... my mistake! But I prefer end points anyway as the gyro menu requires some math to get real gain....

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 06:26 PM   #58 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Smile

dam you bob,you just keep costin me more money,thanks for the great info just ordered 2
JR NUT is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2008, 05:43 PM   #59 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Default servo's, spektrum ar7100

so can anyone actually tell me which servo's we can and can't use, what about futaba 9451's iv'e loads of these and there rated at 6v just like the jr 8717 shown in the vids, by the way i'm talking cyclic servos here, any help appreciated

david.
slinky is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2008, 07:10 PM   #60 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 592
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Hey Bob,

The supplied switch that comes with the AR7100/R. Is there anything special about it?

On my 600N I used a Pin Flag Switch and it works great, but I was reading the manual for the hell of it and it says the following:

Note: The AR7100/AR7100R uses a
specifically designed switch. Conventionally wired switches are not
compatible with the AR7100.


Thanks,

Jody J.
JodyJ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1