Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Scale Helicopters > Scale Projects <790


Scale Projects <790 Scale Projects <790 Discussion


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2017, 04:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 108
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Roban AS-350 Superscale -Motor Fitment

Last night I purchased an AS350 Superscale helicopter from RC Aerodyne and have my first question. I currently have an Align 800MX 530kv motor which measures ~56mm in diameter and I would like to know if it will fit the mechanics/fuselage. The shaft diameter is 6mm and I will be using it with a Castle 120V ESC.
mecha1000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2017, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Gilbert Az
Default

Yes, with almost no room to spare. This is what I used on my roban bell 429.
jazsop is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2017, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 108
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

Thank you for the reply. Should have the helicopter here this week!
mecha1000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2017, 08:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Gilbert Az
Default

What flybarless are you going to use
jazsop is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2017, 05:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 108
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

Sorry for the late reply. I am using a BD 3SX. I have no experience with it but will eventually figure it out :-). I received the helicopter this week. Will post a picture here today or tomorrow.

BTW, I am looking at buying a 440kv motor vs the 520kv that I currently have. I have read that it will be a better match for the low headspeed that I plan to run. I would like to run ~1350rpm.
mecha1000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2017, 03:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,204
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Does this run 700mm blades ? If 3x 700mm, I would think that you may want to go slower than 1350rpm - maybe 1250rpm. I run 1350rpm on my old Long Ranger (2x 710mm) and it flies very well.

The only reason to run a higher speed is if tail authority was lacking and you couldn't fix it with larger/longer/wider tail blades.

Also, you don't need a 800 sized motor for scale. At a guess the heli might weigh around 20lbs, so 20 x 60W/lb (on the high side for scale FF) is only 1200W for FF, maybe 1500W for hovering, and around 2500W to deal with an Oh $hit moment (and these numbers are quite high for scale - generally closer to 50W/lb), so a 4035 motor is plenty - I run a XNova 4035 300kV in my EC-145 (4x 820mm), and it has plenty of power.

Likewise the ESC - I use a Edge 80HV for my EC-145, and it only ever sees peaks of around 35-40W maximum for short spikes.

Colin
__________________
Vario Long Ranger 700e
Seahawk 600
UH-1N 500
Baumann EC-145 800+ (coming soon )
Andy01 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2017, 07:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 108
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default AS-350

Colin, thank you for the advise...

Yes, I will be running 3x 700mm blades. They are the stock blades that come with the heli. I started looking into better tail blades as I have read that the oem are not the best for low head speed.

The motor that I am looking at I can get for less than $100. I looked the one you suggest and it is a lot more $$$. I have a castle 120V which I will use to govern the speed down to the ~1250rpm that you recommend.

what flight time do you get on your EC-135?

Regards
mecha1000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2017, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 108
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Roban Sheriff

Here is the photo....this heli is pretty big!!!
sorry for the setting, was home for lunch and no time to make it pretty .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0239.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	122.4 KB
ID:	726807  
mecha1000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2017, 08:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2017
Default

I'm dying to get the medevac version of the AS350, but it looks like RC Aerodyne isn't ordering any new kits. It looks like nearly 50% of their kits have been out of stock for quite some time, with no new ones or replenishment in sight.

Enjoy that ship. It's a beautiful bird.
WhopperChopper is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2017, 10:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 108
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Battery

Hello,

I am in the process of buying a few batteries for my Roban AS350 tri-blade 700 size heli. I have read that the average amps on 12S is ~30-35amps with peaks of ~42amps. If i buy 6S 6600mah 10C batteries for a 12S setup, in theory i will be "okay" since normal amperage requirement is much less than the standard discharge capacity of the battery (6.6 x 10=66amps).

What do you guys think?
mecha1000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2017, 03:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,080
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Default

While your math is correct, I would not push it to that extreme. I don't know where you found those 10C batteries, but if it were me I would get 30C.
getsuyoubi is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2017, 06:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 108
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

Hobbyking has 10C batteries....i was aiming to increase amperage and sacrifice the discharge rate which does not seem to be a requirement for scale flying...
mecha1000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1