V52 Firmware Tribunus - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Scorpion ESC and Motor Support


Scorpion ESC and Motor Support Scorpion Power Systems ESC and Motor Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2017, 04:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,133
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Default V52 Firmware Tribunus

From Facebook

[qoute]
Tribunus ESC firmware V52 test completed! Ready for public release.... that was long to do!!!
- for 14S ESC increased measurement precision on phases (better starting, better sync)
- Added additional start up calibration (increased power on time)
- Added one more protection for maximum ESC temeperature (2s delay, 130 for mosfet, 110 for control)
- added event flag for sync loose (after 2s of sync error, power will be cut to 40A for14S and 12S, to 30A for 6S)
- added short circuit protection
- set default BEC voltage to 5V
- fixed bailout and restart mistake for Vbar mode
- added RPM output signal for all modes
- added writing instant error code to the log
- Added time for unsolicited telemetry mode. Added additional check for false switch to PC mode.
- Changed maximum allowed current for 14S to 280A.
[/quote]
__________________
Gaui R5, Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, Banshee
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar, VControl, JR XG11
Old hand at Planks
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2017, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada.
Default

Thanks for the heads up. I'll have to update.

Anyone else noticed..... If you fly lower head speed or have a lower amp draw, the accuracy of the MAH used goes down? I actually needed to tweak the battery app settings in my VControl to avoid over discharging when flying a whole flight in bank 1 (1600) on my L700 because it didn't warn me soon enough I had reached the desired charge level.

Hopefully the "accuracy" talked about in the update will help this.
Quote:
for 14S ESC increased measurement precision on phases (better starting, better sync)
I've only noticed this on my Tribunus200. My 120s don't seem to have the issue.....although I don't spend much time at the lower head speeds with my 550sx/550se so maybe I just haven't noticed it?

KevinB
KevinB is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2017, 02:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,133
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Default

Your quoted accurcy statement has to do with measuring where the magnets are in relation to the stator.

mAh consumed has so many variables and the age of your packs will be the biggest factor in errors.
__________________
Gaui R5, Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, Banshee
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar, VControl, JR XG11
Old hand at Planks
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2017, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada.
Default

What I'm saying is that on the same heli and using the same packs, the same alarm for the MAHs consumed will come later if flying very gently compared to when flying hard.....and this results in taking too much out of the pack, albeit great flight times. Hard on packs though.

It's like when flying easy, some MAHs slip through without being counted. So even though a hard (shorter) flight says you used the same capacity as the easy (longer) flight, the cell voltages are lower after the easy flight and more goes back into the pack. I could understand this happening if the capacity alarm just looked at pack voltage. An older pack with more voltage sag would trip the alarm sooner on the harder flight with more load. But if it's supposed to be measuring actual MAH taken from the lipo, shouldn't that be the same no matter how quickly you remove it?

KevinB

Last edited by KevinB; 08-17-2017 at 11:25 PM..
KevinB is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2017, 12:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,090
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

I was setting up a new 200 amp esc and I downloaded firmware #52.

Now I need to update the others. Is this only for the 200 amp or does it include the 120 amp as well ?

I have not noticed a inaccuracy in Mah consumption for low head speed to high head speed. I set my battery Mah in the battery app to a 10% lower than the pack actually is. So for a 4400 Mah pack I set it as a 4000 Mah battery. I set it for 65% / 35% and they come down with 3.75 volts per cell. Seems to work.
__________________
Logo 600SE, 500SE, Synergy E7SE, E5S, 516, V Control, Neo
Freeskiken is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2017, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,090
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

It shows version 52 for the 06-120, 14-200, and 16-300 ESCs.
__________________
Logo 600SE, 500SE, Synergy E7SE, E5S, 516, V Control, Neo
Freeskiken is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2017, 06:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada.
Default

I'll have to actually record what the VControl says I took out vs what the charger is saying I'm putting back in for high and low load flights.

KevinB
KevinB is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2017, 06:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lafayette CA
Unhappy

I cant find version 52 for the 06-120
I do see the version 52 for the 200 amp
__________________
Charlie R
Charlie R is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2017, 11:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,133
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinB View Post
I'll have to actually record what the VControl says I took out vs what the charger is saying I'm putting back in for high and low load flights.

KevinB
Every charger will vary on mAh charged and are not that accurate as there are internal losses in the charger.

The best practise is to fly your normal flights and keep an eye on your packs and adjust the % warning in the VBC for each pack.
__________________
Gaui R5, Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, Banshee
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar, VControl, JR XG11
Old hand at Planks
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2017, 01:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinger View Post
Every charger will vary on mAh charged and are not that accurate as there are internal losses in the charger.

The best practise is to fly your normal flights and keep an eye on your packs and adjust the % warning in the VBC for each pack.
Yes. I realize the charger results will be different due to balancing losses, etc. I meant it more as a relative comparison. To see how much I'm actually putting back in a pack after flying to the capacity alarm on a low speed flight vs a high speed flight.

I look at my ending cell voltages on every pack as I start the charge cycle and adjust the individual pack capacity in the VBC if I see I'm discharging too far........ie: any cell is below 3.77V. My point at the beginning of my posts was that I have found I'm needing to tweak the recorded pack capacity in the VBC even lower after low current flights. Then after doing a harder flight, I'm well above the 3.77V target. Which is ok. Just an observation.

KevinB
KevinB is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2017, 01:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,737
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway , from Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie R View Post
I cant find version 52 for the 06-120
I do see the version 52 for the 200 amp

Scorpion Team. Tribunus 06-120A FW v.52
__________________
| Atom 6HV : vbar NEO pro rescue | Goblin 700 : vbar 5,3 pro | HD Cell 500 : brain2 |
ragge1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2017, 01:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie R View Post
I cant find version 52 for the 06-120
I do see the version 52 for the 200 amp
Or here: Scorpion Team. Tribunus Firmwares

This link will sort on date posted so all the newest firmware versions are at the start of the list.

KevinB
KevinB is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2017, 07:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,150
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinB View Post
What I'm saying is that on the same heli and using the same packs, the same alarm for the MAHs consumed will come later if flying very gently compared to when flying hard.....and this results in taking too much out of the pack, albeit great flight times. Hard on packs though.

It's like when flying easy, some MAHs slip through without being counted. So even though a hard (shorter) flight says you used the same capacity as the easy (longer) flight, the cell voltages are lower after the easy flight and more goes back into the pack. I could understand this happening if the capacity alarm just looked at pack voltage. An older pack with more voltage sag would trip the alarm sooner on the harder flight with more load. But if it's supposed to be measuring actual MAH taken from the lipo, shouldn't that be the same no matter how quickly you remove it?

KevinB
It's really a limitation of the hardware. It uses a very small value shunt resistor and measures a tiny voltage drop to measure the current flow. This has a limited sensitivity range. And since it's sized for 200A continuous the value has to be really small limiting how well it can detect small currents.

So no matter what on all escs flying really low headspeed with an easy style has poor accuracy. You will see the same problem on any esc used for mAh measurement.
__________________
MSH USA
Xnova
Xpert
OnTheSnap is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2017, 10:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lafayette CA
Thumbs up

Thank you ragge1 and KevinB
__________________
Charlie R
Charlie R is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2017, 06:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,020
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Puerto Rico (but i am from Canada)
Default

I have found my 200 to accurate at low or high head speed. Maybe you mean really low. I fly my 780 at 1550ish and sometimes 1950ish. Both flights will take back almost the same mah.
__________________
Team MSHUSA
Scorpion Power Systems
Switch Blades BK Servos
Michaelinpr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1