Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Helicopters > Compass 7HV, 7HVU and Chronos


Compass 7HV, 7HVU and Chronos Compass Compass 7HV, 7HVU and Chronos Model Helicopter Discussion


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2017, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Swanzey, NH
Default New Chronos Build electrics advice?

Looking for advice on electrics setup for Chronos build.

I am keeping an eye on the F/S section, but if I decide to go new, I am thinking of the ProTek Servos,.. https://www.amainhobbies.com/protek-...WQXhoCBhfw_wcB , as I absolutely loved the one I had in my SCT back in the racing days.

This will be my first 700,.. so I am looking for advice on using ESC BEC,..(why do they make them, if they are not good to use?) , external BEC,. or is a seperate battery the best option? I am running a CC BEC Pro on my 570, and that seems to work well.

Going to go with an Ikon 2, as I have 3 others, and I am very familiar w the system, and flight characteristics.

Looking like 5000mah Pulse 12s will be my choice for packs.

ESC is still up in the air as well,.. Thinking 160a or 200a,.. as I've already got the motor, which calls for a 200a peak(3 secs) RAGE SZ4928 - 505KV

I will be running Futaba S-Bus RX (T-FHSS)

Any other thoughts and or advice is welcome, Thank you for any infos!!!!
__________________
- VultAge -

450Pro, 470LT, G420, G570, Chronos, T-Rex 700n
vultage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2017, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,358
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bismarck, ND
Default

Can't speak for servos, many are good.

For 12s,14s 700 esc bec is good IMO and plenty are good. Tribunus 200, Hw 130 and 160, Kontronik, maybe more. CC bec pro I have 0 experience with.

I did the rx pack thing, eventually it becomes a pain to keep up in my opinion and I will not be going that route again unless it's with gas or nitro.
__________________
Protos Max Leggero 700, Logo 550sx, Blade 230s
DX9, Devo 8s w/ Deviation
flint723 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2017, 05:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,856
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

I'm running the mttec keto bec, superb holding power and allows you to run 2s bec along side of it. Nice safeguard solution!

Sent from my HTC 2PZC100 using Tapatalk
Lighty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2017, 05:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Swanzey, NH
Default

Do you run that to one side of 12s(6s) or the full 12s?

how do you set it up with a 2s bec along side of it? Looking it up doesn't say anything about that.
__________________
- VultAge -

450Pro, 470LT, G420, G570, Chronos, T-Rex 700n
vultage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2017, 05:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,669
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

Follow this link to see what I have in mine.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=739362

I run my regulator off one side of the battery. It works great.

Scott
__________________
Team Rage-RC USA--Team Pilot
Spartan Vortex Inside,Team Scorpion
KBDD Team Pilot ):>

dunkonu23 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2017, 10:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Swanzey, NH
Default

Thanks Scott! I been reading through your build thread, what an awesome job you have done!
__________________
- VultAge -

450Pro, 470LT, G420, G570, Chronos, T-Rex 700n
vultage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2017, 10:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,669
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vultage View Post
Thanks Scott! I been reading through your build thread, what an awesome job you have done!
You're very welcome, and thank you! Don't hesitate to ask any questions!

Scott
__________________
Team Rage-RC USA--Team Pilot
Spartan Vortex Inside,Team Scorpion
KBDD Team Pilot ):>

dunkonu23 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2017, 11:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Swanzey, NH
Default

I am going with the HW 160a V4 ESC,.. which has a built in BEC. I've always heard that is a good idea to stay away from built in BECs, on large models. I am curious, if that is not the case anymore? The HW "Super BEC" has the same specs as most external BECs,..

Thoughts on using the HW BEC w HV servos? What would my options be for redundancy?
__________________
- VultAge -

450Pro, 470LT, G420, G570, Chronos, T-Rex 700n
vultage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2017, 11:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,891
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: University of North Dakota
Default

I am using the Hobbywing 130 with internal bec for the Rage motor. I also have a backup guard on the way though. I am flying it harder, and the esc with the fan on it never gets hot surprisingly. The build thread is incredibly helpful to have out for a reference when building. Enjoy the Chronos, it flies amazing!
__________________
KBDD Team Pilot, HobbyBoost Team Pilot
Dylan Hudock is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2017, 02:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 199
 

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

I use a Hobbywing 160A and an Optiguard. Works well.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
allen james is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2017, 05:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,856
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vultage View Post
Do you run that to one side of 12s(6s) or the full 12s?

how do you set it up with a 2s bec along side of it? Looking it up doesn't say anything about that.
I run my bec on 6s but will do 12s. The 2s 450gens ace I run with a switch and plug it in to a spare port which is my Futaba sbus ex. Plug in you main packs first the switch the 2s on. Once you land power off the 2s and then your packs.

Sent from my HTC 2PZC100 using Tapatalk
Lighty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2017, 02:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Swanzey, NH
Default

So you can have 2 power sources going to the Radio system? I was always wondering about that. Do they have to be the exact same voltage? ie: BEC needs to be set for same voltage as 2s pack, ect?
__________________
- VultAge -

450Pro, 470LT, G420, G570, Chronos, T-Rex 700n
vultage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2017, 03:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 19,276
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

I have JR servos on both of my Chronos.

I think the first Chronos has a Talon 120 on it (been quite a while since I installed it).

The second one has an O.S. 800 size motor and a HobbyWing 200 Amp. ESC. This one is three-bladed and using KBDD 690's.

Western Robotics BEC's are excellent products. The BEC's on both of my Chronos' are Western Robotics Hercules Super BEC Pro's (bus technology) delivering 16 amps continuous and capable of 22 amp peaks. As this BEC uses a power bus, there is no current bottleneck with only one or two servo type connectors delivering power to the on-board electronics. The BEC's are running from one of the two, 6S packs on each machine.







As far as BEC voltage goes, it needs to be set for whatever your servos are rated at.
__________________
KBDD-Team Captain/Compass Team Manager/Experience R/C/ Team JR Americas/ Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50, Chronos
Ah Clem is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2017, 08:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Swanzey, NH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ah Clem View Post
As far as BEC voltage goes, it needs to be set for whatever your servos are rated at.
I was refering to when you are using 2 power sources.

That BEC looks awesome! Going to look into that!
__________________
- VultAge -

450Pro, 470LT, G420, G570, Chronos, T-Rex 700n
vultage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2017, 01:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 19,276
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

"I was refering to when you are using 2 power sources."

In general, you would not run a BEC from two power sources. Nor do you run two BEC's in parallel.

I also run this monster on just the Western Robotics Hercules Super BEC Pro:



"That BEC looks awesome! Going to look into that!"

OUTSTANDING!
__________________
KBDD-Team Captain/Compass Team Manager/Experience R/C/ Team JR Americas/ Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50, Chronos
Ah Clem is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2017, 02:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Swanzey, NH
Default

Yeah, we were discussing redundancy,. ie: Optigaurd,.. 2s pack+ BEC combo,.. (above),.. as I didn't think that you could have 2 power sources.

so,. I'm guessing, that these devices have a Capacitor,. or something to keep from backfeeding power?
__________________
- VultAge -

450Pro, 470LT, G420, G570, Chronos, T-Rex 700n
vultage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2017, 07:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 19,276
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

According to Western Robotics (and I have asked them directly) you should not install any device that will apply voltage to the output side of their BEC's, as it may damage or shorten the life of the BEC. This includes Optiguards and other backup devices.

I have never used any backup device with a WR BEC (and I have about 17 of them in service right now-some of which have been in use for years).
__________________
KBDD-Team Captain/Compass Team Manager/Experience R/C/ Team JR Americas/ Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50, Chronos
Ah Clem is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2017, 10:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Swanzey, NH
Default Motor Wires

Anyone else running a Rage Motor,. and or HW Platnum ESC on their Chronos?

I am trying to decide how I want to run the motor wires. The motor and ESC are so close together,.(1") Not sure If I want to cut the ESC and motor wires to an 1.5" or so,.. and make an S, or try to wrap them down under the ESC mount,.. Wish they all had mounting screws like Kony,..

Too many desicions! haha
__________________
- VultAge -

450Pro, 470LT, G420, G570, Chronos, T-Rex 700n
vultage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2017, 11:03 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,669
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan, East of Hell
Default

I just curled mine over the ESC and used a tie wrap/velcro.

Scott
__________________
Team Rage-RC USA--Team Pilot
Spartan Vortex Inside,Team Scorpion
KBDD Team Pilot ):>

dunkonu23 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2017, 10:18 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,891
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: University of North Dakota
Default

I am running that setup. I folded them and have them secured next to the esc. Not the prettiest, but it is super easy to unplug a them if needed for maintenance, etc.
__________________
KBDD Team Pilot, HobbyBoost Team Pilot
Dylan Hudock is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1