P380 power train... - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos > Protos 380



Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Colin Broughton
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2017, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,435
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default P380 power train...

Hi,

I'm going to outfit a Protos 380, and wanted to get some opinions on components.

I have a KDE XF500 925kV, YGE 60, and Gens Ace 2200 packs that I would like to use, but those batteries appear from the specs to be on the heavier end. Will those COG well? There appears to be room to adjust balance with the pack, but will this power combo increase the disk loading significantly? (They appear to be about as light as you can run on a Goblin 380 without adding lead.)

What motor/esc/battery combo(s) are you using that weigh less than mine will?

Another question. Is there a weight penalty for the beautiful Evo boom, or is it the same or lighter than the round one?

Thanks!
__________________
AMA 373608
Citizen #97
K2Freak is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2017, 02:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 440
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunnyvale CA
Default

You probably want to stick to an 1800 pack for both cg and disk load.

Common setup is hw60, xnova 890kv, 1800 pack. Oodles of power and above avg flight time already imo.
__________________
HAPPY FLYING!
http://www.baysidercclub.com | AMA#912659 | RCHN #830
Jeti DS14 | Brain2
Protos Max V2 x2 | Protos 380
canbarelyhover is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2017, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,731
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vallejo , CA
Default

As stated in the comment above that's the most common power plant setup.

As for the evo boom I never weighed the parts difference but if any I hardly doubt it's a few grams one way or the other. Nice thing about the p380 is it already comes in very light so it's of no concern at all thankfully
__________________
Team MSH USA - Cyclone Blades
MSH Prtos 380 Brain 2
MSH Prtos Max V2 Brain
vtown nick is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2017, 10:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,530
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Langley B.C Canada
Default

My protos 380 is stretched to 420mm running the 2200mah gens ace packs and it is slightly nose heavy with the pack as far back as possible with the front canopy mounts removed so I can stretch the canopy up higher if that makes sence.

The 1800s I have no issue at all with getting cg in both 380 or 420 tho. I was just trying to add alittle weight to the 420 cause it's ridiculously floaty
B@@MER likes this.
__________________
MSH USA PILOT - MSH BRAIN FLIGHT TEAM - HOBBYWING PILOT - XNOVA MOTORS - XPERT SERVOS
Colin Broughton is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2017, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,435
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

Thanks. I just want to be sure that I have to buy new packs. The 2200 is only ~40 grams heavier than most of the 1800, but it sounds like it's on the edge of feasibility in this case.
__________________
AMA 373608
Citizen #97
K2Freak is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2017, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,435
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

You are all correct once again. The packs that I ended up with in the trade are Velocity 1900mAh and they weigh 305g each. If I mount them on their sides, I can JUST get the COG correct and the canopy on - right on the edge. Thanks for the good advice.

They are not my favorite packs. IR is about 4-4.5 per cell, and the factory solder job on the EC5 connectors was a joke. I could almost break them off by hand, and not 1 of the 4 bullets had even a hint of solder down in the cup. Just a fine line around the bullet perimeter when the wire meets it. I soldered on EC3 and fixed that up, but it was not a happy looking factory job.
__________________
AMA 373608
Citizen #97
K2Freak is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1